Enough Thunder [EP]

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Though not a stand-out EP, James Blake is to be commended for attempting the path of the latter.
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    It's the extraordinary ordinariness, sophisticated simplicity, that redeems all this: even when bass drums calmly clatter wall-to-wall like hungover flies in a jar, there's a gentle edge that's mellow and mellifluous, distant yet direct.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    55
    The EP does have some great moments, and ironically it's when Blake drops the dubset and channels his classical piano roots.
  4. 50
    His considerable production chops can't disguise that his songwriting too often feels half-formed.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    47
    There are flashes of the brilliance that made the youngster such a trendy buzzname, but it's hard work wading through the awkward muck.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    40
    He composes rich, intimate electronic and acoustic soundscapes that suggest myriad emotions and intriguing songwriting possibilities. As a singer, however, he's maudlin.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    'Enough Thunder' was a bit of a letdown because it was missing that electronic edge that James Blake's previous work included. I wanted'Enough Thunder' was a bit of a letdown because it was missing that electronic edge that James Blake's previous work included. I wanted another 'Unluck' or 'The Wilhelm Scream', but it was filled with songs that I just couldn't connect with. But his voice is fantastic, which is why I'll give it a 5. Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2015
    9
    I can honestly say that James Blake is the master of melancholy for this generation. If there is another artist out there who is usingI can honestly say that James Blake is the master of melancholy for this generation. If there is another artist out there who is using technotronic melodies to convey such a deep longing, i haven't heard them yet. Fall Creek Boys Choir conveys such deep emotion (albeit you may not understand a single word of the lyrics) that reverberates unendingly. Blake even proves his chops at a more minimalistic style in A Case of You, proving that his sound is still amazing even when reduced to just his voice and the keys in front of him. I have no reservations in saying that James Blake may be the future of sad soul; whether he intends to pioneer that genre or not, he is succeeding. There is no better music being made in the 21st century to listen to over some Coffee and Cigarettes. Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    Just another EP from an over hyped artist with fans who delude themselves in his musical pretentiousness... There's not much here if youJust another EP from an over hyped artist with fans who delude themselves in his musical pretentiousness... There's not much here if you listen to the music subjectively, as opposed to listening to it for some sort of status. Full Review »