User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 479 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 479

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. denises
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    i loved this album!
  2. danielw
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    it is the third best album he has released apart from curtain call and slim shady LP
  3. tomw
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Amazing he has realy done it this time
  4. JohnJ
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    The best CD i have evr heard
  5. chrisB
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    eminem has done it again he is one of the greatest lyricist of all time and he proves it again.what proves that this is another great cd is because eminem has really matured alot on this cd just listen to toy solilders and mockingbird that is another great song from eminem talking about his daughter every cd he comes out with seems to be jus so good thats why i love eminems music all his eminem has done it again he is one of the greatest lyricist of all time and he proves it again.what proves that this is another great cd is because eminem has really matured alot on this cd just listen to toy solilders and mockingbird that is another great song from eminem talking about his daughter every cd he comes out with seems to be jus so good thats why i love eminems music all his cds are classics and this one is nothin short of that#1 marshall mathers lp next eminem show this cd would be third with thats sayin alot because those last to cd's i mentioned were masterpieces in hip-hop and some of the best rap cd's i ever heard.bottom line if you haven't heard encore i suggest you buy it i recomend it to all eminem fans event if you arent pick it up............. Expand
  6. ChiliT.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    A! this Is Chili Em's #1 Fan, I dont appreciate all the Haters talkin shit, people need to realize that he has picked up where Hip-Hop left off with Pac and Big, and has fulfilled the prophecy as a walking LEGEND
  7. JoeyH
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Best. Eminem. Album. Ever. Period.
  8. t!m3$pL!t3r
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Encore might not be his best album but its still quite good all of the songs r quite good with the exeption of Like Toy Soldiers and ENCORE/CURTAINS Down which r awsome I cant think of any reason to find this album annoying and its definitely worth the money
  9. ReginaF
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    look dis album rocks - all y'all hu is sayin it dnt need 2 get ya hed lukin at ... n wot u on bout d songs bout his kids suck - dats 1 of d best songs ok??? eminem is an amazin artist n if u dnt like him thn dnt go out n buy his album if ur jus gna complain about it..lets c u do ny betta shal we..?
  10. wiggettyw.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Keeps getting better and better. Second only to The Eminem Show.
  11. StephenC
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Not his best album, but still the best album ive heard all year. Brilliant!
  12. kathleen
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I love this cd so much!! eminem is THE bomb!!! I LOVE HIM!!
  13. sethag
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    not the better em cd for me mmlp was this best but i prefer this one to tes LP i think 8 is good but because some poeple seems to be too "extremiste" on my owe i do the same.....LOL
  14. BradleyE
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Eminem is the Bob Dylan of our times. he is rapping about his life and what he knows.there are some silly songs, yet does anyone remember anything before the eminem show? If you are a talent artist usually you will have that one painting or album that defines your career. for eminem that may have been the eminem show an albun that is timeless and never gets old no mater how often you Eminem is the Bob Dylan of our times. he is rapping about his life and what he knows.there are some silly songs, yet does anyone remember anything before the eminem show? If you are a talent artist usually you will have that one painting or album that defines your career. for eminem that may have been the eminem show an albun that is timeless and never gets old no mater how often you listen to it. All these music critic are brain dead from listening to to meny albums once over and giving it a rating. that is what they are payed to do and im sure there are stacks of disks laying on there desks. Luckily for a true music lover some albums don't go down easily on the first or 5th time. But i tell you the more i listen to encore the more i love it. Expand
  15. steveng
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    its awsome
  16. OliverK
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    This new CD of his is just a new beginning. He makes 30 million dollars every cd he sells. He makes sick ass beats and sick ass lyrics thats all that matters.
  17. LauraH
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    He is clearly one of the best rappers ever and is so talented. I loved his album. He is so clever and every word written has thought and meaning behind it. Unconventional and that's why I gotta love him!
  18. rickyh
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    tight
  19. JessicaD
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    I think the album is great and he did a really good job writing all the songs!!
  20. sophiep
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    excellent, especially tracks 15-17
  21. MirKund
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Is was a funny and enjoyable to listen 2. Best1 yet!!!!!!
