Encore

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 478

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyB
    Mar 8, 2005
    3
    Wow, what was so good went so wrong. Em, this CD is horrible. Lyrical content and effort sound as if they were written by a 4th grader. The beats on this album suck too. Its a shame that one of the best lyricists of our time puts out crap like this and hurts his legacy. I listened to this crap only once and have not listened to it again. Its sad, but I think the 3 bonus tracks are the Wow, what was so good went so wrong. Em, this CD is horrible. Lyrical content and effort sound as if they were written by a 4th grader. The beats on this album suck too. Its a shame that one of the best lyricists of our time puts out crap like this and hurts his legacy. I listened to this crap only once and have not listened to it again. Its sad, but I think the 3 bonus tracks are the only good part of this album. All the recent CD's After math has released have been garbage except Game's CD. Don't believe me that Em's lyrics on this album are weak, take a look for yourself: BRAIN DAMAGE (Slim Shady LP) These are the results of a thousand electric volts A neck with bolts, "Nurse we're losin him, check the pulse!" A kid who refused to respect adults Wore spectacles with taped frames and a freckled nose A corny lookin white boy, scrawny and always ornery Cause I was always sick of brawny bullies pickin on me And I might snap, one day just like that I decided to strike back and flatten every tire on the bike rack (Whosssssh) My first day in junior high, this kid said, "It's you and I, three o'clock sharp this afternoon you die" I looked at my watch it was one twenty "I already gave you my lunch money what more do you want from me?!?" He said, "Don't try to run from me, you'll just make it worse..." My palms were sweaty, and I started to shake at first Something told me, "Try to fake a stomach ache it works" I screamed, "Owww! My appendix feels like they could burst! Teacher, teacher, quick I need a naked nurse!" [N] "What's the matter?" [E] "I don't know, my leg, it hurts!" [N] "Leg?!? I thought you said it was your tummy?!?" [E] "Oh, I mean it is, but I also got a bum knee!" [N] "Mr. Mathers, the fun and games are over. And just for that stunt, you're gonna get some extra homework." [E] "But don't you wanna give me after school detention?" [N] "Nah, that bully wants to beat your ass and I'ma let him." BIG WEENIE (Encore) Alright listen, I need you to focus I need you to go dig deep in your mind, this is important We are going to perform an experiment of the sorts I'm going to have to ask you to bear with me for a moment Now I need you to open your mind-your eyes close them You are now about to be placed under my hypnosis For the next four and a half minutes We are going to explore into your mind To find out why you're so fuckin' jealous Now why did they make Yoo-Hoo? Hippity ga-ga boo-boo Psych, I'm kidding I just wanted to see if you're still listenin' Ok, now I need your undivided attention Sir I have a question Why do I always sense this undeniable tension From the moment that I enter into the room It gets all quiet and whispers Whenever theres conversation, why am I always mentioned? I've been dying to ask, it's been itchin' at me Is it just because If you can honestly tell me that the Encore lyrics are as good as the Slim Shady LP lyrics, you do not deserve to listen to hip-hop. Nuff said. Expand
  2. HalieyMeta
    Nov 20, 2004
    0
    Why does this exist? BORING
  3. MCReyes
    Dec 7, 2004
    0
    One of the greatest lyricists of all time has officially turned himself into the single worst lyricist of all time. Encore is the perfect example of an extrodinary artist gone bad due to wanting to fit in with fellow rappers and following their trends. This album is absolute garbage.
  4. garyl
    Dec 7, 2004
    3
    this is not that great
  5. JJ
    Feb 6, 2005
    0
    poor
  6. BrendaH
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    I would rather listen to my maths teacher!
  7. LiefS.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    Anybody who gave this album above a 3 should stop listening to rap, ur just messing up what albums sales should really be like and are the reason real hip hop is dead, there is not 1 song on this album worth listening to, he should never make a form of music again.
