Everyday Robots

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Magnet
    May 19, 2014
    60
    Albarn aficionados will, of course, lap it up, but for the rest of us, think of it more along the lines of a faintly beguiling curio in an otherwise fascinating career. [No. 109, p.52]
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    It’s a pretty enough record, but not one that makes any sort of impression, breaks any ground, or leaves listeners wanting more.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    Everyday Robots signals a sea change in Albarn's oeuvre because it is, ostensibly at least, a work that tackles its creator's origins with something close to sincerity. I say close to, because there are plenty of moments here when the familiar orientalism returns to produce slightly nauseating results.
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    50
    The album's attempts at shaking up the down-tempo, down-hearted mood fall short.
  5. 50
    Lurching drum-machine beats, gentle piano chords, and somber string arrangements form the musical groundwork upon which Albarn sighs about the encroaching dominance of technology. If you’re the kind of person who shares this worldview, you may find Everyday Robots an often lovely demonstration of post-millennium tension. If not, the album’s monotony can fast become punishing.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    50
    There's nothing inherently wrong with bemoaning cultural change (it's a better thematic analogue for personal detachment than the isolation of being rich and famous, at least), but Everyday Robots employs a scolding tone that doesn't help sugarcoat its cranky message.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Clearly influenced by Brian Eno (who appears on two tracks), it is an ambient snoozefest marred by listless mood pieces.
  8. Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Though deftly orchestrated, Everyday Robots feels deflated and aimless, and the nature-versus-technology theme frequently results in clichés.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 14, 2014
    10
    I absolutely dont see why this albums overall score is so dismal come on, just because its not "Happy" or "Feel good" jeez. For the musicI absolutely dont see why this albums overall score is so dismal come on, just because its not "Happy" or "Feel good" jeez. For the music critics who gave this album a forty or lower, let me just say. Your taste sucks. And instead of ruining a good albums score why dont you go ruin Miley's new single. Or anyone else who sends out **** 24/7 for money. (People here are smarter than the Critics) Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    I am loving the album. Although I must say I was expecting a little bit more memorable tunes. The songs that come out the most are The SelfishI am loving the album. Although I must say I was expecting a little bit more memorable tunes. The songs that come out the most are The Selfish Giant, You & Me and Photographs (You Are Taking Now). Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    Absolutely mesmerizing debut by Damon Albarn. Complex and personal. Everyday Robots is sharp twist on the age old theme of Nature vs.Absolutely mesmerizing debut by Damon Albarn. Complex and personal. Everyday Robots is sharp twist on the age old theme of Nature vs. Technology. For me, the key standout songs from the album are Hollow Ponds, Hostiles, Everyday Robots, and Lonely Press Play.

    One of the best albums to come out so far in the year, I can't wait to hear Damon play this album live. A must have for Blur or Gorillaz fans, and a fairly enjoyable listen even for those who aren't.
    Full Review »