Encore

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 475 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 475

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinS
    Jun 19, 2006
    5
    Eminem was pretty good. 50 Cent, however, stunk up the joint. This album was pretty spotty, sans a few songs. Just my opinion, though, as it probably is in the minority.
  2. EdwardH
    Sep 11, 2007
    5
    Man I'm all even of diz album by Em it haz bad songz but it has a few dat stand out. Like "Monkingbird" and "Toy Soldiers" Koz I'm a sucka for dat reel pheelin' songz y'all know dat 4 reel! But hopefully he comez bak wit sumthin' special lata on wheneva his ready 2 drop a hit album again. I'll come bak as a fan when he makes an awesome ass album again like Man I'm all even of diz album by Em it haz bad songz but it has a few dat stand out. Like "Monkingbird" and "Toy Soldiers" Koz I'm a sucka for dat reel pheelin' songz y'all know dat 4 reel! But hopefully he comez bak wit sumthin' special lata on wheneva his ready 2 drop a hit album again. I'll come bak as a fan when he makes an awesome ass album again like tha Awesome Eminem Show. But till den I'm undeceive on Em at tha moment. Expand
  3. BitBurn
    Nov 15, 2004
    5
    All this guy does is bitch bitch bitch and once again "Encore" is all about some more bitchin'!! This time it's annoying though. Same ol' recipe. EM is running out of inspiration and he's tired. However, production is very good and and make sure you have a good pair of sub-woofer ;-)
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    5
    Encore is a dichotomous album. It is half rap and half pop. Half of the tracks on the album are strong, and half of the tracks are weak. Half of the songs are serious and half of the songs seem like they were written by a 12 year old. After three successful studio albums, Eminem had room to be complacent. There are profound songs which dig deep into Eminem's personal life and giveEncore is a dichotomous album. It is half rap and half pop. Half of the tracks on the album are strong, and half of the tracks are weak. Half of the songs are serious and half of the songs seem like they were written by a 12 year old. After three successful studio albums, Eminem had room to be complacent. There are profound songs which dig deep into Eminem's personal life and give great insight on what it is like to be in Eminem's position: Mockingbird, Like Toy Soldiers, and Yellow Brick Road. The bonus tracks, We As Americans and I Love You More, are also among the best tracks of the album. He explores his childhood of being a white person in a predominant black neighborhood, his love experiences after his divorce with Kim, his relationship with his daughters, his political views on the Bush Administration, and his involvement in the feuds of the hiphop industry. Other songs such as Puke, Crazy In Love, Just Lose It, and Evil Deeds are certainly much closer to pop than the hardcore rap he was known for, but they are still catchy and fun to listen to. This album has very strong production values, some coming from Dr. Dre, though some of the greatest beats Eminem used were wasted on terrible lyrics, which seem to have been scribbled down with little thought to them and they were just stringed together with words that rhymed with each other. A prime example: "Why do they make Yoo Hoo / Kikkity ka ka poo poo". Eminem in this album was unable to distinguish funny from silly. In the song Ass Like That, it was an entire song about a hand puppet. The track My First Single has a beat which makes the random filler lyrics barely audible. Rain Man, as Eminem admitted at the end of the song, is a song about nothing. Big Weenie, an intended diss against Benzino, has a disjointed flow and humiliates himself with childish insults such as "you look like a frog" and "your breath stinks". This album is not flawed because it was fundamentally wrong. It had potential to be much better than its predecessor. Overall, the album is mixed. It shows the best of Eminem and the worst of Eminem. It can be a good experience as long as you do not expect it to be as serious and hardcore as The Eminem Show. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    This is Eminem's worst album ever. It suffers from a steep drop off in lyrical quality after the song "Mosh." It's below average and some of the other songs are humorous (once) but Eminem doesn't really say much with the rest of the album. Pure filler. Skip this ****
  6. JoeC
    Jan 10, 2005
    4
    4- one for each song that was good. His songs for the most part are lazily put together just muttering whatever rhymes with the "predominenty" stupid noises he made in almost all of his songs. This may have been ok for his first album, but he has grown since then, and we see that in songs like "Mockingbird". But over all, his tracks are made for club music. Its less personal, and in turn, 4- one for each song that was good. His songs for the most part are lazily put together just muttering whatever rhymes with the "predominenty" stupid noises he made in almost all of his songs. This may have been ok for his first album, but he has grown since then, and we see that in songs like "Mockingbird". But over all, his tracks are made for club music. Its less personal, and in turn, not good. Expand
  7. ShawnJ
    Dec 10, 2004
    6
    Eminem sounds careless on this album. He takes his talent and fame for granted now. It is like he put this album out just because of popular demand, not because he wanted to put another masterpiece under his belt. Em, don't make music if you don't want to because thats how you are rapping on this album. The beats are mediocre also. Dre could have been more impressive.
