Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Church has always known how to write, and he's blowing here.
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    Church and his co-writers also shine as clever lyricists, making his formula-following peers sound even more generic.
  3. Aug 16, 2011
    75
    Chief is a record made for Saturday night, but it's worth playing on Sunday morning, too.
  4. 75
    This midlevel country dude, one of Nashville's most detail-oriented songwriters, peppers his third album, Chief, with so many proper nouns - Waylon and Springsteen, Jack Daniel's and Jesus - that it's sometimes hard to hear 
Eric Church through all the neo-outlaw hero worship.
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    While it doesn't break any new ground and remains firmly entrenched in contemporary country's geography, it evokes the riled-up, bluesy hard country rock sound of Hank Jr. enough that it separates Church from the genre's other practitioners who are attempting the same thing.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    70
    Chief, like Church's other work, walks the line between hard Southern boogie and softie singer-songster sap, but with plenty of chug.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    70
    The titles tell the story on Eric Church's third album: This is country music in the rough 'n' tumble honky-tonk tradition.
  8. Jul 25, 2011
    70
    In what has been a truly dreadful year for country music, Chief is a surprise standout.
  9. 70
    Now a husband and soon-to-be father, you might expect Church to express that serenity and joy in songs about married bliss. Not here, where he prefers to sing of bruised heart and booze-filled adventures, even better fodder for his gnarled drawl
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Even the songs not released as singles are good songs. Eric scored big on "Springstein" and "Like Jesus Does". Creepin is a song that isEven the songs not released as singles are good songs. Eric scored big on "Springstein" and "Like Jesus Does". Creepin is a song that is very unique and catchy. A great Cd to listen to just hanging out. One of the better albums I've listened to in a while. Full Review »
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    I really can't think of any better way to describe Eric Church (or this album) than badass. I really enjoyed this album and it is a reallyI really can't think of any better way to describe Eric Church (or this album) than badass. I really enjoyed this album and it is a really different album from most others being put out by mainstream country artists right now. I didn't really think there was a standout song off the record, but they are all very good, and there is not one bad song, which is a rarity. Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    diverse album with numerous intelligently written and sonically-layered hits...a bit of fresh air for country music...badass and my favoritediverse album with numerous intelligently written and sonically-layered hits...a bit of fresh air for country music...badass and my favorite country album of the year Full Review »