E=MC2

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 198

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    She recycled her previous album... again. Just no.
  2. JohnnyR.
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    I could not be any more disappointed!!! I was so bored by the whole thing. Migrate gave me a migraine! It's trying hard to be "Emancipation" but it's really mediocre-annoying-diva at best.
  3. MaxP.
    Apr 15, 2008
    2
    This album is extremely bad. Though I have only heard a few songs off of this record I can tell you that it is another contrived piece of garbage put out by the failing American music industry. Pathetic, Unoriginal and terribly over produced. You want something better than this? Try almost anything else.
  4. ElvisP.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    Excrement = Mariah Carey's music 2.
  5. LuciaS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    My god...I wasted 20 Euros on this garbage..can i sue mariah or someone for this??
  6. tres
    Apr 25, 2008
    0
    THE DEATH OF THE VOICE.
  7. anonymous
    Jul 9, 2008
    1
    Big No!!!! No!!!!!! Album, I'm realy not enjoy hear this album.
  8. Diane
    Apr 15, 2008
    3
    When will Mariah do something original? As a longtime fan I keep waiting for her to stretch herself artistically, but all she seems to worry about is hitting #1. Congrats to her for beating Elvis. Sadly, they song, like the album, is completely forgettable.
  9. AlexF
    Apr 17, 2008
    2
    Her best album!!!
  10. KarloV.
    Apr 19, 2008
    1
    This album is a complete bore! Not even worth the download!
  11. JonasH.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    I'm getting tired of hearing this music everywhere, not to mention disgusted by her use of a relativity theory equation without knowing what it means. I laughed out loud when hearing her explain the title "It's like E = Mariah Carey times 2". It should be illegal to abuse mathematical expressions when you don't understand the operators.
  12. pg
    Apr 23, 2008
    1
    quite boring. a nice voice that's always wasted on such 'blah' songs.... the only highlight track is 'i'll be loving you long time' and that is mostly because of the beat and back-up singers.
  13. FlowersS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    This is the biggest disappointment of the year...before the album leaked and after hearing that mediocrity that is Touch My Body and watching her hideous performances of Migrate and That Chick on various shows i was very unsure if I was going to download this. Anyway I did and I regret it: it's a shame that such a big star cannot put out something original, inspiring and more This is the biggest disappointment of the year...before the album leaked and after hearing that mediocrity that is Touch My Body and watching her hideous performances of Migrate and That Chick on various shows i was very unsure if I was going to download this. Anyway I did and I regret it: it's a shame that such a big star cannot put out something original, inspiring and more appropriate to her age. This album is not bad. It's average, which is even worse. Collapse
  14. DannyN.
    Apr 24, 2008
    1
    Given Mariah's standards, this is simply bad. Very disappointed. It's disturbing listening to a 40 year-old singing about touching her body and so on..will she ever grow??
  15. LinaB.
    Apr 24, 2008
    1
    Very very bad. Not buying this.
  16. IvanC.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    Every track in this album sounds like a recycled track from her previous album. This album is simply bland and boring.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. The production is glossed to within an inch of its life, the mood is cheerfully upbeat--or 'festive' as Carey might put it herself--and the entire confection rings out with bold, sassy, brutally executed intent.
  3. Nearly every song confines Carey to four-note verses, offering little room for her glorious range, and the six ballads are drenched in yearbook-quote lyrics that never quite work themselves into the froth of "The Emancipation of Mimi."