  8. RyanC
    Nov 12, 2004
    3
    Encore is the perfect title for this album, because it is more of the same old stuff. Nothing new, nothing original, just the same schtick. And while that was good enough back then, it's just growing old now. I mean, the lyrics "You make my peepee go da-doing-doing-doing?" back to the drawing board, em.
  9. DaveA
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    this album sucks once again he uses other people's ideas eminem show in contrast to the shaggy show(ICP)??this time he rips off of a rapper Jay-Z i didnt like Jay-Z but after hearing this CD i would rather listen to him or Ja Rule at least Ja Rule is consistent with his bullshit
  10. MarshallM
    Nov 13, 2004
    0
    FACT: Horrendous Never dreamed in a million years that an Eminem would sound as bad as this....
  11. TomVerlaine
    Nov 15, 2004
    2
    "Just Lose It" is hideous. It's just hideous, and the rest of the songs on the album are a bit like his other albums if those albums were worse. Politics is tackled with that loveable hip-hop naivete, making sure to say nothing that isn't painfully obvious and not even attempting to convert Bush supporters. But the single? These are chosen in order to represent the more "Just Lose It" is hideous. It's just hideous, and the rest of the songs on the album are a bit like his other albums if those albums were worse. Politics is tackled with that loveable hip-hop naivete, making sure to say nothing that isn't painfully obvious and not even attempting to convert Bush supporters. But the single? These are chosen in order to represent the more palatable aspects of an unreleased album, and "Just Lose It" could not possibly be any worse. The beat sounds like the looped background music you'll hear while visiting a boring website, and the skills? Who'd know Em HAD skills to hear this garbage? The songs is an embarrassment, and wouldn't excite controversy if broadcast on the Disney Channel. And for my money, Tanner W. may be the biggest idiot who ever lived. Expand
  12. JohnB
    Nov 16, 2004
    2
    the cd was boing it was all crap he should go back to what made him famaus in the first place
  13. Scout*
    Nov 26, 2004
    0
    Since when is a white guy dressing up like Madonna and Michael Jackson considered rap. Its nothing but rhyming words mixed in with the most annoying sound I have ever heard. Why was this made? What idiot actually allowed this to be made? I can't wait for the day when some new rapper comes around and makes Eminem the focus of his parodies. That will be funny.
  14. AndrewC
    Jan 13, 2005
    3
    Clearly not his best work and it shows through more than half the songs. Encore got a lot of hype and it really didnt deliver the punch Em usually brings. I threw my downloaded copy away. It shows he put more time into his 2pac (yet another rebirth) album than his own and the 2pac album isnt even that great using such artist as Obie Trice and D-12. Enough is enough, stop the 2pac albums already.
  15. EmmaD
    Jan 28, 2005
    3
    Most songs may not make any sense to some people but it sounds as though he threw it all together lazily. Whats with the Feats in the soungs such as Obie Trice and D12 ?
  16. JonD
    Jan 5, 2005
    0
    When an artist resorts to scatological humor and parodying parodies of the 80's in order to sell a record, it is time for him to die. Eminem's time to die came a long time ago, in my opinion, when he his major themes were bitching and homophobia. This album cinches it. Everything you hated about Eminem is back, and anything you might have tolerated has flown away. I give it a When an artist resorts to scatological humor and parodying parodies of the 80's in order to sell a record, it is time for him to die. Eminem's time to die came a long time ago, in my opinion, when he his major themes were bitching and homophobia. This album cinches it. Everything you hated about Eminem is back, and anything you might have tolerated has flown away. I give it a trillionth of a point, though, because the opening part of "Just Lose It" is catchy. Expand
  17. LaurenceS
    Oct 15, 2006
    3
    Eminems encore is an example of half horribly bad songs and great songs this is a grab for money all the way cheese on toy soldiers and horribly terrible song just lose it which is wanting to be my name is,without me and real slim but fails.Songs that shone on the album where Encore,Mosh and mocking bird which is sometimes looked at as chesse but it is eminems most mature song on the Eminems encore is an example of half horribly bad songs and great songs this is a grab for money all the way cheese on toy soldiers and horribly terrible song just lose it which is wanting to be my name is,without me and real slim but fails.Songs that shone on the album where Encore,Mosh and mocking bird which is sometimes looked at as chesse but it is eminems most mature song on the album the songs that i hope burn and die are my first single,puke,big weenie,JUST LOSE IT so if ur a big em fan and u buy this be in for a nice big SHOCK as its nothing like any other of his albums Expand
  18. AlanR
    Nov 16, 2004
    0
    This is the same CD he's already released 3 times.
