• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Dec 15, 2009
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 139
  2. Negative: 37 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeM.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Those complaining about this album's fallacies are those with a past bias for animal collective. note all ratings under 5 proclaiming them the "most overrated" band in the world. this has nothing to do with the music, so get your facts straight. this is a charming, addictive, and ultimately successful album that does not waste one moment.
  2. GeoffreyG
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    Continues Animal Collectives trend of making absolutely gorgeous and unendingly interesting music. What Would I Want? Sky is an amazing song, and Graze and I Think I Can are also awesome. Bleed and On A Highway drone on, but never get boring. Great EP.
  3. DavidS.
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    "There's not a cut here that will make anyone think differently about the Baltimore-born outfit" False, your mom wouldn't be down to listen "Alvin Row" but she could most certainly get into "What Would I Want? Sky." This is even more accessible than MPP, you're a crazy person.
  4. marko
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Might be better than merriweather, which is ridiculous.
  5. NT
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Anyone who said this album sucks is either A) a jealous, unaccomplished, wannabe indie rockstar who is jealous of their abilities as songwriters and musicians or B) has no taste in music and didnt listen to the lyrics. This is an excellent pop album and an excellent an example of honest, heartfelt songwriting.
  6. JM
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    It seems that people really miss the point in music when it becomes hyped. This is a beautiful record and I dare you to name a more lovely song than What Would I Want? Sky that was released last year.
  7. thekingisback
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Hey Dustin C and J T, you can put your Metallica or DMB or whatever away, we are trying to move past that trite stuff. Call me a hipster or whatever, music is about evolution and these guys make the case in spades.
  8. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    I love reading peoples reviews, they make me laugh. I can see why some people don't like Animal Collective, it isn't conventional or typical of American music of this time, and sometimes, I admit, hard to listen to. But I love it. It's so creative and unique and passionate. Graze, What Would I Want? Sky, and I Think I Can are all great songs in my opinion. Some of my favorite AnimalI love reading peoples reviews, they make me laugh. I can see why some people don't like Animal Collective, it isn't conventional or typical of American music of this time, and sometimes, I admit, hard to listen to. But I love it. It's so creative and unique and passionate. Graze, What Would I Want? Sky, and I Think I Can are all great songs in my opinion. Some of my favorite Animal Collective songs. It may take some getting used to when you first start listening to them, but once you get to appreciate it, it is so good. Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    The track "I Think I Can" is actually one of the best things AC has ever done during their career. The whole album is just oh, so so great. And guess what? "What Would I Want Sky" only makes this album impossibly better. Somehow.
  10. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    this for me is the best body of work theyve ever done, so open and exciting and bonkers and brilliant. couple of darker tracks. it sounds better than merriweather which for me was quite screechy in parts.
  11. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Best EP ever recorded. I could listen to this record all day long. Graze is the most majestic song you will ever hear in your life. The pan flute makes you want to be a kid again and do crazy drugs at the same time. What Would I Want? Sky is equally as compelling and one of the best songs I've ever head. Bleed is a somber middle piece that fits well between WWIW?S On A Highway, a breezyBest EP ever recorded. I could listen to this record all day long. Graze is the most majestic song you will ever hear in your life. The pan flute makes you want to be a kid again and do crazy drugs at the same time. What Would I Want? Sky is equally as compelling and one of the best songs I've ever head. Bleed is a somber middle piece that fits well between WWIW?S On A Highway, a breezy song about longing for a home. I Think I Can, the closing track, is one of Panda Bear's greatest contributions. 10/10 A+ 100% Buy this now. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. This is Animal Collective at their finest folks, inviting everyone in to see them at their peak and loving the freedom that comes with being on top of the world.
  2. Far from the emperor with no summertime clothes, the five songs on Fall Be Kind--a mixture of holdovers from the MPP sessions and new material recorded this year--retain the electronics, but add some samples and head in a darker thematic direction.
  3. Fall Be Kind doesn’t exactly break past the barriers set by this year’s "Merriweather Post Pavilion," but it is an excellent extension of the ethos captured by that particular record.