  22. hollyd
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    i luvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv eminem this album is the best ever it ace ace ace
  23. mikeh.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Anybody who says slim shady is a bad rapper is a complete loser and dont no what their talkin about because eminem is one of the greatest rappers ever and his new cd is the same. It has great beats and still good lyrics. So it is a great album
  24. jakep
    May 3, 2007
    10
    grate
  25. NickR
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Eminem continues to shine. It's a brilliant album. If you give it the right amount of listens. you will be giving it a 10 to.
  26. max
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    this is a good cd.........theirs lots of good song n he as a different sound then with the other cds
  27. TannerW
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    Amazing CD. This CD would be one of the best that Eminem has done. For all you who hate this CD, you don't understand rap.
  28. conswalism
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    this album lives up to the expections, equally as good as teh amazin Eminem Show, best songs are evil deeds, puke, toy soldiers, crazy in love and the amazing mockingbird, ure still amazin em
  29. finfrosk
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    When I saw the reviews I was worried, but listening to this album I can safely say the critics are idiots, they are wrong, the have no clue. It's one of his best albums. Really. Eminem is a genius, but geniuses are often misunderstood.
  30. DanS
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Album sounds different than usual and it didnt sound all that appealing at first listen, but than after few more listens it grew on me. Its different but its still eminem, maybe more matured but still awesome lyricist. Notable Masterpiece song is Mocking Bird
  31. dannyf
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    not his best but still it's eminem who can do better
  32. thunt
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    this album is great it has a lot more depth not his best album but still the best cd i bought since his last best tracks my 1st single,mockingbird,spend some time,and evil deeds
  33. ivank
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    this was great...
  34. arnesr
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    this cd is a little it more sentimental then the other ones. Songs like, like toy slodiers, mockingbird, spend some time. we like seen that part of eminem. he is also a genus because of the ryhms.
  35. LeighM
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    An Excellent CD. If you like Eminem, you will love this CD!
  36. steveng
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    its awsome
  37. LEXYE.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    Everytime I turn this cd on I get shivers...it's that good. EVen in my dreams i can still here "Spend Some Time", and his songs have touched me so deeply that I've cried twice. He is amazing, I have all of his work. And this definately shows he didn't stop trying. In fact, he only got better. I love you eminem
  38. aylap
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    I think Encore is a great album. It is very different from his previous albums, every Eminem album is totally different and unique from the last. This album once again shows a different side to Eminem a lighter side than the Eminem Show, also a more political side. throughout his albums we have heard how Eminem has been able to use his voice in many diferent ways be it different character I think Encore is a great album. It is very different from his previous albums, every Eminem album is totally different and unique from the last. This album once again shows a different side to Eminem a lighter side than the Eminem Show, also a more political side. throughout his albums we have heard how Eminem has been able to use his voice in many diferent ways be it different character voices, diff tones, accents, singing, and so on. In Encore we see this perfected by how much eminem can play with his voice from puke to ass like that to mockingbird he sounds totally different and great in each. Also on this album Eminem has perfected his flow with each song he has a toally different flow to it to fit in with the type of song it is for instance mosh his flow is slow and solid and his voice is loud and angry, whereas for evil deeds his flow is more faster reflecting what the song is about how his life is like a ferris wheel as he says in the song. some people dismiss his more humorous songs as meaningless but if u actually listen to the lyrics there is much meaning in the songs for instance in Big Weenie Eminem gives a very detailed description of his ctritics who he says are basically jeaslous of him and he does this in a very humourous way using storytelling at its best. When listening to the album you shouldn't dismiss the lighter songs becuase they still have just as much meaning and depth. the album is well balanced with humourous songs, pure hip hop tracks, songs addressing issues such as ja and benzinoe beefs and that whole racist tape thing, political songs, personal song and so on. I feel this album is great and right now it is all i am listening to, the other day i put on the older eminem albums but i could not listen to it all and had to put Encore on again meaning i still havent had enough of it yet. Expand
  39. JasonD
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    He is my idol and speaks his mind in every song.
