• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2001
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 365 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 365

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are pleasant and intriguing. Particular Strength is found in the electronic synth solo of "Digital Love" and the catchy melodic hook of "One More Time" A Must have album in anyone's music library.
  2. NathanR.
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    An extraordinarily fun album from beginning to end.
  3. May 23, 2013
    8
    As Discovery, is a fine album. But as being the soundtrack of Interstella 5555, is an awesome album, one of the best albums of the decade
  4. ZachL.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    This is possibly the most underrated album I've ever heard. Don't be misled by the initial reactions of the critics!
  5. AlloS.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    Very Very very good
  6. JC
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    It's the best
  7. JakeF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    What an album. Watched Interstella 5555 and that didn't disappoint either. In my view one of the greatest, innovative albums of all time, with already classic songs such as 'One More Time' and 'Digital Love' featured. Apart from the slightly dodgy track 'Nightvision' Daft Punk have excelled themselves.
  8. TomM.
    Jul 22, 2002
    10
    You either like it or you don't, but if you do then you will never go back, just simpaly the best thing i have ever heard and it's brilliance will never be bettered, every element of each song can be felt as you listen.
  9. IanD.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    Its got to be the most inovative Cd of its time. Daft Punk has awakend a new world to the Techno Industry
  10. AdamR
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    A great album with plenty of inspiration and variation.
  11. JakeR.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This honestly has to be my favourite album from them all, they way it's put together, the movie aswell. Everything about it is just... perfect.
  12. GabrielN.
    Dec 21, 2008
    9
    I'm a song lover, i hate albums, but it happens that every song on this album is great, and some of them really brilliant! It's music that you can feel related to in a personal, intimate way. Very very underrated, best of Daft Punk, and probably one of the best albums ever.
  13. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This is the album that made me realize I like dance music. Nearly every track is fun, inventive, and unique in the way it sounds. My personal favorites are the first and last tracks, "One More Time" and "Too Long". When I first listened to this album I didn't care for it that much, but it only took me one more listen to fall in love with the music. This is Daft Punk's best album, andThis is the album that made me realize I like dance music. Nearly every track is fun, inventive, and unique in the way it sounds. My personal favorites are the first and last tracks, "One More Time" and "Too Long". When I first listened to this album I didn't care for it that much, but it only took me one more listen to fall in love with the music. This is Daft Punk's best album, and should be in the library of everyone who enjoys music. Expand
  14. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I LOVE this album!! It is realy realy amazing!!
  15. May 26, 2013
    10
    I've listened to this album so many times in my car. I can never get sick of it. Amazing amazing amazing. I even got my friends hooked to them. Particularly face to face is their jam.
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Very underrated by conventional critics, this album is one of Daft Punk's finest and my personal favorite album of all time. Every single track is excellent and enthralling to listen to. If you loved it be sure to complement your experience by watching Interstella 5555.
  17. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the best dance albums of all time, the album starts and ends with the same vocalists and really shows his vocal ability (the first song features an extensive use of autotune whilst the final track has a beautiful acoustic voice with backing vocals by the two band members). Every song is beautifully crafted and produced which shows how much emotion was put into the album.Probably one of the best dance albums of all time, the album starts and ends with the same vocalists and really shows his vocal ability (the first song features an extensive use of autotune whilst the final track has a beautiful acoustic voice with backing vocals by the two band members). Every song is beautifully crafted and produced which shows how much emotion was put into the album. Daft Punk's first album Homework was meant to be one of the most influential dance albums ever, but I think Discovery tops that. Expand
  18. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Though many could consider Homework or Random Access Memories their milestones—Homework for contributing to modern electronic music (and simply because it's their debut album) and RAM for its commercial breakthrough and refinement to an era of EDM where everyone wants to be David Guetta—Discovery is truly where it all began, in my opinion. Not just the beginning of Thomas Bangalter andThough many could consider Homework or Random Access Memories their milestones—Homework for contributing to modern electronic music (and simply because it's their debut album) and RAM for its commercial breakthrough and refinement to an era of EDM where everyone wants to be David Guetta—Discovery is truly where it all began, in my opinion. Not just the beginning of Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem Christo's robotic alter egos—caused by a September 9th, 1999 accident in their studio, ahem. But the beginning of an era where electronic music began again. Discovery could be considered a main highlight in the early noughties, with "One More Time" being noteworthy as one of the greatest singles of the decade and "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" being sampled by Kanye West then remixed into their Alive tour, however, it's just a work of art in its own right, disregarding Pitchfork and all that praised it in their year-end lists.

