Diamond Eyes - Deftones
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 100
  2. Negative: 2 out of 100

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    People tend to attach memories and emotions to music. That's why, when you here that old song, you think of 'that summer', when life was fantastic, your girl was a personal favour from God to you, and your only complaint had something to do with the temperature of your beer.

    What sets this record apart from other contenders to my first review is not the fact that it was made in the
    absence of their comatose bassist and good friend, or that they scrapped all their previous work, and started fresh with stand in bassist Sergio Vega, all in less than 2 years. No. What set this album apart are the emotions that come with it. Deftones open a new door with every song you listen to on this album. Not a single melody sounds generic or bland. The album is a mixture of edgy, almost-metal, to chilled, shoegazing, cruising-the-streets ballads. While tracks like Diamond Eyes and Rocket Skates unleash the hard, pounding aggression of the band, you get the likes of 976-Evil, Sextape and Prince, to crack open the beer and put your feet up to. Listen to this rock album, and you wonâ Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    this is quickly becoming my favorite deftones album, as it seem they for once they actually tried to tap into their massive talent pool. in all actuality this is their 2nd best album which is sad considering the obvious talent. after 20 years of ok to good music while always seeming on the verge of greatness but never quite reaching it, this record seems to atleast be an attempt at actually becoming the band their fans always thought one day they would be.... about time Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    A good album. It may not be the Deftone's best, but the style is refreshing. It is clear that the band was given a chance to let loose and the result is great. It may not be White Pony, but this is still a must buy for fans of the band and people looking for something different
  4. May 8, 2011
    10
    I had never heard this band before this album (except for the Back to School music video), and after the first song, I was hooked. The slow, grinding, yet smooth melodies of the album are simply fantastic. My favourite songs were "Diamond Eyes", "Sextape", and "976-Evil".
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    As a deftones fan since day one I have always loved every direction they have gone with each album but with Diamond Eyes they are pointed back UP. I have had this album for quite some time now and with each and every listen it just gets so much better. I'm now at the point where I can say this is one of their best albums and it's on my top 3 all time best Deftones albums of all time. Take my advice and pick this one up and you will not be sorry because this is pure art and the boys have so much to prove this time around. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Latest Deftones album was without basist Chi but turned out to be one of their strongest releases i gave it a 10 cause it really deserved it Deftones will continue to make great music and i'm waiting for the next album. (Go to oneloveforchi.com to help basist Chi Cheng)
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    After this album, I became a huge fan of this band. The best music of the album is CMND/CTRL for me and im glad this band exists. You're not gonna be disappointed buying this album. Chino is a genius. They deserve a 10 score to be really honest. BUY IT!
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    The spirit and consistency found in their self-titled 2003 release is renewed into something a lot more positive and passionate. The coma Chi found himself in, really provoked this band into generating their best set of songs in a decade, proving not only their relevance commercially but as musicians.
  9. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    It's a no-brainer that The Deftones are the best band of not just modern rock, but in music itself. If you thought that Saturday Night Wrist was their most diverse offering to date, think again, because Diamond Eyes extends the band's capabilities even more than what most people thought White Pony did to Around the Fur. The crushing 8-string guitar riffs of Stephen Carpenter, the melodic whisper-to-scream vocals of Chino Moreno, the unique sampling of Frank Delgado, the promising bass lines of Sergio Vega (who joined as a replacement of comatose Chi Cheng), and the complex drumming of Abe Cunningham combine to create an album more cathartic than anything else in their discography, and the entire face of rock. Diamond Eyes is a perfect record in every sense of the word. Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The album is absolutely perfect, is the new generation of metal. The instrument sounds are impeccable and unique, but what I love this album and Deftones are their amazing and innovative lyrics. An example would be "Sextape" is what we would consider the ballad of the album and talks about the desire to feel "the sound of ocean waves", figuratively obviously, there's the song "This Place Is Death" more that sexual, refers to love, the feeling of reciprocity with another person. Creates a dense atmosphere that serves a farewell without lowering the bar with a less harsh guitars and harmonicas, a battery that sustains the rhythm on the toms and a pretty melodic voice. This album is one of the best of 2010, do not hesitate to have it. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    It took a while to grow on me, but it's definitely a great album. For me, it's more consistent and overall more satisfying than Saturday Night Wrist. That album had some amazing songs and some filler (rare for this band) however this is an album that flows well from start to finish. Strangely, the only track I find myself skipping sometimes is Sextape which used to be my favorite off the album. I just find that it works better as a standalone track, or could have opened or closed the album. Not sure I love the production, but it's not bad by any means. Whether it's their best record ever is entirely subjective, but they are definitely progressing as a band, and their latest Koi No Yokan is arguably even stronger. Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Best Songs: Sextape-Beauty School-Diamond Eyes-You've Seen The Butcher-CMND/CTRL
    Heaviest Songs :Rocket Skates-Diamond Eyes
    Best Chorus: Diamond Eyes-Sextape
    Best Verses: Beauty School-You've Seen The Butcher
    Worst Song:?????
    Overall-Great album. one of their best and the most balanced.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. These 11 tracks flow fantastically, sounding like products of a focused period of writing and recording, completed over a relatively short space of time.
  2. When Diamond Eyes isn't trying quite so hard to be a great record, though, it ends up being a pretty good one.
  3. Diamond Eyes is wild and serene, and I can honestly say its Deftones' best album to date.