Dye It Blonde

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    May 18, 2011
    60
    The remainder unfurls in similar fashion: laudably spirited, often astoundingly catchy and entirely indebted to the past. [Jun 2011, p.101]
  2. Uncut
    May 13, 2011
    60
    Elsewhere the good time roll with tuneful consistency as singer Cameron Omori arranges his affairs of the heart into three-minute teen-dreams called "Dance Away" and "Fallen In Love." [Jun 2011, p.96]
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    Dye It Blonde may be a more accomplished production than Smith Westerns, but it's also a roundly enervating creation, drained of the fuzzy promise that defined the band's debut.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    Total step up in production from the debut. They cleaned things up and actually wrote some awesomely memorable songs. If you like rock, youTotal step up in production from the debut. They cleaned things up and actually wrote some awesomely memorable songs. If you like rock, you should like this. You can easily see the T Rex and brit pop influence in the record. 10 love songs that fly by in a flash, whats not to love... Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Never have I heard such a rock album with such value, such soul. Must be listened to front to back in one sitting to fully comprehend the rawNever have I heard such a rock album with such value, such soul. Must be listened to front to back in one sitting to fully comprehend the raw emotive and musical passion within. Full Review »
  3. j30
    Apr 23, 2012
    5
    After hearing Weekend and reading some of the review on Metacritic I thought I'd give Dye It Blonde by the Smith Westerns a try. The resultAfter hearing Weekend and reading some of the review on Metacritic I thought I'd give Dye It Blonde by the Smith Westerns a try. The result felt unsatisfying as hearing some the songs I've heard from Real Estate. The lyrics are catchy, while the music is pretty bland for me. I really wanted to like it, but it's pretty forgettable stuff. Full Review »