    Technically speaking—if I spoke from my own fangirl alter ego, I'd simply say "This album is **** amazing" and nothing else—Discovery has a polished production that's almost insulting for the simple fact that it's samples layered upon samples, which would later end up being sampled by other artists. And yet it's all original in its own right, especially considering the obscurity of the samples chosen. It's obviously not a concept album, but to recommend single songs off of the album seems impossible, considering it'd strip the mood from when you listen to it on continuous play. From the sappy, feel-good vibes in its lead single and "Digital Love" to the funky, chill vibes in "Something About Us", it's astonishing how cohesive a dance album can actually be. To sum it all up, it's amazing, there.
    Expand
  19. LukaszK.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT I hate this music but my daft brother listen this fucki'n music
  20. NasSsTLaTinA
    Feb 1, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best albums i ever heard and i dont even listen to this type of music.. I love the film clip and havent seen the one after harder faster.... so if anyone can tell me if the pilot dies??? and what happens to the band.. i give this album 20 out of 10..
  21. WilliamL
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    My favourite album of all time.
  22. JeffreyU
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    this is the best electronica album on the market hands down.
  23. HugoN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    The more I listen it the better it gets! It succeeds when trying to take me to the 80's. One the best works of our Robo-friends, definitively a must-have for all the fans n' freaks into the electro-beat. I think im gonna listen it all over again right now..
  24. AlexP
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Fantastic. Great. Amazing music that you want to blast out of your speakers AND lie down and listen to on your favorite headphones.
  25. JonM
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    How strange that this album received some bad reviews. It covers all bases - catchy pop, driving trance, electro house and, perhaps most acutely, sombre electronica in Veridis Quo. Some beleaguered reviewers need to put this in their stereo again, turn the sound up to 11 and enjoy a smorgasbord of electronic rhythms.
  26. Shawn
    Jul 12, 2001
    9
    Very Groovy! I love the sound! It really puts me in a very kick ass mood!
  27. PhilipS.
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've heard in 10 years. Every song is a new discovery - fusion of 70s or 80s disco and funk produced with second millennium house style. They manage to make everything sound fresh and unique and yet strangely familiar. Its definitely the most emotional house music I have ever heard (if that was their goal they achieved it). So, it wasn't like the This is one of the best albums I've heard in 10 years. Every song is a new discovery - fusion of 70s or 80s disco and funk produced with second millennium house style. They manage to make everything sound fresh and unique and yet strangely familiar. Its definitely the most emotional house music I have ever heard (if that was their goal they achieved it). So, it wasn't like the Homework album. But why make another Homework album? Thank you Daft Punk for this wonderful breathe of fresh air. Expand
  28. JoshW.
    Aug 30, 2001
    10
    This is Brilliant, and the videos are good as well, i can't wait for the next installment of the video story.
  29. SwendolineTAB
    Aug 9, 2001
    8
    Just love it
  30. FartnSniffzzz
    Sep 1, 2001
    7
    Its ok...
  31. gaiakim
    Sep 3, 2001
    9
    Although it is well known that the group can do better to me it is a nice album. Maybe a bit on the silly goofy side , but over all a nice album.
  32. JonC
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    Once you've bought Discovery you will never take it out of your CD player.
  33. K
    Apr 11, 2002
    10
    While this album is nothing compared to "Homework," It still lives up to the Daft Punk name. The music is variously creative. Each track has it's own mood and style, and it's an album you'd never get tired of listening to.
  34. WillyB.
    May 4, 2002
    10
    Aerodynamic has insane music solos in it
  35. monicaf
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    i can't get enough of this cd every single song is great for any mood you're in
  36. Lee
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    There is no beter Ol' School that Daft Punk-- this is the original.
  37. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 17, 2004
    7
    Not as disposable as you might think.
  38. MattS
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
  39. ArthurB
    Jul 26, 2005
    9
    Daft Punk is not mindless happy house, but it makes people happy.
  40. Juckes
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    Best Electronic album i've ever heard and own, hands down! Just simply briiliant
  41. GeorgePrime
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    An amazing blend of dance music and listening music. The amount of talent in the fingers of this amazing duo electrifies the mind and soul.
  42. BrianC
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most critically underrated albums of this decade. That is to say it was underrated initially: most critics have taken the path of revisionism and finally recognized that this is easily Daft Punk's greatest, and in my opinion, the greatest dance and electronic album of this decade. Includes masterpieces: One more Time, Aerodynamic, Digital Love, This is one of the most critically underrated albums of this decade. That is to say it was underrated initially: most critics have taken the path of revisionism and finally recognized that this is easily Daft Punk's greatest, and in my opinion, the greatest dance and electronic album of this decade. Includes masterpieces: One more Time, Aerodynamic, Digital Love, Harder/Beter/Faster/Stronger, and Something About Us. Rating: 9.4/10.0 Expand
  43. CaddyC
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    this is by far daft punks best effort.not to say homework and human after all arent excellant in their own right,but discovery is the most diverse and original album of the last 10 years.the best album i own.
