Cut the World [Live] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Antony Hegarty and his band recorded live in Denmark with the Danish National Chamber Orchestra some of the songs from the group's four previous releases with new arrangements.
  • Record Label: Secretly Canadian
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    Hegarty has mastered the art of turning performance into a kind of ritual ceremony and the magic of these symphonic concert recordings blows their previously released versions out of the water.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    It's one of the best live albums released by a modern "mainstream" act that I can think of. No exaggeration.
  3. Cut the World is compelling enough to change the way we appreciate the world and its sad beauty. There's simply nothing that sounds quite like this.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    Maybe some of the subtlety of the original is lost in the symphonic throb of this new arrangement but it's still a stunning, gleaming celebration of endurance and life even in the midst of bruises and hurt.
  5. Magnet
    Dec 14, 2012
    The real draws here are the stunning fresh takes on some of the finest works to be found in the Antony & The Johnsons catalog. [No.90, p.52]
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    Cut the World, on musical merit alone, is a solid live recording, one that reminds us of the highlights of Antony Hegarty's career up to now, and hints at future success.
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    Cut the World reprises 10 of his old songs, adds one new one (the title track) and Future Feminism, which is the kind of thing that will either get you punching the air as you did at Danny Boyle's Olympics opening ceremony, or crossing your legs and muttering about distrusting gender absolutes.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 6, 2015
    For the most part this is really good and delivers proof of the acts' ability to deliver their unique style in an equally impressive manner inFor the most part this is really good and delivers proof of the acts' ability to deliver their unique style in an equally impressive manner in a live setting. "Kiss My Name", one of my favourite A and the J's tracks is a highlight and sounds as good as ever here. Unfortunately the inclusion of the 7 minute "Future Feminism" (7 MINUTES!!) is a major downside. Some will say its brave, especially putting it in so early at track 2. I saw it is arrogant, superfluous and above all, boring. I always hate spoken word tracks on live albums anyway but this takes the cake and has no place on an otherwise excellent live album. Expand