  40. patrikn
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    This album is hot and if you think not then you should just think again
  41. lamesham
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    Em don't listen 2 the ones that gave it a low rating ! Haters! On my soul this cd is by far the best cd I have ever listened 2 n all the days of my life. I literally listed 2 it everyday. I hope 2 hear another cd at least as great as this one. much Love mesha~~~!
  42. RafaelT
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Lo mejor que se ha inventado en la faz de la tierra es el albuns de Eminem "ENCORE".
  43. JesseB
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    People say that music is suppose to be calming. To me its just spilling out all of your emotions. It doesnt matter if your good or bad. just be yourself
  44. shadyzlaydeemathers
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    excelent eminem is by far the best rapper evr there is and will be he is a living legend tupac r.i.p
  45. marandaboone
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    i love eminem and this song
  46. Adam
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    I am glad Eminem released this CD. He will now seperate the real fans who actually listen to him and the little bastards and hippocrits who claim to be "Eminem Fans". This album is brilliant because he's not rapping about what you want and he's changing his style. I don't need to try to convince anyone else though, I know this is a great album.
  47. JavonS
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    This album is just lyricially the best album he's ever done. Jay z is good but just not as good as eminem. Like someone else said. If u say this album is boring then u don't know rap at all and didn't take the time to listen.
  48. addyl
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    em always rapped words no one expected would rhyme. on encore he rhymes words that have no business rhyming. amazing feat. this album is hilarious, which is refreshing. toy soldiers almost made me cry.
  49. KristineH
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    I love all of Eminem's CD's. This is no different. He sings more. I was so touched by the songs Toy Soldiers and Mockingbird, I got shivers. Regardless, whether bad or good, he speaks from the heart and how he feels. As a poet (myself), he has my love and respect. True feelings are not rated, nor should they be. There your own, and everyone interprets everyones words I love all of Eminem's CD's. This is no different. He sings more. I was so touched by the songs Toy Soldiers and Mockingbird, I got shivers. Regardless, whether bad or good, he speaks from the heart and how he feels. As a poet (myself), he has my love and respect. True feelings are not rated, nor should they be. There your own, and everyone interprets everyones words differently. No one really knows how EMINEM is feeling, but he expresses it through song, and we all should appreciate that, since - we are all fans. LOYAL FANS, regardless if one person thinks one song or album isn't as good. I love all his songs, I'm loyal. ----- If anyone doubts EMINEM, listen again, and carefully to the song Toy Soldiers. My respect goes out to Eminem and all he's done, for himself and for others. xoxo Expand
  50. Eminemfan
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    this is a great album, i have all of his albums and i'm only 13 years old. I think that eNcore is the best yet. He speeks from the heart, i like all the songs, and anyone else who's slagging them off should try and do better! Eminem is great, his song mockingbird is my favourite, it proves that he doesn't just rap/sing about violence,people he doesn't like, and sex.
  51. MarshalMathers
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    This CD had alot more meaning than everybody thinks. Take a couple hours to just listen to the lyrics. You'll then figure out why i gave this CD a rating of 10
  52. jessicas
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    i love em. and i think what he is saying needs to be listen to a lot louder
  53. lexysuga
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    This Cd is amazing, EVery single song. "Spend Some Time" keeps replaying even in my dreams, I love eminem so much. He did it again, this is absolutly wonderful
  54. JohnF
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    "Encore" is the hottest set of candycane jamz you are ever likely to hear.
  55. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite Eminem album. I love his crazy antics, and his serious songs like Toy Soldiers & Mockingbird. Even though this is not lyrically his best. I still think its the best because i grew up listening to Encore
  56. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    Striking his 4 in 4 in perfect albums, Eminem returns with his alternance between serious and funny songs and the cleverness of his verses on an album providing more than one instant classic such as Like toy soldiers and Mockingbird.
