• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Tunstall has never sounded better, and the Sheryl Crow riffs and mid-tempo chick rock of 'If Only' and 'Little Favours' serve her well.
  2. 60
    The follow-up proves Tunstall is no fluke.... but it also maks clear that Tunstall's glaring faults--dull lyrics filled with pedestrian phrases--aren't fleeting, either. [Oct 2007, p.112]
  3. Tunstall's third album is far less gritty than her first album.
  4. The more introspective moments show songwriting potential that's worth getting excited about, but at times the disc coasts along too comfortably to be truly remarkable.
  5. While there's nothing on Drastic Fantastic to spook the horses, neither is it an obvious rerun of its predecessor. [October 2007, p.90]
  6. Drastic Fantastic's airy guitar pop--not to mention Tunstall's muted rasp--feels more technically proficient than passionate. [21 Sep 2007, p.81]
  7. Tunstall tries hard to stand out with moments of guitar fuzz and lyrics that occasionally border on clever, but Drastic is ultimately little more than pleasant background noise.
  8. 40
    It's a shame Drastic Fantastic disappoints. [Oct 2007, p.92]
  9. Her debut had some killer pop singles like 'Black Horse And The Cherry Tree', but on Drastic Fantastic her talent and quirks have been mostly hidden under a gloss of studio production and bland AOR.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. BD
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Fantastic
  2. DPR
    Nov 28, 2010
    8
    While not as good as Eye To The Telescope or Tiger Suit, in my opinion, Drastic Fantastic's a really good album. Hold and Saving My Face areWhile not as good as Eye To The Telescope or Tiger Suit, in my opinion, Drastic Fantastic's a really good album. Hold and Saving My Face are as top notch songs. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    An amazingly flawless album; although I personally didn't like the slower sounds of "Beauty of Uncertainty" and "Paper Aeroplane", they wereAn amazingly flawless album; although I personally didn't like the slower sounds of "Beauty of Uncertainty" and "Paper Aeroplane", they were still very good songs.
    Highlights include (but are not limited to) If Only, Funnyman, Hold On, Hopeless, I Don't Want You Now and Saving My Face. As you can tell, thats 6 songs. Half the album. The entire album is a masterpiece. It is rare that me, as a Metacritic user, often gets to use those words positively. Most of the album is high up on my iTunes Top 25 most played list, from my library of over 2,000. KT is a brilliantly talented singer and musician, and I'm dying to hear her 3rd album, coming out in September of this year (2010, for when 2011 comes around).
    9/10. Why? Because I just feel, ever so slightly at the back of my mind that songs like White Bird could have had an extra added layer of power. However, I only knock 1 mark off for this, because it matters so little; the songs are all still amazing. A must- have.
    Full Review »