Endlessly

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2010
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2010
    60
    Artistically, it struggles to cross the velvet rope and push on into greatness. [Jan 2011, p.134]
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    The rest is a lacklustre recast of her debut that displays about as much personality as Duffy's sweetly banal interviews, all of which suggests her production team are a weakened bunch. Like we said, a remarkable return.
  3. 60
    It's rigorously written, but Duffy sounds uncertain, spotlighting the particulars of her voice: the many crannies, the narrow backbone, the decay at the edges, the tentativeness she feels when it's unclear just how much room she has to maneuver.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    From the beginning of her career, Duffy's voice alone was clearly not her most potent weapon. Here, she oddly attempts to build an album out of it, not succeeding with anything close to the power and elegance of Rockferry.
  5. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Endlessly is like many successors to huge-selling albums: the attempts to break with the artist's trademark sound are tentative, and the result is a record that hedges its bets to only limited success.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Endlessly is unlikely to repeat Rockferry's wildfire success--what could?--lacking as it does instantaneous radio killers. But Duffy's success has always been dependent on both her beautiful voice and her producers' ability to tap into boomer tastes with snippets of 60s pop and nods that drift from Lulu (in Well, Well, Well) to the more modern likes of Madonna.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Though not without its charms, Endlessly is too slight and uneven to impress unconditionally.
  8. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Endlessly both reverts to old tricks quickly and constantly strains to update Duffy's appeal, and it's an awkward mix. Her material is frustratingly hit-or-miss either way.
  9. That cat-in-a-swing-coat yowl will still be a divider for many, but it's a snag of human individuality in a smooth, if mixed pack.
  10. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Her ballads and neo-disco songs are steeped in lovelorn melodrama, but her bland persona doesn't give the storms life. You're left with saggy stylistic gestures that seem to drag on, endlessly.
  11. Dec 7, 2010
    42
    Duffy is clearly striving for growth with Endlessly, but outside her comfort zone, she comes up short.
  12. Mojo
    Dec 14, 2010
    40
    It's when Duffy and co stop trying so hard that the album fairs best. [Jan. 2011, p. 100]
  13. Dec 14, 2010
    40
    Lyrics are heavy-handed (especially on the Papa Don't Preach rip-off Keeping My Baby), melodies are forgettable, and her voice has little charm or personality. Disappointing.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 7, 2016
    6
    The tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quiteThe tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quite hits the mark. The first few spins do leave you feeling a little lost, craving a little more, however, it's a grower. Give it time and it's actually quite the pleasant and satisfying pop album - Price's production in particular is worth the repeated listens. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    5
    If "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is theIf "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is the classical artist that has a big success with the first album and then disappears. I hope that now she'll takes a break form music, for return with a good album like her first. ( sorry for my English ) Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    Ah, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It'sAh, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It's a good album, it has a lot of likability, you cannot help but find her music interesting. It might not be the most groundbreaking music of all time, but it's retro at it's sweetest. I hate to compare artists albums, i like to take them for the individual record that they are, but at times you want Duffy to belt out a note or two like she did on previously, i mean, she won a Grammy for 'Best Pop Vocal Album' and sold 6.5 Million copies of Rockferry, her voice made her the star she is..why didn't she use it on this album ? Comparisons aside, this album might not be able to hold it's own against the likes of Adele's 21 or Imelda May's Mayhem but it quite frankly **** all over Jessie J's Who You Are. Full Review »