  57. ArturoS.
    Dec 1, 2004
    9
    The people who rated this low are out of their mind. They don't get Em. I listen to a lot of hip hop. Exactl which rappers out there actually say anything interesting? Only Eminem, Nas, Kanye, a few others. Almost all other rap is only good for the production. Young Buck's is a good example. With the exception of the Marshall Mathers LP, this is his best work. He's The people who rated this low are out of their mind. They don't get Em. I listen to a lot of hip hop. Exactl which rappers out there actually say anything interesting? Only Eminem, Nas, Kanye, a few others. Almost all other rap is only good for the production. Young Buck's is a good example. With the exception of the Marshall Mathers LP, this is his best work. He's lyrically top notch here. If you don't like a lot of words cleverly rhymed, then yes, Em isn't your guy. Expand
  58. DavidA
    Jan 8, 2005
    9
    I've always been an Eminem fan, this is one of his best albums and its just what I expected from him, however it was not as good as "The Eminem Show."
  59. KobeeH
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    ENCORE. Eminem's latest is definitely what his title says it is. You can tell he's just having fun after the Show. I don't feel it's meant to be what we've come to expect from Em. This is not even close to being a bad thing. True, there is a bit of the old style Slim in there. But, he also has a more fun flow going on. Not to say, I'm a fan of all the songs, ENCORE. Eminem's latest is definitely what his title says it is. You can tell he's just having fun after the Show. I don't feel it's meant to be what we've come to expect from Em. This is not even close to being a bad thing. True, there is a bit of the old style Slim in there. But, he also has a more fun flow going on. Not to say, I'm a fan of all the songs, neither was I on his last 3. But, nonetheless, ENCORE is a really good album. Don't listen to those professional jerks up there. Buy the album and experience Eminem again. Expand
  60. KimA
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I will admit that at first, I wasn't sure about this album but after listening to the lyrics I found that there was more meaning in his words besides the every-other- swear-word pattern approach he usually takes. This album is something that I can relate to and I felt he did excellent work getting his message accross. I love it.
  61. MIKEM
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    Quit Hating! Em is a very good MC
  62. ReneeD
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    I think it's an awesome CD! I actually laugh out loud! It definitely puts a smile on my face....
  63. AaronA
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    at first the songs on encore sounded samey and without any flare but give this album a second listen and everything just clicks, all these songs are ace especially puke, my first single and my fave 'crazy in love' dont listen to the dissers on here just buy this album and make up your own mind
  64. Anthony
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    Excellent ! Just because it is different does not mean it sucks, plus it shows he is well rounded. It is still better then most rap albums. If em wanted to make a classic he would have done so.
  65. IanS
    Mar 6, 2005
    9
    I give this album a 9 out of 10 becuase it has some strong points and good songs (Never Enough, Like Toy Solider, Mockingbird) but some pretty weak songs (Crazy in Love, Ass Like That, One Shot Two Shot). Unlike most people/critics I didn't mind the crudeness and rudeness of the puking, farting, and birping sounds that are frequent on tracks like Puke and My First Single. Em made an I give this album a 9 out of 10 becuase it has some strong points and good songs (Never Enough, Like Toy Solider, Mockingbird) but some pretty weak songs (Crazy in Love, Ass Like That, One Shot Two Shot). Unlike most people/critics I didn't mind the crudeness and rudeness of the puking, farting, and birping sounds that are frequent on tracks like Puke and My First Single. Em made an excellent collabaration with 50 Cent and Nate Dogg on the song Never Enough, which is one of the best songs on the whole album. The collaboration with D12 One Shot 2 Shot could have been much better, and 50 Cent and Obie Trice gave sub par performances on Spend Some Time. 50 Cent appears again with Dr. Dre on the last track Encore, and despite his small verse comes up big. Although this album is not quite as good as The Eminem Show it's still good and worth buying. Expand
  66. Vincer
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    I know this album is not em's best work it's still better than 99% of albums out there, every song is good or great - no bad songs. Eminem proves that even with a sub - par album for his expectations, it is still an awesome cd.
  67. CourtneyM
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    I think this cd is great! I can't compare any of his albums to one another because they are all great in their own ways, just like encore is. #14 is hilarious if u listen to his verses.Listen to the cd one more time if you doubt it.