  8. Vince
    Nov 14, 2004
    4
    I expected this album to be the way it is after hearing the first single "Just Lose It." Recycled rap is common now and Eminem just took himself out of the creative category and popped himself into the normal rap-crap category! Jesus! CMON EM! Michael Jackson?? It's sad man, think of something NEW! The beats are pretty bad. No effort whatsoever was put into this album. There are I expected this album to be the way it is after hearing the first single "Just Lose It." Recycled rap is common now and Eminem just took himself out of the creative category and popped himself into the normal rap-crap category! Jesus! CMON EM! Michael Jackson?? It's sad man, think of something NEW! The beats are pretty bad. No effort whatsoever was put into this album. There are about 3 or 4 interesting tracks on the record out of 20! Once again I expected this to happen to Eminem sooner or later. I really hope this is it for him because this is known as his downfall album! He'd better stop now before getting worse. Expand
  9. Chris
    Jan 27, 2005
    6
    The Beats were lukewarm and the lyrics were average at best. Is this the same Eminem that appered on the Slim Shady LP because that dude should stop buy. There are some good songs on here but there are stupid ones like "Little Toy Soldiers" which is stupidness at it's best. He attacks Ja Rule and at the same time he says you got to stop the hating. He did okay but come on.
  10. Daniel
    Feb 4, 2005
    6
    This is By far Eminem has produced better stuff than encore. I only really enjoyed a few songs on there Like: Toy Soldiers, Mockingbird, Yellow Brick Road and Just Lose It. Eminem is a much better artist than what was shown on this CD. Maybe it has something to do with how busy he
  11. KingMachine
    Mar 2, 2006
    6
    His worst album so far. Pretty good though.
  12. MartijnV.
    Nov 12, 2004
    6
    I was quite disappointed by this one. A couple good/funny songs but there are some very bad ones on this one. And overal his lyrics are not that great.
  13. BobN
    Nov 12, 2004
    6
    Though there are a few half-decent tracks on the album, it simply doesn't compare to the Eminem we knew and loved years ago. He just doesn't seem to have that energetic spark that he is known for, and it shows in his work. Being a fan of Eminem, I was excited when I heard he was coming out with a new album, but after listening to Encore, I feel that he shoud've stopped Though there are a few half-decent tracks on the album, it simply doesn't compare to the Eminem we knew and loved years ago. He just doesn't seem to have that energetic spark that he is known for, and it shows in his work. Being a fan of Eminem, I was excited when I heard he was coming out with a new album, but after listening to Encore, I feel that he shoud've stopped after the success of the Marshal Mathers LP. Expand
  14. MarkusS
    Nov 15, 2004
    6
    This is not the eminem i know.....it really makes me mad because i know he could do way better....i was lookin for more out of this cd but it was a let down
  15. MD
    Nov 15, 2004
    5
    Very dissapointing cd. He says it the best on "Like toy soldiers", "...There?s a certain line, you just don?t cross it/ and he crossed it/ I heard him say Hailie?s name on a song and I just lost it/ It was crazy, this shit went way beyond some Jay Z and Nas shit/ And even though the battle was won I feel like we lost it/ I spent so much energy on it, honestly I?m exhausted..." This cd has Very dissapointing cd. He says it the best on "Like toy soldiers", "...There?s a certain line, you just don?t cross it/ and he crossed it/ I heard him say Hailie?s name on a song and I just lost it/ It was crazy, this shit went way beyond some Jay Z and Nas shit/ And even though the battle was won I feel like we lost it/ I spent so much energy on it, honestly I?m exhausted..." This cd has no creativity and it shows no advancement beyond 2 songs (like toy soldiers, mockingbird). Everthing else is very contrived and just plain silly. He is using a formula and great rap artists or groups dont(outkast, public enemy, jay-z, nas, tupac, biggie, epmd etc. etc.). Could you ever imagine Jay-Z saying Big Weenie??? Or tupac having farts and throw up on songs??? honestly, he should have shelved the whole project and started over i.e. Usher. I recommend you get a burned copy of the cd cuz its not worth buying. Hopefully this is his ugly duckling stage when nobody likes him, buts lets hope there is a swan coming. Expand
  16. ----Stenners!!!
    Nov 18, 2004
    6
    Nothing more then Average im afraid and it is deffinetly his weakest to date. Despite having a few great tracks it has too many half assed attempts to make is a good album.