  19. ChrisC
    Jun 10, 2005
    1
    Garbage...pure garbage...those songs about his kid suck, those songs about asses suck worse.
  20. JoeT
    Jul 15, 2005
    0
    horrible, jus pure garbage, jus like 2 good songs on it, WTF EMINEM STEP UP YOUR RAP GAME
  21. NelsonC
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    OH MY GOD--WORST album of all time this is SO SO SO crap--please do not buy this album-believe me! We as music buyers should not put up with this total mess of an album, its really and I MEAN REALLY BAD never thought in my life time that Eminem would bring out such a bad album. Really dissapointed...
  22. carlj
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    dont bother listening or even thinking about buy this mess of an album.
  23. RobertT
    Nov 12, 2004
    3
    I listened to it.... and I listened again.. and again. But most of the tracks are really boring. It took me by surprise, but the new Eminem album is a real disaster. It lacks originality, catchiness and some uptempo tracks. What a shame.
  24. KatieP
    Nov 13, 2004
    3
    Where's the Eminem we used to know? The eminem who'd put time into every track? The eminem who once called himself a "perfectionist"? The only good songs are Puke, Mockingbird and Crazy in Love. Don't waste your money. This CD is a disgrace.
  25. Jay
    Nov 14, 2004
    0
    It's far and away Eminem's worst studio effort to date, but that probably isn't going to dissuade his more passionate fans. Surely this album will sell a few million copies, but at the cost of what? He could have upgraded the Slim Shady persona to fit his thirties, and make a truly classic album, but he tried to bring back the past, making for a sub-par release.
  26. MCToxic8
    Nov 15, 2004
    0
    Oh man! I hate it when people ur not a real Eminem fan if you dont like this BUT I can see the truth and see it for wot its worth---REAL BAD MUSIC. I'm not a hater I love all ems work but this.......
  27. kmmarasco
    Nov 15, 2004
    2
    ugh. that's all. ugh. uninspired, sophomoric, and fails to push the envelope anywhere near the edge. maybe three decent tracks on this whole album, and the dr.dre produced beats sound monotonous and drab. makes a great coaster for your ice cold beverage.
  28. ShabarO
    Nov 16, 2004
    1
    This is laughable. From being the white bloke on the block rapping through somptous DRE production to being a mere Weird Al Jankovic wannabe. What a fall.!This is shameful. Still confused on why DRE has followed this laughable exercise. The first 3 albums are in my collection this one belongs to my garbage bin. 1 for hoping that he actually just wanted to see how many idiots are out This is laughable. From being the white bloke on the block rapping through somptous DRE production to being a mere Weird Al Jankovic wannabe. What a fall.!This is shameful. Still confused on why DRE has followed this laughable exercise. The first 3 albums are in my collection this one belongs to my garbage bin. 1 for hoping that he actually just wanted to see how many idiots are out there.....slim shady is dead. Expand
  29. BobbyB
    Nov 18, 2004
    0
    I was very disappointed with this album, the songs are utter garbage. He has turned into a real life Ali G
  30. BobDole
    Nov 18, 2004
    3
    i lisned to ems ne cd and was not impressed, i listened hes last cd and it was a 1000 times better then encore so he better get his fucking shit together and start puting out songs that i can stand to listin to more then once
  31. MarshallMathers
    Nov 19, 2004
    0
    You make my peepee go di-doing doing!
