• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 1, 2003
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. 70
    Adheres to the simple formula that worked so successfully on her debut, combining fluid, mid-tempo grooves with infectious vocal hooks. [Sep 2003, p.110]
  2. It's awfully hard to tell if this is actually Ashanti's new album or if it's just one big infomercial for her label, Murder Inc.
  3. Chapter II is too mired in tired R&B conventions to achieve true magnificence. [11 Jul 2003, p.77]
  4. Lose the skits and a couple of ballads Ashanti may never be ready for, and her summery second outing delivers on the limited promise of her first.
  5. The songs have about as much personality as Ashanti's voice, but that actually is a point in its favor, since it keeps everything on an even keel and makes Gotti and Santana's stylish production the star.
  6. Catchy pop music based on some great old soul tunes.
  7. The sole outright attraction of her pathologically modest follow-up is "Then Ya Gone."
  8. Wears thin long before its halfway mark.
  9. Padded with medleys and between-song skits, hampered by a demonstrable lack of both personality and hooks, it's craven, depressing, and irresistible all at once.
  10. 30
    A startlingly generic effort. [Sep 2003, p.120]
  11. There are so many idiotically composed adverts between tracks, you wonder if you haven't tuned into a local radio station by accident. [Sep 2003, p.99]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Danielle
    Jun 12, 2005
    2
    The CD was slow, boring, and just not that good. I found myself flipping from song to song, hoping for at least one of the songs to show any The CD was slow, boring, and just not that good. I found myself flipping from song to song, hoping for at least one of the songs to show any signs of life. The skits in between were cute at first but they became annoying midway through. Full Review »
  2. ashleyn
    Jun 6, 2004
    8
    it was so cool!!!!!!!
  3. kyleh
    Mar 22, 2004
    7
    the first time i heard this album i must admit i was impressed. then i went and got her first album and i must admit again i was impressed.i the first time i heard this album i must admit i was impressed. then i went and got her first album and i must admit again i was impressed.i can't choose which album sounds better because i like them both.and i want to go on record of saying that in my opinion ashant's album beat out every other female artist's album that came out that summer such as beyonce, mya ,and monica.her album was a bit better than those three. even tho i'm givin mad props to her album and music, i'm not a big fan let alone a fan at all of ashanti. to me in my opinion she reminds me of aaliyah and to me i think she's tryin to take her spot and that's not going to happen even on her best day. but in overall ashanti's album is worth your money. Full Review »