  17. Amanda
    Nov 30, 2004
    6
    songs lack any real substance and meaning.
  18. Bee
    Oct 17, 2005
    6
    I loved this cd, when I first listened to it, but now I'm getting pretty sick of the goofy songs. However, I love the songs "Mosh" "Mockingbird" and "Never Enough". If Eminem hadn't been so mind-blowing in the past, I don't think people would see this album so badly, but compared to his older work, it really isn't that great. I am a devoted and passionate Em fan, I loved this cd, when I first listened to it, but now I'm getting pretty sick of the goofy songs. However, I love the songs "Mosh" "Mockingbird" and "Never Enough". If Eminem hadn't been so mind-blowing in the past, I don't think people would see this album so badly, but compared to his older work, it really isn't that great. I am a devoted and passionate Em fan, I'll always love him, but this album really wasn't that great, it was only average. I'm hoping he'll do better in the future. Expand
  19. JohnD
    Feb 24, 2006
    4
    He grabbed our attention by talking shit, then held our ear with the skills to back it up. 'The Marshall Mathers LP' was his best album, but he raised a lot of questions concerning his character with it. He proved that he was basically a good guy with 'The Eminem Show'. That one wasn't a bad album by any means, but it represented the end of Eminem's good He grabbed our attention by talking shit, then held our ear with the skills to back it up. 'The Marshall Mathers LP' was his best album, but he raised a lot of questions concerning his character with it. He proved that he was basically a good guy with 'The Eminem Show'. That one wasn't a bad album by any means, but it represented the end of Eminem's good ideas as far as producing goes, and the near end of Dr. Dre's good ideas concerning producing as well (save for a few good tracks on 'Get Rich' and 'The Documentary', he's been in a rut, to be brutally honest). So, where does 'Encore' fit in? Well, it doesn't; Eminem gave us peace of mind with 'Show', and also a satisfying 'ending' to his career. The only possible motivations behind 'Encore' and the more recent 'Curtain Call' are 1) For Eminem to prove that he's a good producer (and if that's the case, then he's failed), and 2) Money money money. True, Eminem has some great songs on this album--"Mosh" and "Like Toy Soldiers" being the two that everyone can totally agree on. But there's the problem of every song sounding either identical or juvenile: sweltering strings, predictable backbeat, strange catchphrase used from a previous song. Not even "Mosh" was immune to that, as it began with the same phrase that Eminem used on "Square Dance". "Mockingbird" has been the same song that Eminem has sung for years now, and even though it's still affecting, it's still a little boring. The guest spots don't do anyone any favors; Nate Dogg peaked before 'The Eminem Show' was released, and Obie Trice still sounds annoying. At this point, every silly song that Eminem does sounds simply stupid. It's been a long time since "My Name Is", when Eminem got by with a sweet beat and some hilariously awesome rhymes. There's nothing keeping him from doing it again, and doing it as many times as he pleases, so long as he has shown improvement. If anything, Eminem has gotten worse with age. If you want incredible present day production, check out 'Beauty and the Beat', 'Late Registration', 'Madvillainy', 'Grandmasters', and even the 'Get Rich Soundtrack'. If you want incredible rhymes that defy expectations, examine the work of 7 of the 9 members of Wu-Tang (nobody and their grandma gives U-God and Inspectah Deck the time of day), Dizzee Rascal, half of Jay-Z's catalogue, MF Doom's more inspired work, Ludacris (if you can handle hit-or-miss production), and Common. 50 Cent's best album, it should be noted, featured little help from Dre, and no help from Eminem. I'm referring to the 'Get Rich OST'. 50 Cent sounds like the guy who originally got the attention of smart rap critics. If 50 Cent can do it, then Eminem can, too. But first, Em has to set fire to his production equipment. Then, and only then, can he start down the road to redemption. Expand
  20. RussellD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    6
    I think the only reason I can tolerate this album is because I'm a fan. It took me 2 years to buy the album after I heard "Just Lose it", and its a disappointment, but its got a few good songs on there. I also think its funny how you can tell an eminem fans age by what their favorite album is. The younger they are, the more likely "The Eminem Show" is their favorite. See if I'm right...
