Conditions of My Parole

  • Record Label: Puscifer
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    60
    For as much effort Keenan puts into the head-scratching, overarching plot of this project, he puts as much gumption into the music that, on its own, could illuminate an applause sign.
  2. 60
    Although only an industry standard 12 tracks in length, Conditions of My Parole feels slightly overlong with its high points noticeably spread apart, resulting in a familiarity that detracts from its ability to unnerve.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Conditions of My Parole, featuring a supporting cast that includes Keenan's son Devo and ex-Mars Volta drummer Jon Theodore, reveals a more reassuring side of a singer better known for willful alienation.
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Despite a more eclectic stylistic palette, his sophomore Puscifer album is just as moody and dramatic as those other projects.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Too many songs build and build and never explode, and though Keenan has never sounded growlier, Parole never really breaks loose.
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    58
    Conditions verges on dour, monochromatic humorlessness.
  7. Magnet
    Nov 11, 2011
    40
    Lucky for Conditions of My Parole, Puscifer has graduated from embarrassingly stupid to simply boring. [#81, p. 59]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 17, 2013
    9
    There is some serious depth in this album. The imagery is great and you can almost imagine Maynard sitting in his truck in the middle of theThere is some serious depth in this album. The imagery is great and you can almost imagine Maynard sitting in his truck in the middle of the desert writing lyrics. Great feeling of serenity throughout. Great alternative view of a genius. Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    While it may take several listens through to appreciate, "Conditions," is an experience that tackles the themes of home and environment,While it may take several listens through to appreciate, "Conditions," is an experience that tackles the themes of home and environment, something that Keenan has found and likewise portrayed in his sophomore effort. Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    I went in a little skeptical. I had mixed feelings regarding V is for Vagina, but found some hope for Puscifer in its EPs and soundtrackI went in a little skeptical. I had mixed feelings regarding V is for Vagina, but found some hope for Puscifer in its EPs and soundtrack contributions. This album greatly exceeded my expectations. It flows wonderfully and uses Maynard's vocal talents to the fullest, demonstrating his amazing range and ability to convey emotions. One of my favorite albums so far this year. Full Review »