Encore Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full studio album for the multi-platinum superstar features appearances from Obie Trice, 50 Cent, Nate Dogg and D-12.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Funny, catchy, clever, and irreverent past his allotted time.
  2. Encore isn't as astonishing as The Marshall Mathers LP. Few albums by anyone ever will be. But in the time-honored manner of mature work, it showcases a phenomenally gifted musician and lyricist doing all the things he does best.
  3. The album has a familiar shortcoming: Once again, Eminem is guilty of not knowing when to stop in the studio. [8 Nov 2004]
  4. 60
    An awkward faceoff between Mathers the prankster and Mathers the cultural and would-be political agitator. [Jan 2005, p.96]
  5. "Encore" is almost willfully uneven: it includes some of the most exhilarating songs Eminem has ever recorded, alongside some of the most inert. [15 Nov 2004]
  6. You’d believe this was a “Weird Al” Jankovic record had you tuned in halfway through.
  7. His beefs have become so infinitesimal that he’s started to unconsciously parody our LiveJournal culture, a minor event or misunderstanding generating reams of dialogue, running commentary and painstaking minutiae. In short, he’s no more compelling than one of those non-famous drama queens in your life you already find insufferable, just another loser who blows up non-events, and it’s transformed the long-running Eminem Show into the most myopic, hand-wringing, self-reflexive stuck-in-the-mud soap opera of our time.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 178
  1. addyl
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    em always rapped words no one expected would rhyme. on encore he rhymes words that have no business rhyming. amazing feat. this album is em always rapped words no one expected would rhyme. on encore he rhymes words that have no business rhyming. amazing feat. this album is hilarious, which is refreshing. toy soldiers almost made me cry. Expand
  2. denises
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    i loved this album!
  3. wiggettyw.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Keeps getting better and better. Second only to The Eminem Show.
  4. MichaelM
    Dec 14, 2004
    8
    At first I wasn't thrilled but I listened over and over and I love it. Mockingbird, Rain Man, One shot 2 Shot, Toy Soldiers, My first At first I wasn't thrilled but I listened over and over and I love it. Mockingbird, Rain Man, One shot 2 Shot, Toy Soldiers, My first single (excluding the crappy chorus), Never Enough, and Encore are some of the best songs on here with a few of them ranking in the best he's done (released). The rest are good except for Big Weenie and Mosh which suck, but 15 out of 17 ain't bad at all. Better than 95% of the rest of the world could do. Expand
  5. Hugeemfan
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i gotta say i am disapointed. the eminem show was much better, i think he fooled around too much on this album, it wasnt very serious, just all jokes. althought i give credit where it is deserved, amazing songs are mocking bird, toy soldier, puke, and never enough. i could tell this cd wud not top the eminem show as soon as i took a look at the book inside. the pages were not as detailed, just small sh*t like that made you tell he didnt try. but i still love eminem and its still good good cd after u listen to it a few times. im disapointed but his next cd will be much better. u pass em. 7/10 Expand
  6. BitBurn
    Nov 15, 2004
    5
    All this guy does is bitch bitch bitch and once again "Encore" is all about some more bitchin'!! This time it's annoying though. All this guy does is bitch bitch bitch and once again "Encore" is all about some more bitchin'!! This time it's annoying though. Same ol' recipe. EM is running out of inspiration and he's tired. However, production is very good and and make sure you have a good pair of sub-woofer ;-) Expand
  7. DaveA
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    this album sucks once again he uses other people's ideas eminem show in contrast to the shaggy show(ICP)??this time he rips off of a this album sucks once again he uses other people's ideas eminem show in contrast to the shaggy show(ICP)??this time he rips off of a rapper Jay-Z i didnt like Jay-Z but after hearing this CD i would rather listen to him or Ja Rule at least Ja Rule is consistent with his bullshit Collapse

See all 178 User Reviews