Croweology Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released in conjunction with the band's 2010 farewell tour, this double-disc acoustic album features new recordings of the Black Crowes' classic hits, as well as revised versions of rarities and deep cuts.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Silver Arrow Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, American Trad Rock, Hard Rock, Rock & Roll
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

She Talks To Angels
She never mentions the word addiction In certain company Yes, she'll tell you she's an orphan After you meet her family She paints her eyes as black... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Uncut
    Captured live in the studio at LA's Sunset Sound, they've never sounded better in their 20-year career, their Southern roots more proudly on parade than ever. [Oct 22010, p.87]
  2. The album is much better than a greatest-hits affair – it's a reason to go on.
  3. The band does much better reexamining more-obscure parts of its catalog.
  4. This is the sound of seasoned veterans still finding new ways to play old favorites.
  5. Though it may not showcase any new original material, it at least gives the feeling that the Black Crowes are not about to let their next hiatus wash them away in a wave of unsatisfying nostalgia: they will leave us only looking for more.
  6. Croweology serves as a reminder that the Crowes may be one of the country's most underrated and misunderstood bands.
  7. Relaunching the Black Crowes brand with 2008 tomahawk Warpaint and the mature winter blues of follow-up Before the Frost/Until the Freeze here earns the Robinson boys a victory lap.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of