• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 25, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 125

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Felix
    Dec 8, 2007
    5
    Mediocre album; even worse than In Your Honor.
  2. SteveJ
    Oct 29, 2007
    5
    Decidedly average. If it wasn't Dave Grohl singing and the Foo Fighters playing, you wouldn't listen to half the tracks on this derivative and disappointing album. Looks like they'll never best The Colour And The Shape...
  3. TimL.
    Oct 6, 2007
    6
    Wow, everyone on here constantly chooses extremes. The album is leagues ahead of "In Your Honor" however Leagues behind "one by one" However, I, unlike every other foo fighters fan on here, am not a purist. I am willing to listen to "change" as the others aren't apparantly. Am I the only 1 who finds it sickening the whole "sell out" thing. Come on, they are trying to something Wow, everyone on here constantly chooses extremes. The album is leagues ahead of "In Your Honor" however Leagues behind "one by one" However, I, unlike every other foo fighters fan on here, am not a purist. I am willing to listen to "change" as the others aren't apparantly. Am I the only 1 who finds it sickening the whole "sell out" thing. Come on, they are trying to something different, and you should be happy and proud that a band you like are trying to expand their musical range other then putting out the same album out time and time again. See thats what you guys want, another one by one, I want something different, and thats what I got. Expand
  4. EricC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    4
    When I read the Entertainment Weekly review, I was reminded of a quote from Garden State; "Kick it in the balls". You see, this is what you do to a dog when it keeps humping your leg. The Foo Fighters could use this advice to get EW off their leg. Of course, then their only die hard supporters would be gone. Seriously, though, does anyone take these guys seriously any more? We thought When I read the Entertainment Weekly review, I was reminded of a quote from Garden State; "Kick it in the balls". You see, this is what you do to a dog when it keeps humping your leg. The Foo Fighters could use this advice to get EW off their leg. Of course, then their only die hard supporters would be gone. Seriously, though, does anyone take these guys seriously any more? We thought this kind of rock was good in the 90s, then we realized that in reality it was the blandest nonsense since New Coke. And now these guys are trying to make music exactly the same as their 90s stuff. It boggles my mind. And if your still think that EW is right and everyone else is wrong, these guys are also strong supporters of Nickleback. Yeah... Expand
  5. Mislav
    Nov 2, 2007
    6
    The sad truth is that the majority of the album doesn't come close to the first two tracks in power.
  6. JasonL.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Seriously sick of Dave Grohl. The whole act has become stale, especially with all the seriousness of becoming 'real' musicians. Dave, you should have finished foo's at album 3 and then you could have only wrecked your solo career with this pretentious/trite slop. YES, I don't care about the miners down the well. We have heard enough about them. SO STOP writing Seriously sick of Dave Grohl. The whole act has become stale, especially with all the seriousness of becoming 'real' musicians. Dave, you should have finished foo's at album 3 and then you could have only wrecked your solo career with this pretentious/trite slop. YES, I don't care about the miners down the well. We have heard enough about them. SO STOP writing instrumentals dedicated to them. Listening to this music is liked being locked in a small room with nothing but monkey wrench playing for a week. It makes me want to hurt myself. I Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    5
    I want to like the Foo Fighters cos when they write a good song, I am right into it, and when they play live, I am right there with them, but for some reasonthere seems a whole lot of filler here that really could have been culled, but I guess that can be said for the majoriy of the Foos releases.
  8. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Echoes feels, in retrospect, a bit of a step backwards for Foo Fighters after the better In Your Honor. This time, the acoustic songs don't match the melodic beauty of "Miracle" and instead just end up being background/supermarket music. Rock-wise, the album too misses the mark "The Pretender" is just like "One By One" in that it tries to change the laws of physics, but overproductionEchoes feels, in retrospect, a bit of a step backwards for Foo Fighters after the better In Your Honor. This time, the acoustic songs don't match the melodic beauty of "Miracle" and instead just end up being background/supermarket music. Rock-wise, the album too misses the mark "The Pretender" is just like "One By One" in that it tries to change the laws of physics, but overproduction stilts the song. "Long Road To Ruin" performs the "Times Like These" role well though, as a tuneful guitar ditty that is easy to enjoy. Again, overall the band sounds too slick and restricted by the studio songs like "Erase/Replace" probably sound a lot more energetic live. As an album band though? Pass on them, sorry. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 80
    It's charming, understated and has to be heard in context. [Oct 2007, p.100]
  2. By and large this is as consistent a record as the Foo Fighters have ever made.
  3. They're sounding less and less relatable, leaving us pining not just for the days of a little grunge trio from Seattle, but for the relentlessly catchy and charismatic Dave Grohl of the Foos' still-fantastic self-titled debut and the better half of "The Colour and the Shape."