User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 170
  2. Negative: 78 out of 170

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2011
    1
    Kurt is turning in his grave :( 1 mark because they chose an amazing band to imitate badly. Shocking. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  2. JordanK
    Oct 1, 2009
    1
    Horrible album. I've never liked nickelback. If you want to listen to real music, listen to Tool or Breaking Benjamin. Most mainstream sucks. And Nickelback is no exception. If you're going to make a "new album", at least change some of the lyrics up...a big disgrace to rock...
  3. AlanW.
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    It's either a searing parody of Nickelback's previous albums, or the worst collection of songs ever written. I'm betting on the latter.
  4. IanC.
    Dec 2, 2008
    1
    This album is genuinely terrible. Their last album was bad, but redeemable because of some good songs. Any middle school droput could write this. The riffs are repetitive, and while this wouldn't be a bad thing if the riffs or melodies or anything were actually good, but as it is, they are terrible. There is absolutely no originality in the band or between the songs; they all have This album is genuinely terrible. Their last album was bad, but redeemable because of some good songs. Any middle school droput could write this. The riffs are repetitive, and while this wouldn't be a bad thing if the riffs or melodies or anything were actually good, but as it is, they are terrible. There is absolutely no originality in the band or between the songs; they all have the same feel, the same sound, the same instrumentation. I'll admit that it's not as bad as a lot of what's out there, but that doesn't make it good. There is always the consistent drone of distorted guitar and heavy drums, the chords don't follow any pattern or make any sense, and this is even more bombastic and melody-less than any of their previous releases. Also, the system they use for averaging critics ratings on this site doesn't work with the AllMusic guide ratings, because the lowest rating on there is a 1/5, not a 0/5. Just thought I'd throw that in there. Expand
  5. RaulV.
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    When are they going to stop letting horny 8th graders write the lyrics? All their songs sound the same.
  6. thehamster
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    I think everyone is finally waking up from their deep haze to realize that Nickleback SUCK BALLS! Hello?? They make their music for 12 year old masturbating boys.....There is more talent in Pearl Jam's shit then there is in Nickleback's best moments! Come on everyone! Remember Bush? Thats right, you don't....because Nickleback stepped in and took over the duty of making I think everyone is finally waking up from their deep haze to realize that Nickleback SUCK BALLS! Hello?? They make their music for 12 year old masturbating boys.....There is more talent in Pearl Jam's shit then there is in Nickleback's best moments! Come on everyone! Remember Bush? Thats right, you don't....because Nickleback stepped in and took over the duty of making post grunge wanna be bullshit! Do yourselves a favor and GRADUATE to some better music.....Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains and STP for starters......listen to these TRUE musicians and realize who shitty Nickleback and Bush pathetically tried to copy. Expand
  7. EricC
    Feb 4, 2009
    0
    Is there anything left to say? Nope.
  8. CharlieM
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Crap from a band who could do much better. I saw them in concert in harford and made the mistake of taking my 12 yr old. It was the biggest porno show (dildos,filthy talk etc attempt at stand up comedy i ever saw...But at least they played 7 or 8 songs....just so disappointed.
  9. JakeH.
    Nov 21, 2008
    1
    I used to be a fan. But they have become so completely unoriginal... It's just sad.
  10. BrendanP
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Maybe the most unoriginal, tackiest, and most boring bands out there? Definitely maybe.
  11. MattS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    Rolling Stone has officially jumped the shark.
  12. MiaF.
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    I love Nickelback! Really. But the truth is it (Dark Horse) is an awful album. I know everyone's going green but recycled music is not included. Maybe it's time for Nickelback to let someone that still has passion to write their music for them. Clearly Chad has lost that passion. It's hard for me to say that but it's the truth.