  44. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Space music! Woohoo!
  45. PatrickP.
    Nov 18, 2001
    10
    yummy, groovy, funkalicious. it moves me.
  46. NickL.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    a great album, even beter than homework!
  47. CaitlinnC.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    This cd is awsome until about #7... then it kinda drops off... but I swear I could listen to the first 4 songs repeatedly, and never get tired of them!
  48. DaftPunker
    Oct 18, 2001
    10
    im glad we finally get another daft punk album! as much as I loved homework, it was getting about time for a new one. Great videos too!
  49. PeterJ.
    Oct 18, 2001
    10
    With the exeption of 'High Life', the tracks on 'Discovery' are brilliant. After a long time, they do however get a bit tedious. Just a bit though.
  50. VivianC.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    I say this Discovery was much better than Homework. This album is so very disco. But it is still very good. "One More Time" did really well. It was like #1 on the billboard dance/club chart for 3 weeks, #2 on the most of the dance/club charts in Europe.
  51. CoryF.
    May 3, 2001
    7
    The album is excellent. It's got a great blend of a bunch of different styles all with an electronic bent.
  52. handesever
    Jul 25, 2001
    9
    beatiful
  53. CK
    Aug 13, 2001
    8
    Watch the videos!
  54. JasenB.
    Aug 30, 2001
    9
    This cd is needed for anybody who even remotely likes techno.
  55. JoleneC
    Sep 12, 2001
    10
    Simply the best! I never liked techno anyway, in fact Techno is a "no way" to me .But after discovering this album , I feel totally refresh , refresh by the their fantastic rythmn. They give the 70 & 80's sound a new twist. A great album,. Moreover their videos are brilliant with cute little Japanese characters to make it looks spicy ,I mean spacey. Who would think of a sequence for Simply the best! I never liked techno anyway, in fact Techno is a "no way" to me .But after discovering this album , I feel totally refresh , refresh by the their fantastic rythmn. They give the 70 & 80's sound a new twist. A great album,. Moreover their videos are brilliant with cute little Japanese characters to make it looks spicy ,I mean spacey. Who would think of a sequence for a MTV! Only Daft Punk. I am waiting for their videos, so DP what are u waiting for! Expand
  56. JoleneC
    Sep 12, 2001
    10
    Simply the best! I never liked techno anyway, in fact Techno is a "no way" to me .But after discovering this album , I feel totally refresh , refresh by the their fantastic rythmn. They give the 70 & 80's sound a new twist. A great album,. Moreover their videos are brilliant with cute little Japanese characters to make it looks spicy ,I mean spacey. Who would think of a sequence for Simply the best! I never liked techno anyway, in fact Techno is a "no way" to me .But after discovering this album , I feel totally refresh , refresh by the their fantastic rythmn. They give the 70 & 80's sound a new twist. A great album,. Moreover their videos are brilliant with cute little Japanese characters to make it looks spicy ,I mean spacey. Who would think of a sequence for a MTV! Only Daft Punk. I am waiting for their videos, so DP what are u waiting for! Expand
  57. [Anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2001
    10
    this cd is great i love daft punk
  58. tintshwezayar
    Jan 21, 2002
    10
    It's great
  59. ChikitaBanana
    Feb 23, 2002
    10
    I absolutely love this album!!!!! Daft Punk is the greatest!
  60. NickC.
    Feb 27, 2002
    8
    Great "retro" album by France's finest electronic act. Cool 80s sounds and clear, crisp production makes this one of 2001's most significant releases.
  61. ChapT.
    Mar 12, 2002
    10
    Exelent album, the music is very alive.
  62. hans(PUNK)F
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    i love what they do with their voices in this album,this CD and homework R best albums ever
  63. ZamesG
    Dec 4, 2004
    8
    There are two types of people. People who like this CD, and people who don't. Good yes, but definatly not for everybody
  64. BenM
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    It the best cd ive heard in a while
  65. BillD
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    This album is excellent by itself, but if you are reading this I suggest to you to watch Interstella 5555, the anime movie with Daft Punk's Discovery album as its soundtrack. Genius!!
  66. LawrenceP
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Many moments of pure genius. "Digital Love" best pop song of 2000's.