  68. Dr.Drew
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    hey i really dislike the overall rating of this album, because this new eminem cd i will admit takes a little adjusting to, but once you're there, any eminem fan should love it. em has matured over the years and proves that in his album, as well as seems to have resolved the anger he once had, now he relaxes with his sense of humor better than ever. every song of his tell a story hey i really dislike the overall rating of this album, because this new eminem cd i will admit takes a little adjusting to, but once you're there, any eminem fan should love it. em has matured over the years and proves that in his album, as well as seems to have resolved the anger he once had, now he relaxes with his sense of humor better than ever. every song of his tell a story w/out a whole bunch of bullshit that other rappers just spit. Dre', D12, and 50's presence in the album give it extra spice as well as em's good variety of singles that people would be crazy not to call singles. i agree with one of the other reviewers, this proves who's a loyal em fan, well you would be crazy not to be one after this one. check out never enough, mosh, rain man, spend some time, mockingbird, one shot 2 shot, etc etc it's all worth it although he hints at retirement, he leaves hope for the future, EMINEM IS THE FUCKING GREATEST thank you Expand
  69. RebeccaP
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    i only bought the album about 3 hours ago, i havnt even listened to all the tracks. but i think em hs came out tops here. ok, so he does sound tired - theres no other way to put it - and he could do with some bigger beats on some of the tacks to liven them up a bit, but form what ive heard, i tihnk its a great album still. toy soldiers is amazing. mackingbird is beautiful, mosh is cool, i only bought the album about 3 hours ago, i havnt even listened to all the tracks. but i think em hs came out tops here. ok, so he does sound tired - theres no other way to put it - and he could do with some bigger beats on some of the tacks to liven them up a bit, but form what ive heard, i tihnk its a great album still. toy soldiers is amazing. mackingbird is beautiful, mosh is cool, and so is puke, and never enough. ill have to listen to the rest before i can comment any further though. Expand
  70. [Anonymous]
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    Some of his most brilliant work is on this album like "Toy Soldiers", Mosh", and "Crazy In Love". Even half trying, he is much better than most rappers out there. I think this will be a CD that most people will not understand until a few years down the road. "Rain Man" is a great song, give it some more listens.
  71. DomP
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    I know some of you are dissapointed...I actually had this CD a month ago and im not buying the copy thats out now...Wait 4 the special edition with We as americans and i love you more..both songs are impressive...U passed Em..but im looking foward to the nxt cd..u will improve
  72. MarkC
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    Different from his other albums to be sure, but just as good. It is like he has worked through all his issues that were evident on his previous work, and now he can more fun with his songs. Look at Rain Man, Big Weenie and Ass Like That for example. This cd will weed out the "fans" that only listen for the controversy that he usually attracts, which can only be a good thing. I look Different from his other albums to be sure, but just as good. It is like he has worked through all his issues that were evident on his previous work, and now he can more fun with his songs. Look at Rain Man, Big Weenie and Ass Like That for example. This cd will weed out the "fans" that only listen for the controversy that he usually attracts, which can only be a good thing. I look forward to his future releases. Expand
  73. jackm
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    great album. eminem continues to defy everyone by banging out hot beats, and not holding back on what he has to say. still the best.
  74. MercedesC
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    This was an awsome CD, not as brutal as his past ones, and seems to have more emotion in it then and other. But I must say that when I first listend to 'Just loose it' I was disapointed.. But after hearing the other songs, it was like i was listening to him again. This isn't his best CD, but it definetly shows up other CD's that are considered 'hot' today..
  75. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    Personally I find it refreshing that a superstar of his ilk was willing to make a record in which he didn't take himself too seriously. It's funny, clever and controversial like his previous work, but he's never sounded so catchy nor has he been so much fun to listen to than on Encore.
  76. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    It is not as good as "The Eminem Show" but still damn good.
  77. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  78. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    One of Slim Shady's great albums so far.My favourite songs in this album are
    1.Like Toy Soldiers
    2.Mockingbird
    3.Like That
    4.Never Enough
    5.My 1st Single
  79. VeronciaF
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    althugh some may say Em is out of ideas and has nothing to rap about, this CD prooves america's shallow oppinion wrong with it's brilliant lyrics and dancable tunes.