  13. StevenR.
    Jan 19, 2009
    0
    Nickelback has never been original. But still, when I heard about their new album, I decided to give it a go. Heck, it was produced by the guy who brought is Back in Black! Maybe it Nickelback was finally being creative! Alas, what I got is Nickelback's worst album. Kroeger has NEVER been a good singer. But here he sounds like some pathetic drunk. And looking at the lyrical themes, Nickelback has never been original. But still, when I heard about their new album, I decided to give it a go. Heck, it was produced by the guy who brought is Back in Black! Maybe it Nickelback was finally being creative! Alas, what I got is Nickelback's worst album. Kroeger has NEVER been a good singer. But here he sounds like some pathetic drunk. And looking at the lyrical themes, that probably is what he is. To start off, lets look at the songs. Most revolve around sex and drinking (or both!). The other themes are cheesy ballads, rendered totally inscencere due to the other songs. These ballads are bound to become hits, and people are bound to rate this pile of crap 10/10 because of them [without even LISTENING to the rest], but for those of us (woe-fully) in the know, this is Nickelback posing as "softies" just to get their fans $$$. The songs about drinking and sex are horrible. You see, Nickelback has alway been vulgar. Nobody has ever noticed, either because the cheesy singels either drew them in, and they just bought the album just to listen to the singles, or because the singles told them all they needed to know. But Kroeger seems intent here to show how vulgar Nickelback really is. And while doing so, why not prove to critics that he really IS an idiot. There are so many bad lyrics, to list them all is to copy and paste all the lyrics from the album. Quite literally they ALL SUCK. (In S.E.X. "X is just to mark the spot"...and that is one of the WAY BETTER lyrics). The songs don't pack a punch, and like always, seem like previous recycled hits. In all truthfullness, to point out all the reasons that make this album bad would take forever. So I'll end it at this: If you thought that Nickelback couldn't get much worse, they do! Expand
  14. Josh
    Jan 19, 2009
    0
    Absoulute crap. Nickelback has always been bad with ballads, and here, the best tracks are ballads. So you know what your getting into. The tracks are weak. Lyrics are so poor, they could pass of as an exagerrated parody of Nickelback. So exaggerated, in fact, that many would dismiss the lyrics saying "Nobody is so stupid as to wirte a lyric like that". Turns out, Kroeger really IS that Absoulute crap. Nickelback has always been bad with ballads, and here, the best tracks are ballads. So you know what your getting into. The tracks are weak. Lyrics are so poor, they could pass of as an exagerrated parody of Nickelback. So exaggerated, in fact, that many would dismiss the lyrics saying "Nobody is so stupid as to wirte a lyric like that". Turns out, Kroeger really IS that stupid. Incredible. As for what Ashley C. said, dear, I surely do hope your weidding day is FAR FAR into the future, because that song is so incensere and cheesy, it is obviously only done for commercial reasons (do you really want a commercial generic song played at your wedding?). Also addressing another commenter, Stephanie S. epitomizes all the people who gave this album a good review. She stated that she loved the album except for a raunch, and gave the album a 8/10. But here is the problem, THE WHOLE ALBUM is raunch. So how can you love it? Obviously she only heard "Gotta Be Somebody" and mindlessly gave it a good score. And that goes for everyone who gives this a good score. Its not an opinion, this album is universally bad. Expand
  15. DimondR
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    All I can say is that I feel raped. The lead singer has violated me and I want my computer space back because I obviously would never buy this crap so I pirated it. CANADA! I CAN DO THAT LEGALLY! My oh my. I would rather listen to Aqua as my wedding song than ever having to listen to this crap ever again.
  16. MikeF.
    Apr 25, 2009
    0
    I think the real problem is, just sheer repetitive boring music. And i know im not the first to say it. But the themes they explore in this album like sex, and drugs and stuff have been explored by other and better bands and have been expressed with far greater artistic merit. I think Chad and his band of meat head musicians need to pack it up and hang their guitars up for the sake of humanity.
  17. VanessaF
    Jun 10, 2009
    0
    People should be ashamed to give this a high rating. Also, big LOL at the person saying Nickelback is for "normal" people. I'd like to think I'm a "normal" person, I just have the intelligence to discern utter crap from decent music. There's music I don't like and won't listen to, but can respect. This is just pure garbage, through and trhough. Every Nickelback People should be ashamed to give this a high rating. Also, big LOL at the person saying Nickelback is for "normal" people. I'd like to think I'm a "normal" person, I just have the intelligence to discern utter crap from decent music. There's music I don't like and won't listen to, but can respect. This is just pure garbage, through and trhough. Every Nickelback song sounds exactly the same. It's even been proven on many websites by playing 2 different songs out of the left and right speaker. This band is one of the biggest plagues on music, and makes me utterly embarrassed to know they are Canadian as well. Do us all a favour and go back to Alberta and STAY THERE. Expand
  18. MichaelM.
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Cookie cutter music fed to those that have no interest in hearing anything unlike they have heard a million times before. Nickelback defines a new category of Rock, Butt Rock, hopeless junk that is spewed without any thought at all given to it.
  19. FrankT.
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Yeah Rolling Stone, he comes off and writes music about as well as any regular guy with no pretensions to talent, how does that help matters at all?
  20. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2008
    0
    great another nickleback album, these guys are like the weak zebra in the herd that the lions pick off, and after they taste it they leave it for the vultures
  21. LizaL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    0
    Melodramatic lyrics that any highschooler could write. Repetative riffs and melodies that reek of uncreativity. The question is not if it's bad, it's what is there to like?
  22. MotherU
    Nov 28, 2008
    2
    Gur, we are do not listen to Nickelback! We no like boring, unoriginal music, gurr.
  23. SteveK.
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    People need to stop slagging nickelback regardless of how bad they are. middle america needs something simple and predictable to listen to on their way to walmart and the burger king drive-thru. unfortunately radiohead happens to be a bit too heady for joe the plumber. it seems to me that most culturally aware and educated people are able avoid putting themselves in the path of People need to stop slagging nickelback regardless of how bad they are. middle america needs something simple and predictable to listen to on their way to walmart and the burger king drive-thru. unfortunately radiohead happens to be a bit too heady for joe the plumber. it seems to me that most culturally aware and educated people are able avoid putting themselves in the path of nickelback's overexposure. if you still listen to rock radio, you've got nothing to complain about. most of that rubbish is just as bad as nickelback. Expand
  24. SamuelL
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    I've heard better musicianship from a deathcore band.