  21. BrockR
    Nov 12, 2004
    5
    Cheeky, and uninteresting at first glance. The album has gems in the few and far between but nothing compared to the Diamonds this rough white boy put out in the past. Instead of trying to spot the weakest song one of his albums such as the Marshall Mathers LP where nearly every song is a masterpiece that could make any rappers career, instead on Encore Hummingbird was teh only song to Cheeky, and uninteresting at first glance. The album has gems in the few and far between but nothing compared to the Diamonds this rough white boy put out in the past. Instead of trying to spot the weakest song one of his albums such as the Marshall Mathers LP where nearly every song is a masterpiece that could make any rappers career, instead on Encore Hummingbird was teh only song to seem to have real meaning to eminem. I whole heartily agree that he simply sounds tired. Maybe its time to take a name Em try again later when your better rested. Expand
  22. trevor
    Nov 13, 2004
    6
    Not at all up to par for em, but still a decent album. Gets better after a few listens, but still comes off as a disappointment when compared to his previous works. Definately not as good as i had hoped...
  23. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    Probably the first Eminem album with a few choice cuts. Eminem ventures even further away from Slim Shady (the horrorcore-comedy style) and focuses more "Eminem" who is fierece, clever, and conscious of his surroundings. "Eminem" is just there to give it to you straight. Sure, he doesnt try to be ultimately perfect but the bottom line is, he's gonna give you all he's got. Despite thatProbably the first Eminem album with a few choice cuts. Eminem ventures even further away from Slim Shady (the horrorcore-comedy style) and focuses more "Eminem" who is fierece, clever, and conscious of his surroundings. "Eminem" is just there to give it to you straight. Sure, he doesnt try to be ultimately perfect but the bottom line is, he's gonna give you all he's got. Despite that notion, it seems he gave his all rather fell a tad flat. There is still a trace of humor "Rain Man" (although it seemed harsh with the Christopher Reeve reference, being that he passed away the month before the album came out), Big Weenie, & Just Lose It. The one humor based track thats sweet & sour is Ass Like That. The good part being that we see the rather unexpected yet very laughable humor of Eminem rather than "Slim Shady". The bad part is the subject matter is one in which one is not so used to hearing from Eminem which is one aspect of him that set him from other rappers. Encore is yet another step down from his previous project. Its an ok album, but may not click with most moderate listeners and fans. Expand
  24. Sep 5, 2011
    6
    A generally weird fifth outing for Slim Shady. This album seems to boast a last hurrah for the master of rhytmic wordplay, but most of the songs appear to be especially poor. Songs such as Puke, Big Weenie and Rain Man are bizarre, and his comical foreign accent seems to be cropping up more and more. The strong tracks are the singles including Like Toy Soldiers, Mockingbird, Ass Like ThatA generally weird fifth outing for Slim Shady. This album seems to boast a last hurrah for the master of rhytmic wordplay, but most of the songs appear to be especially poor. Songs such as Puke, Big Weenie and Rain Man are bizarre, and his comical foreign accent seems to be cropping up more and more. The strong tracks are the singles including Like Toy Soldiers, Mockingbird, Ass Like That and Just Lose It, the latter two still being extremely silly. Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    This is not a bad album just mediocre, not up to eminem's standard. I'd say about half the tracks are good but about half of them are really poor like Rain Man, in my opinion his worse song. Though songs like never enough are what save this album.
  26. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    He gets very experimental with this album, and though the lyricism is subpar, the album had some of his best beats at the time. Unfortunately, it is downplayed by certain flows and the lyricism is weak, though the wordplay is strong. The album also has it's down due to the fart and burp noises in songs like 'My 1st Single', though there are some jewels like 'Yellow Brick Road' and 'LikeHe gets very experimental with this album, and though the lyricism is subpar, the album had some of his best beats at the time. Unfortunately, it is downplayed by certain flows and the lyricism is weak, though the wordplay is strong. The album also has it's down due to the fart and burp noises in songs like 'My 1st Single', though there are some jewels like 'Yellow Brick Road' and 'Like Toy Soldiers'. Expand
  27. May 19, 2015
    5
    I'm a huge Eminem fan but I will admit that this is not a good alum of his. There are maybe 4 or 5 great songs on this album and the rest are just okay at best
    5/10
  28. May 9, 2017
    6
    Not really Em's best album. This album has some of his worst tracks of all time ( every track 7-12), but it also has some great tracks( Yellow Brick Road, Like Toy Soldiers, Mosh, Mockingbird, Encore). All in all, not a good sequel to The Eminem Show
  29. Jul 18, 2017
    6
    it was okay.....................................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. "Encore" is almost willfully uneven: it includes some of the most exhilarating songs Eminem has ever recorded, alongside some of the most inert. [15 Nov 2004]
  2. For the most part, Encore's strained, vaguely sad, regressive wackiness makes a lucid and compelling argument that Eminem should retire Slim Shady and let the real, serious Marshall Mathers stand up and be heard.
  3. Encore is a fourth fascinating record from Eminem, but it's also easily his weakest and, in many ways, tamest album to date.