Everything, Everything

  • Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2000

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Despite being assembled from such an array of concerts, the album brilliantly captures the continuity of a live performance.
  2. 90
    Immaculately recorded and mixed, the set (all classics, from "Pearls Girl" and "Born Slippy" to "Juanita" and "King Of Snake") presents all of the improvisatory and visceral excitement of an Underworld gig without (as is the case with most live recordings) losing any of its sonic intensity.
  3. A flat-out incredible live recording... it's Underworld as nonstop high, a disc that for 75 minutes keeps seizing and re-seizing the air.
  4. Checkout.com
    the album shows that the group has the power to whip audiences into a frenzy with beats and loops that feel remarkably organic and spontaneous.... Everything should be required listening for those who question the validity of electronic in a live format.
  5. And it makes the right choices, that much is indisputable; almost everything here is a monumental Underworld moment.
  6. To its credit, Live: Everything, Everything does a good job displaying the group's qualities that set it apart from the strictly DJ-and-DAT set.
  7. A seamless and transcendent eight-track mix culled from a handful of 1998 and 1999 performances...
  8. Select
    Like most live LPs, this is ultimately an artefact for fans rather than newcomers, but it's quite some arefact. (Oct 2000, p.112)
  9. And just like their studio LPs, this one works so well, not just because the tracks are so excellently produced, but because Underworld is so good at placing sympathetic tracks next to each other and creating effortless-sounding transitions.... excellent track selection (evenly distributed from all three LPs) and a winning performance let the band get nearly everything right on their first live album.
  10. 80
    The big tunes--Push Upstairs, King of Snake, Born Slippy--are brasher and more powerful, and while the studio subtleties evaporate, they are replaced by thundering rock-n-roll energy and even wilder streams of lyrical consciousness.
  11. Revolution
    Unleashes the force and power of Hyde, Smith, and Emerson on every track. [Oct 2000, p.112]
  12. Though Everything, Everything is unquestionably a swan song for the Emerson years, it's far from a mopey affair. In fact, it tackles early tracks like "Rez" and "Cowgirl," and pumps them up with megawatt power.
  13. Everything, Everything is a solid live album, and a great introduction to the music of Underworld, even if its most transcendent moments prove to be all too fleeting.
  14. 70
    Although most tracks don't stray far from the studio versions (aside from a few typical chants and rants from Hyde and a nice transition or two), Everything Everything is a must-have as a milestone in the life of the band.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. EB
    Oct 31, 2006
    Fantastic music, live or not. A deserted island disc for sure.
  2. HauiC
    Apr 8, 2005
    FN AWSOME! If you like live music and techno, this thing is crazy!!!
  3. TomA
    Sep 17, 2004
    It brings light in