  25. VinceG
    Sep 23, 2009
    1
    its a damn shame Nickelback are decent enough musicians, because they're using up perfectly good blue collar rock riffs to back up some of the most unoriginal, bland and just plain moronic lyrics anyone has ever written. dont get me wrong kids, sex and drugs are fun, but artists with street cred find ways express their lust for women and drugs in a somewhat intelligent fashion. oh its a damn shame Nickelback are decent enough musicians, because they're using up perfectly good blue collar rock riffs to back up some of the most unoriginal, bland and just plain moronic lyrics anyone has ever written. dont get me wrong kids, sex and drugs are fun, but artists with street cred find ways express their lust for women and drugs in a somewhat intelligent fashion. oh and by the way, the first guy on the list here wants bands that don't suck to offer up? Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker, Pearl Jam, Sublime, Led Zeppelin. look em up, its what real music sounds like. better singing voice than chad kroger? Dallas Green, Arethra Franklin, Gord Downie, Mariah Carey, Chris Cornell. Expand
  26. tacolafleur
    Dec 19, 2008
    0
    You can tell Kroeger is a high-school dropout (read the interview he did for playboy if you don't believe this). His lyrics are a joke, and so is the music. Please stop buying his stuff, people, so that he can stop making it!!
  27. JamesP
    Dec 21, 2008
    1
    I give it one point just because the guitarist uses pinch harmonics in the first song. It surprises me they did those, I thought something like that would be too hard for them.
  28. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    Nickleback has killed Rock. Only ONE song is catchy, but the rest is crap! WARRNING: Do not listen to this "rock album". This album should join in "The Worst Collection of Albums In History" with this album being No. 1
  29. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    I used to love and come up with excuses for why I loved Nickelback. Until Dark Horse came along; offensive, lazy, stupid and hypocritical (How do you go from a magnum opus like "Never Again" to garbage like "Something In your Mouth" and "Shakin Hands"?!), Dark Horse is a shoe in for worst Album of the new Millenna. Let me reitorate, I've seen Nickelback live and loved all of their albumsI used to love and come up with excuses for why I loved Nickelback. Until Dark Horse came along; offensive, lazy, stupid and hypocritical (How do you go from a magnum opus like "Never Again" to garbage like "Something In your Mouth" and "Shakin Hands"?!), Dark Horse is a shoe in for worst Album of the new Millenna. Let me reitorate, I've seen Nickelback live and loved all of their albums until Dark Horse. Dark Horse has effectively ruined a band for both fans and die hard fans alike. Expand
  30. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    This album is a joke. With each song sounding the same as the next, it is clear that Nickelback ran out of ideas long ago (if they ever had any to begin with).
  31. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    1 point for If Today Was Your Last Day, because other than that this release is one of the worst albums I've ever had the displeasure of hearing. Nickelback has redeemed themselves (sorta) with Here and Now, but that still doesn't excuse this album from sounding like a dance pop auto-tuned disaster.
  32. Aug 22, 2013
    1
    No. This album is a simple no. Nickelback has been a stain on the music scene since their debut, and the fact that some people seem to think they're the best band Canada has to offer....look at these few bands: The Agonist, Evans Blue, Into Eternity, Kataklysm, Protest the Hero, and of course Rush. The TRUE greatest band from Canada. Sure, The Agonist, Into Eternity and Kataklysm are moreNo. This album is a simple no. Nickelback has been a stain on the music scene since their debut, and the fact that some people seem to think they're the best band Canada has to offer....look at these few bands: The Agonist, Evans Blue, Into Eternity, Kataklysm, Protest the Hero, and of course Rush. The TRUE greatest band from Canada. Sure, The Agonist, Into Eternity and Kataklysm are more towards the death metal/extreme metal side of music, but they're STILL better musically than Nickelback. And you can't compare Nickelback to Rush. Rush trumps them BAR NONE. Nickelback sucks, period. Expand
  33. Apr 6, 2016
    0
    as musicians Nickelback has gotten a huge lash from both critics and fans of rock. cant say i blame them one bit. this album is like nickelbacks other works. it has one song that stands out that you can like while others simply make you feel disgusted at what you just heard. only a few songs i heard by this band do i like. other songs by them are just terrible due to poor writing andas musicians Nickelback has gotten a huge lash from both critics and fans of rock. cant say i blame them one bit. this album is like nickelbacks other works. it has one song that stands out that you can like while others simply make you feel disgusted at what you just heard. only a few songs i heard by this band do i like. other songs by them are just terrible due to poor writing and repetition of the riffs. Chad Kroeger either never had passion for song writing or just cant come with something enjoyable. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. The band's Beavis- like embrace of rock & roll debauchery is a sort of marvel of low art.
  2. Lange keeps things rolling--and to his credit, Chad Kroeger gratifyingly comes off as more of a regular guy than a rock star.
  3. The hilarious, parodic single 'Rockstar' excepted, Nickelback's music reaffirms every sex-and-stupidity cliche hard rock can offer.