  67. DanK
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    It is a great album, and it gets even better after watching Interstella 5555. But you either enjoy it, or you hate it.
  68. jink
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    best techno ever
  69. CharlesM
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    My first purchase of the techno gods and I was not disappointed in any aspect. This album delivers on so many levels, and really makes me feel like a kid that wants to dance whenever i hear this album.
  70. Rose
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    For the originality of the sound and quality of this immensely good house music this album has to offer, it has been greatly underrated by some critics less open to new ideas. A great album by the masterminds of house, go you!
  71. GCB
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Discovery is an album that can never date. It sounds like music that was made 20 years ago but somehow also sounds like music that will be made in 20 years time. How they can pull off being so blatantly cheesy yet so universally loved is a testament to the sheer brilliance of the songs. Its one of those few albums that comes along every couple of years in which every track is a new Discovery is an album that can never date. It sounds like music that was made 20 years ago but somehow also sounds like music that will be made in 20 years time. How they can pull off being so blatantly cheesy yet so universally loved is a testament to the sheer brilliance of the songs. Its one of those few albums that comes along every couple of years in which every track is a new adventure rather than just a filler. A Truly amazing record. Expand
  72. JTR
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    No doubt about it, an astonishing album that took watching Interstella 5555 to fully appreciate what an accomplishment this album really is, and what a disappointment Human after All really was.
  73. StevenW.
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the greatest albums ever made. Unbelievably beautiful from start to finish with songs to make you laugh, cry, and above all dance. Discovery is one of the few albums that is without flaws. It can be listened to countless times and never grow boring. An essential part to any music lover's collection.
  74. MichaelR.
    Nov 30, 2001
    10
    A masterpiece of animation and audio.Daft Punk kicks ass
  75. ScottR.
    Aug 18, 2001
    9
    its good
  76. GlennR.
    Sep 17, 2001
    9
    Although most of the content may be very, very 80's it still manages to pull through with some catchy tunes and general fun. Nothing like Homework, but worth it none the less.
  77. DonnellH.
    May 13, 2002
    10
    This is the greatest Cd ever! I love Daft Punk! Discovery rocks the cyber music world!!!
  78. IvanF.
    Jun 23, 2002
    10
    Work it harder, Make it better, Do it faster, Makes us stronger, More than ever, Hour after, Hour work is never over.
  79. IdemilsonJúnior
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    Fantastic !
  80. DavidD
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    What do critics know anyways????? They are just one persons opinion. Take a look at the people buying the cds opinion. Everyone thinks its a 9 or a ten, the public just cant be denied, and neither can Daft Punk. A brilliant Journey of an album, and one of my favourites of all time!
  81. omni
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    well it appears the critics know more than some fans on here who believe this to be a techno album. but in this case i would say they were wrong in their ratings. this was easily a top 5 album of 2001.
  82. JBone
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    A great album, almost a masterpiece. I've listened to this album many times and the production qualities, the songs, are revolutionary. The album slows down a bit on the second side which is why I've docked them a point but all in all a very important and enjoyable album.
  83. Biggles
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely no idea how a score as low as 73 can be justified. Anyway, just thought I'd bring the reviews to an even 100. And as you can tell by the user scores, the general consensus is that the critics really did mess up on this one. The only weak tracks here IMO are Nightvision and Short Circuit. All other tracks have their merits, from the futuristic hyperbole of Superheroes to Absolutely no idea how a score as low as 73 can be justified. Anyway, just thought I'd bring the reviews to an even 100. And as you can tell by the user scores, the general consensus is that the critics really did mess up on this one. The only weak tracks here IMO are Nightvision and Short Circuit. All other tracks have their merits, from the futuristic hyperbole of Superheroes to the laid-back groove of Voyager right to the unadulterated Prince-esque funk of Too Long. Absolutely stellar, and a 10 if ever I heard one. Expand
  84. AlexS
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is an incredible, the best of Daft Punk if you will...have listened to this from a young age and it still astounds me, "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" is still my favourite song of all time - the reviewer from the Onion must have been listening to Hannah Montana.
  85. KellyB.
    Nov 21, 2001
    9
    Although Daft Punk has pulled off a really great album, a few clinkers were inevitable. I find myself listening to the songs over and over, and I never tire of its electronic sound. Great Job!