  80. MelissaH
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    I like this album altogether but it is not his best work. Some of the songs seem to sound the same as the songs he uses in The Eminem Show. I love Emimen still though he is a genius, he just didnt show it as much in this album as others.
  81. mikehawk
    May 15, 2007
    8
    Eminem will never loose what he has!
  82. ZakK
    Nov 13, 2004
    8
    This is such a disappointing album. His versus sound lazy. He does have some funny stuff in it. This is a good or great album for other rappers, but eminem this is just crap.
  83. Ty
    Dec 13, 2004
    8
    This is an interesting album with foreshadowing of either his retirement or slim shadys. some of the sampling on this cd is unreal. plus i really like the inventiveness of creating the song mocking bird form a childhood song. Its wierd though cause he seems tired of the rap game. maybe he'll step down and move more into production. its true that this is not the most amazing album to This is an interesting album with foreshadowing of either his retirement or slim shadys. some of the sampling on this cd is unreal. plus i really like the inventiveness of creating the song mocking bird form a childhood song. Its wierd though cause he seems tired of the rap game. maybe he'll step down and move more into production. its true that this is not the most amazing album to come out of eminem but its still a very good album. it takes a second and third listen to really get it. also crazy in love is a wicked and intense song with such grit to the description of his relationship, but also i think that people who have had something other than a fairy tale relationship might see some of themselves in that song. Expand
  84. BenN
    Dec 16, 2004
    8
    This Cd has its pros and cons. Some of the songs on the CD are Eminems best and the beats by Dre. are good but thats only for three or four songs. The other 16-17 songs are awful, half trialed by Eminem.
  85. AshleyH
    Jan 1, 2005
    8
    When I first listened to Encore I was kind of iffy on whether I liked it or not, but now im hooked on it! Evil Deeds starts the CD off with a boom no doubt. Some songs Im not really feeling are like toy soldiers, mosh, puke, and big weenie. But when you look at songs like rainman, ass like that, spend some time, mocking bird, crazy in love and Encore...you can see Eminem's lyrics When I first listened to Encore I was kind of iffy on whether I liked it or not, but now im hooked on it! Evil Deeds starts the CD off with a boom no doubt. Some songs Im not really feeling are like toy soldiers, mosh, puke, and big weenie. But when you look at songs like rainman, ass like that, spend some time, mocking bird, crazy in love and Encore...you can see Eminem's lyrics really come to life and see that he still has skill. I agree that this is his poorest album yet, but it's still better then a lot of other artists. Expand
  86. rubenf
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    not his best album to date. but its close, eminem has improved on his skills. true he doesnt have the same hunger for hip hop as when he first came into the game. but still very impressive.
  87. DjDado
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    YO, you have to rate a review against an object 'all things' continum, not against Mr. Mather's past shiz. That means that Encore, while a letdown relative to Eminem (esp. for those expecting something more serious ala a Marshall Mathers 2 LP) the dude is still rocking the industry w./ wicked skillz. Bangers: Never Enough (50 sounds like he got his jaw fixed), My 1st YO, you have to rate a review against an object 'all things' continum, not against Mr. Mather's past shiz. That means that Encore, while a letdown relative to Eminem (esp. for those expecting something more serious ala a Marshall Mathers 2 LP) the dude is still rocking the industry w./ wicked skillz. Bangers: Never Enough (50 sounds like he got his jaw fixed), My 1st Single, Rain Man (damn that song is getting torn up ... people are not getting the point of it), Curtains Down (watch for Encore yeah yeah), Yelllow Brick Road, Like Toy Soldiers (Em's respect for Dre is powerful) Expand
  88. ThomasS.
    Nov 21, 2004
    8
    I actually give this a 7.5 But PPL u guys are way underrating this album. It's still Em, and Im glad he made a new album. The alubm's for us to enjoy. So enjoy it!
