Chaos Theory: Splinter Cell 3 [Soundtrack] Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The DJ/producer takes his jazzy, cinematic drum'n'bass beats to the videogame world, scoring the latest sequel in the Tom Clancy Splinter Cell franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. It is Amon Tobin's richest work, and incredibly aurally pleasing.
  2. In the end, it doesn't really matter that it's the soundtrack to a video game that I'll never play. It's a new Amon Tobin album (and a good one at that), and that's all I need.
  3. 70
    Tobin delivers fiercely programmed, seriously dark material. [Mar 2005, p.104]
  4. Spins a web of eerie jazz-junglist percussion. [22 Jan 2005, p.51]
  5. Chaos Theory is fiendishly dense and darkly evocative.
  6. 40
    It's clever and interesting, but it's hard to escape the feeling that an opportunity to expand and mutate his sound even more went partially wasted. [Apr 2005, p.104]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. KanonA
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    the most gorgeous soundtrack ever, incredibly melodic and thrilling
  2. judyj
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    whoooahh!! no soundtrack I own comes close to this. deep as hell!
  3. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    I have to say this is one of my very favorite Amon Tobin albums if I could pick one but generally I love all his albums equally they are allI have to say this is one of my very favorite Amon Tobin albums if I could pick one but generally I love all his albums equally they are all truly amazing and inspiring from beginning to end. I love this album especially because I've been an avid gamer for most of my life and I played the splinter cell series and this is hands down one of the greatest OST's made for any modern game made in the last century, the songs really fit the game very well obviously and i'm just glad he got that opportunity to make that album. Just one reason Amon is one of my fav artists in the world. Expand
  4. sachinp
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    amazingly haunting and cinematic, with nods to jazz funk and prog rock. fits perfectly with the game
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Without this soundtrack, the game wouldn't have been the same thing, It's nerve-racking, exciting, and intense. Every time i listen to one ofWithout this soundtrack, the game wouldn't have been the same thing, It's nerve-racking, exciting, and intense. Every time i listen to one of the songs i imagine myself infiltrating in a bank, Amon Tobin totally nailed it. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Apr 30, 2005
    6
    Yes, it's Amon Tobin so it's going to be pretty good at least. But it seems illogical to release a record that's so obviously Yes, it's Amon Tobin so it's going to be pretty good at least. But it seems illogical to release a record that's so obviously meant as background music as an album meant for listening to on its own... With such a large gap in media focus and advertising between this album and Amon Tobin's superior previous efforts, I feel a lot of people are going to get a bad impression from this CD... Expand
  7. paolon
    Feb 22, 2005
    0
    I'm not the greatest Amon fan and I can only think of two Amon Tobin tracks that I've (sort of) liked from his past albums. That I'm not the greatest Amon fan and I can only think of two Amon Tobin tracks that I've (sort of) liked from his past albums. That being said, when I heard he was doing the music for a video game that is full of atmosphere and style I thought maybe, just maybe he was a good choice for the job. I was wrong. This soundtrack is boring and uninspired. Seems like he wanted a bit of Ubisoft cash and did the minimum to get it. Skip this. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews