Digital Ash In A Digital Urn

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 79
  2. Negative: 9 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottH
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    This album is so forgettable, the music rubbish, and his words are borderline retarded. I can't believe their saying he's the voice of the new generation. I've tried and tried to like this but it just got more annoying as it went along. The fact that it's getting such a great review on user comments shows us that they know less then actual critics ( who I've This album is so forgettable, the music rubbish, and his words are borderline retarded. I can't believe their saying he's the voice of the new generation. I've tried and tried to like this but it just got more annoying as it went along. The fact that it's getting such a great review on user comments shows us that they know less then actual critics ( who I've always hated ). Expand
  2. Phil
    Apr 29, 2005
    0
    Ralph again.
  3. DavidM
    Sep 2, 2005
    2
    Wow. I really love parts of Wide Awake...but this is just god awful. Devin couldn't have things more completely backwards, Oberst trying to venture into Radiohead territory where he absolutely, positively does not belong. A sense of musical confusion and mismatched ideas permeates the whole thing. It's okay, Connor, every artist has weakness. Now that you've found yours, Wow. I really love parts of Wide Awake...but this is just god awful. Devin couldn't have things more completely backwards, Oberst trying to venture into Radiohead territory where he absolutely, positively does not belong. A sense of musical confusion and mismatched ideas permeates the whole thing. It's okay, Connor, every artist has weakness. Now that you've found yours, stick to country and Dylanesque folk and you'll be fine. Expand
  4. HomieBB
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    i simply dont like this band at all
  5. BobtheJanitor
    Jan 25, 2005
    1
    Digital crap in a digital toilet.
  6. Matt
    Jan 27, 2005
    2
    This cd is really horrible. And I'm one of those Bright Eyes diehards. Aside from maybe a couple songs, this cd's music (and even lyrics) are just bad. They're not even average. Oh well, you can't win them all. DEFINITELY BUY I'M WIDE AWAKE, IT'S MORNING. That makes up for this.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    Riskier but not totally out of character; it's the more holistic right brain to Wide Awake's rational left brain. [Feb 2005, p.81]
  2. Q Magazine
    40
    Experimental and confusing... Oberst's voice struggles to hit home through the effects. [Jan 2005, p.129]
  3. This is not a classic – each high is paired with a low of similar scale, so whilst ‘Down In A Rabbit Hole’ scales heights previously thought unreachable, ‘Ship In A Bottle’, with baby samples screeching over the top of the most base-level beats, is plain annoying.