  89. MichaelM
    Dec 14, 2004
    8
    At first I wasn't thrilled but I listened over and over and I love it. Mockingbird, Rain Man, One shot 2 Shot, Toy Soldiers, My first single (excluding the crappy chorus), Never Enough, and Encore are some of the best songs on here with a few of them ranking in the best he's done (released). The rest are good except for Big Weenie and Mosh which suck, but 15 out of 17 ain't At first I wasn't thrilled but I listened over and over and I love it. Mockingbird, Rain Man, One shot 2 Shot, Toy Soldiers, My first single (excluding the crappy chorus), Never Enough, and Encore are some of the best songs on here with a few of them ranking in the best he's done (released). The rest are good except for Big Weenie and Mosh which suck, but 15 out of 17 ain't bad at all. Better than 95% of the rest of the world could do. Expand
  90. Skandalous
    Aug 14, 2006
    8
    "he
  91. JasonS
    Nov 12, 2004
    8
    Quality cd, Crazy in Love, Mockingbird and Encore are the best tracks.
  92. ZacharyB
    Nov 15, 2004
    8
    I will try to keep this as brief as possible. This is a near-flawless album. The only problem is that it may not be as good as the first three, but I don't think there's any point in comparing because every album this man has made in the last five years is an instant classic, and this is the first album he has released which is a holding pattern. Sure, he's heavy in the I will try to keep this as brief as possible. This is a near-flawless album. The only problem is that it may not be as good as the first three, but I don't think there's any point in comparing because every album this man has made in the last five years is an instant classic, and this is the first album he has released which is a holding pattern. Sure, he's heavy in the ether when it comes to bathroom humor this time around, and he does touch upon his various "beefs" more than he did on the last album, but Evil Deeds, Never Enough, Yellow Brick Road, Like Toy Soldiers, Mosh, Puke, My 1st Single, Rain Man, Just Lose It, Ass Like That and Encore are perfect songs that are all compulsively listenable, and that leaves about 5 weak tracks and some of his funniest skits ever, so I fail to see why people are getting down on Encore sore harshly. Perhaps if he had cut Big Weenie, Crazy in Love and Mockingbird and supplmented them with the three tracks on the bonus disc, We as Americans, Love You More and Ricky Ticky Toc (all great), and replaced One Shot 2 Shot with a non-conceptual, token D-12 track (which seemed to work pretty well on the Marshall Mathers LP and just as well on The Eminem Show) we would all be singing a different tune. Sure, Puke is called Puke, but it's infectiously catchy and hooky as well as clever and I can see how his rhymes fall flat occasionally but they're still tighter than any other MC now, before and most likely ever. Expand
  93. CharlieLN
    Nov 15, 2004
    8
    I loved this CD. But still, not up to level of the Marshall Mathers LP or Em Show. i didnt really like all the goofy songs. i think everyone will rag on him so much his next cd will be angry- like mmlp, maybe. Anyways- in order, the best songs are: like toy soldiers, mockingbird, love you more, never enough(nate has a great hook), crazy in love, and encore.