  32. StevenT
    Nov 26, 2004
    2
    Eminem's primary appeal has always been to teen girls who believe he is cute and teen boys who think he is boss gangsta. Em still has the looks, but his once cutting edge rhymes are now tired, weak fare compared to his contemporaries.
  33. OmarF
    Dec 13, 2004
    0
    Too bad to believe that this is real....
  34. DuncanB
    Mar 31, 2005
    2
    What surprises me the most is the fact that people liked this album. Eminem is an awesome MC and I have loved everything he released prior to this, even the first D-12 record. This, though, was a complete waste of my hard-earned money. The only saving grace was the bonus CD as the album itself has about 3 songs worth listening to more than once. I'll admit, even the ridiculous What surprises me the most is the fact that people liked this album. Eminem is an awesome MC and I have loved everything he released prior to this, even the first D-12 record. This, though, was a complete waste of my hard-earned money. The only saving grace was the bonus CD as the album itself has about 3 songs worth listening to more than once. I'll admit, even the ridiculous 'Puke' and 'Ass Like That' made me laugh the first time around, but like any joke, the effect wears off rather quickly and it becomes glaringly obvious that they were just crap. Also, Eminem's shock value has run out. He has said so many disgusting / immature / shocking things in the past that it has completely lost its effect. I've also come to expect a little childishness and vulgarity from him and wouldn't usually mind, but it seems to be the main focal point of this lyrically sparse, attention-seeking, abomination which in my opinion will mar his formerly untouchable reputation forever. I just hope the next album will be a return to seriousness for everyone's favourite white boy, as this is often where he shines. Expand
  35. jenaR
    Aug 18, 2005
    1
    Sadly the most dissapointing rap album of the past few years. Em has completely let himself go, both in creativity and in beats, and it shows.
  36. AndreY
    Nov 13, 2004
    0
    Honestly its only the so called hardcore 'real' fans that cannot accept that this album is pure garbage. Look at all the reviews its really is THAT bad!
  37. MarkV
    Nov 17, 2004
    1
    I'm very dissappointed in this cd. I was a huge fan. I could have downloaded the cd , but I chose not to , because I wanted to support my favorite artist. I thought it might be around the same quality of Eminem show , but I was dead wrong. I figured out why. He has nothing to wrap about anymore. It's all nonesense now. He said what he had to. He could have gone out on top. I'm very dissappointed in this cd. I was a huge fan. I could have downloaded the cd , but I chose not to , because I wanted to support my favorite artist. I thought it might be around the same quality of Eminem show , but I was dead wrong. I figured out why. He has nothing to wrap about anymore. It's all nonesense now. He said what he had to. He could have gone out on top. Instead, he will go out sounding ridiculous. By the way, the new D-12 cd sucks ass too. Expand
  38. AustinZ
    Nov 24, 2004
    3
    this cd was horrible did em decide to take an album off my mother could of came up with this crap
  39. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Worst songs from the worst rapper! I can't even call him a "musician" because his songs are like poems with beats! His vocal range is small and his lyrics are disrespectful to many celebrities like Elvis Presley,Michael Jackson,Mariah Carrey,Christina Aguilera and a lot more. If you like to listen to troll who can't sing then i recommend this album.
  40. Feb 24, 2016
    2
    i found myself skipping a lot of songs due to the poor production, and awful lyrical content on some songs. there are a few songs that pretty good. but some songs on here shouldnt be on the same album with others, not sure what eminem was thinking about this one. im a big fan of him but this one just doesnt have my interest.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. "Encore" is almost willfully uneven: it includes some of the most exhilarating songs Eminem has ever recorded, alongside some of the most inert. [15 Nov 2004]
  2. For the most part, Encore's strained, vaguely sad, regressive wackiness makes a lucid and compelling argument that Eminem should retire Slim Shady and let the real, serious Marshall Mathers stand up and be heard.
  3. Encore is a fourth fascinating record from Eminem, but it's also easily his weakest and, in many ways, tamest album to date.