Dead & Born & Grown

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    Whether the sisters' gossamer voices are woven together or flutter alone, what you hear is a bloodless, polite prettiness.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    The songwriting trends to predictable formulas of ruminations upon nature leading to contemplations of love and loss.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 28, 2013
    In a landscape of faux Estuary-English nu-Folk cretins, it is a sight for sore eyes to finally see the Staves, three sisters from WatfordIn a landscape of faux Estuary-English nu-Folk cretins, it is a sight for sore eyes to finally see the Staves, three sisters from Watford working with proper country/folk music.

    Their greatest asset is their natural harmony they sing as one intertwined siren; a sound so mellifluous it's like having organic melted marshmallow poured over you. Or like being battered with a silk pillow, as downy as the first snow of winter or the first feathers of a dove chickā€¦ I'm getting all folksy and rambling but their voices mix with the music perfectly and they judge the tone stunningly staying far from saccharine ukuleles and wispy, girly lyrics that make you want to pour a tub of Bovril down your throat.

    This is an album that is most definitely a debut. When you first hear I Speak Because I Can by Laura Marling, you imagine her first album to sound like this (if that makes sense). The three sisters blend harmony with wintry melody and create a pure and charismatic sound that resinates through every song. Lyrically they're pretty awesome too their sense of rhyme and metaphor stands out particularly in Snow as they sing "You are but a guest in my heart/ But soon you must depart;/ You're a catherine wheel/ spinning its last" and later "In the trappings of the silent snow/ That fell over night/ And won't let me go." Poetic S***

    The title track, Dead & Born & Grown, is a simple and haunting tune a sound that runs through the core of this album like a vein of glittering quartz; nothing overly pretentious but beautiful nonetheless. Winter Trees offers a cold tale of regret, the heart-twisting lyrics "But you didn't understand/ That my heart was in your hands/ You were so blind" Nothing spectacular, but sung with enough passion to make a Dorset farmer weep.
    Full Review »