  94. FabalosR
    Nov 22, 2004
    8
    He draws us in with four outstanding tracks: Evil Deeds Never Enough (5/5 50 Cent is just smokin on this rather short rap), Yellow Brick Road (5/5), and Like Toy Soldiers (5/5 very emotional; arguably best overall song on album) It starts to taper off with Mosh (3.5/5), a good anti-Bush song but nothing near Em's capability, and goes rock bottom with Puke, which along with Big He draws us in with four outstanding tracks: Evil Deeds Never Enough (5/5 50 Cent is just smokin on this rather short rap), Yellow Brick Road (5/5), and Like Toy Soldiers (5/5 very emotional; arguably best overall song on album) It starts to taper off with Mosh (3.5/5), a good anti-Bush song but nothing near Em's capability, and goes rock bottom with Puke, which along with Big Weenie, is the worst song on the album. Just when you think he has nothing left after My 1st Single, he drops in Rain Man (5/5, a hilarious rap in which Em loses his memory), but follows with the mediocre offerings of Big Weenie, Just Lose It (3.5/5 funny, solid single, but not great), and gets back on track with Spend Some Time (4/5), the hilarious A$$ like that Mockingbird (5/5 The most emotional song on the album), just loses it again with crazy in love, rebounds with one shot 2 shot, and finishes strong with encore (5/5 good party song). I know i write too much but thats cuz i play too much PUTT PUTT golf watching BUTT BUTTS. Overall, an inconsistent but solid album, some great songs mixed in with garbage. Total score: 4/5 Expand
  95. emfan
    Dec 23, 2004
    8
    it is not bad.. although the eminem show was better. eminem should get out some of the belching sounds and change dre for someone else. i like evil deedsm, mocking bird, like toy soldiers, mosh,big weenie,just lose it and crazy in love. rain man would be great with a different beat and 1st sinlge should have the burps left out and it would be great. the good songs patch up the bad songs it is not bad.. although the eminem show was better. eminem should get out some of the belching sounds and change dre for someone else. i like evil deedsm, mocking bird, like toy soldiers, mosh,big weenie,just lose it and crazy in love. rain man would be great with a different beat and 1st sinlge should have the burps left out and it would be great. the good songs patch up the bad songs (puke) though. some beats could use a bit livening up as they re sounding tired. Expand
  96. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    One thing you ought to know: The lyrics of Encore was tuned down completely probably because of the too much attention he was getting for his lyrical content. There are very good tracks on Encore, Evil deeds started the album with a big Boom just the way White America did on Eminem show, Toy Soldiers was classic, other good tracks include MOSH, PUKE, YELLOW BRICK ROAD, RAIN MAN, MOCKINGOne thing you ought to know: The lyrics of Encore was tuned down completely probably because of the too much attention he was getting for his lyrical content. There are very good tracks on Encore, Evil deeds started the album with a big Boom just the way White America did on Eminem show, Toy Soldiers was classic, other good tracks include MOSH, PUKE, YELLOW BRICK ROAD, RAIN MAN, MOCKING BIRD, ONE SHOT 2 SHOT, CURTAINS DOWN, SPEND SOME TIME, JUST LOSE IT & ASS LIKE THAT are Good tracks as well. Generally, the album is very good just that the lyrics was completely tuned down compare to his previous Three. Btw, Encore was better than most of the rap albums released in 2004/2005(If not all) !!!!! Expand
  97. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    Eminem Can Definitively Improve. What Am I Saying? This Record Can Be One Of Eminem's Top Albums. I Enjoy About 8 Songs On This Album, but They Are Songs I Feel Like Listening From Time To Time.
  98. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Neither a step forwards, nor a step back. A solid rap album containing fantastic wordplays and great lyrics. It's not perfect, because it has still got unnecessary dumb parts in it, but Em got older and you can hear that. His second best album after 'The Eminem Show'. - "Just Lose It" and "Mockingbird" are two of his all time top 10!
  99. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    A not as good but very strong album by Eminem, many of the songs are memorable and go down in history but all in common are complaints about his life. Still memorable beats complaining.
  100. Hugeemfan
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i gotta say i am disapointed. the eminem show was much better, i think he fooled around too much on this album, it wasnt very serious, just all jokes. althought i give credit where it is deserved, amazing songs are mocking bird, toy soldier, puke, and i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i gotta say i am disapointed. the eminem show was much better, i think he fooled around too much on this album, it wasnt very serious, just all jokes. althought i give credit where it is deserved, amazing songs are mocking bird, toy soldier, puke, and never enough. i could tell this cd wud not top the eminem show as soon as i took a look at the book inside. the pages were not as detailed, just small sh*t like that made you tell he didnt try. but i still love eminem and its still good good cd after u listen to it a few times. im disapointed but his next cd will be much better. u pass em. 7/10 Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. "Encore" is almost willfully uneven: it includes some of the most exhilarating songs Eminem has ever recorded, alongside some of the most inert. [15 Nov 2004]
  2. For the most part, Encore's strained, vaguely sad, regressive wackiness makes a lucid and compelling argument that Eminem should retire Slim Shady and let the real, serious Marshall Mathers stand up and be heard.
  3. Encore is a fourth fascinating record from Eminem, but it's also easily his weakest and, in many ways, tamest album to date.