  86. AmandaE.
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    I was hooked the first time I saw "One More Time" on MTV2. I wasn't the least-bit disappointed when I purchased and listened to the entire CD. I loved it! It surprised me when I saw the video and realized the character designs were done by Leiji Matsumoto. I'm a huge fan of Anime, and immediately recognized Matsumoto's work when I saw "One More Time". I kinda wish more I was hooked the first time I saw "One More Time" on MTV2. I wasn't the least-bit disappointed when I purchased and listened to the entire CD. I loved it! It surprised me when I saw the video and realized the character designs were done by Leiji Matsumoto. I'm a huge fan of Anime, and immediately recognized Matsumoto's work when I saw "One More Time". I kinda wish more artist's would have Anime music videos! It would be awesome if there was a music video using the character designs from Sailor Moon! *blushes* Expand
  87. HaoS
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This album has to be watched, not listened, I mean, the music video of this album(Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem) can become a damn classic musical movie as Pink floyd's THE WALL
  88. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    I'm not a fan of the house or electronica genre but Daft Punk is an exception as they completely take their unique style to a new level with this album. Probably one of the most involving and captivating albums I have heard since Dark Side of the Moon. Yes, DARK SIDE. I actually compared this with Dark Side. Why? Because they are both concepts that I completely got immersed into. DiscoveryI'm not a fan of the house or electronica genre but Daft Punk is an exception as they completely take their unique style to a new level with this album. Probably one of the most involving and captivating albums I have heard since Dark Side of the Moon. Yes, DARK SIDE. I actually compared this with Dark Side. Why? Because they are both concepts that I completely got immersed into. Discovery has an endless variety of surprises, undeniable charm and neverending emotions. A must buy. Expand
  89. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    The many intricate and complex songs of Daft Punk's masterpiece "Discovery" are extraordinary. Full of catchy, melodic hooks such as that in "One More Time" and "Verdis Quo". Even "Too Long" is actually too short. Futuristic, ahead-of-its-time, innovative classic.
  90. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    To me this is one of the great albums of all time, on par with the Beatles' albums. The movie is also stunningly creative, a real gem for the entertainment industry.
  91. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    "Discovery" is such a refreshing and innovative album. Their is so much creativity in it. It sounds completely different from their first album "Homework". "Aerodynamic" has one of the greatest guitar solos I've ever heard, "One More Time" makes you wanna get up and just dance, and "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" is just a magnificent song. But then other songs such as "Nightvisions" is"Discovery" is such a refreshing and innovative album. Their is so much creativity in it. It sounds completely different from their first album "Homework". "Aerodynamic" has one of the greatest guitar solos I've ever heard, "One More Time" makes you wanna get up and just dance, and "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" is just a magnificent song. But then other songs such as "Nightvisions" is basically looking at Daft Punk at another angle, so to speak. It shows another side of them that were not used to from their first album. And that's definitely a good thing. All In All, "Discovery" by Daft Punk is an innovative and original album that I can proudly say is one of my favorites. A- Expand
  92. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Es un buen disco, con canciones muy buenas y la musica esta muy bien. La letra de las canciones aunque en español suenen ridiculas en ingles suenan muy bien.
    Solo tengo un palabra para este disco: Perfecto.
  93. May 8, 2012
    10
    Sincerely, this is a great, great album. I don't listen this type of music, I like rock and metal, but this album it's so... powerful. This album introduced me into the house music, and deserves a 10.
  94. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    An amazing album. Really great dance music, but you can still listen to it casually. The album may feel just a little repetitive, but honestly, I don't think you'll mind.
  95. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest electronic album's of all time and will be remembered as such. Perfectly captures the emotion and tone of childhood and youth, my first experience with Electronic music and I feel unbelievably lucky to have lived through such an amazing piece of Art.
  96. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    This, my friends, is musical perfection. Everything about this album is perfect. The individual tracks are amazing, and what makes Discovery even greater is that every track has its place. This makes it especially great to listen to the album as a whole. You need to have heard this album. Trust me when I say it doesn't get much better than this.
  97. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Fantastic Album and magnificent movie (Interstella 5555), I recommend them to everyone, even if you don't like electronic music!
    In the album there are many catchy songs and even touching ones, a really good album overall!
  98. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    An absolutely outstanding album , the best electronic artists of all time.Cosmic , happy and beautiful , you cant not like this album.Possibly the best album of the 21st century
  99. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Amazing, Best dance album ever! Completly fresh and pioneers of the french house genre of music, and does not sound cheesy or bloated at any point.

    Highly recommended for any fan of electronic music, or anybody who loves good music in general
  100. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing! It is the best of Daft Punk. All tracks are awesome, especially Aerodynamic, Harder Better Faster Stronger, and Digital Love. Absolutely buy it!
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  3. Not enough of this album delivers on the promise of [lead single] "One More Time."