Eat Me, Drink Me

  • Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 123
  2. Negative: 20 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. stephaniee
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    I am completely disappointed with this album. It's not bad music, but it's too mainstream. It doesn't sound even close to anything else Manson has released. I think he's becoming soft.
  2. ToddW.
    Aug 1, 2007
    5
    Brian, I know there's an intelligent, Earth-shattering album in you somewhere. Sadly, this isn't it. You proven yourself a brilliant and incisive mind with your comments in wake of the Columbine massacre, which our sick culture tried to lay at your doorstep. Just please get beyond the tired shock value and wasting your time concentrating on how you look; it reflects itself Brian, I know there's an intelligent, Earth-shattering album in you somewhere. Sadly, this isn't it. You proven yourself a brilliant and incisive mind with your comments in wake of the Columbine massacre, which our sick culture tried to lay at your doorstep. Just please get beyond the tired shock value and wasting your time concentrating on how you look; it reflects itself negatively in your music, and you should be above that by now. It's way past being a one-trick pony. The stable is full. Give us something to finally show the masses that they have been wrong in their judgment of you. Expand
  3. WilliamB
    Jul 22, 2007
    4
    Only three good songs. What happened?
  4. BobB.
    Jun 12, 2007
    5
    What in god's name are you doing reviewing music you have no critical basis in, Evan B? Did you even listen to the album. Sure, this is derivative, not nearly as good as his other stuff, but Marilyn Manson is a much better role-model than most of our politicians. His glam/goth shtick is just a costume, the man's very intelligent (and capable of a better album). Do a little What in god's name are you doing reviewing music you have no critical basis in, Evan B? Did you even listen to the album. Sure, this is derivative, not nearly as good as his other stuff, but Marilyn Manson is a much better role-model than most of our politicians. His glam/goth shtick is just a costume, the man's very intelligent (and capable of a better album). Do a little research before slapping a 0 on something that you think might possibly be offensive because it looks similar to something you thought hinted at bad morals. Expand
  5. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    5
    Pretty poor in comparison with his earlier work. "Heart Shaped Glasses" is decent enough, but on the whole, the album feels devoid of originality or passion.
  6. JohnS
    Jun 12, 2007
    6
    I really want to like this album. I have listened to it about a dozen times and do not like it anymore than the first time I heard it. I have every one of Manson's Albums and this one is the most disappointing. Every single song on here is about love or some crap like, and most are not very catchy.
  7. Sep 26, 2010
    6
    Your enjoyment of Eat Me, Drink Me will largely depend on what you thought of Manson's 2003 release, The Golden Age Of Grotesque. EM,DM is somewhat mellower and has an almost experimental feel to it, in essence this album shows Marilyn Manson struggling to find some much needed direction and maturity. Unlike The Golden Age EM,DM isn't out to offend, nor is it trying to target his familiarYour enjoyment of Eat Me, Drink Me will largely depend on what you thought of Manson's 2003 release, The Golden Age Of Grotesque. EM,DM is somewhat mellower and has an almost experimental feel to it, in essence this album shows Marilyn Manson struggling to find some much needed direction and maturity. Unlike The Golden Age EM,DM isn't out to offend, nor is it trying to target his familiar angry teenager audience, lyrically speaking most of it is superior to his previous release. Musically speaking it isn't nearly as catchy as The Golden Age but it feel like he's finally making the music he wants to make rather then trying to appeal to the age bracket that made him famous in the 90s. Older Manson fans will likely get the most out of this album but even then this material is artistically transitional in nature and won't appeal to everyone. Approach it with an open mind though and you just might find yourself pleasantry surprised. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Forget what you know about this guy and it'll come off like a decent, and rather efficient, little goth-pop record.
  2. There's nothing quite as immediate or fantastic as 'Disposable Teens' here, but the album on the whole is a triumph.
  3. The songs and Ziggy guitar solos are more accessible than usual. Manson can croak like an undead, but can't sing to save his life.