Finally Famous - Big Sean
Finally Famous Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut from the Detroit rapper features executive producers Kanye West and No I.D.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. 83
    His debut is a charming start, chronicling his journey from pauper to hip-hop prince. [1 Jul 2011, p.74]
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    Finally Famous, which contains a handful of other tracks produced by No I.D. as well as collaborations with the likes of the Neptunes and Wiz Khalifa, is a slick triumph filled with muscular drums and rolling synthesizers.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    Finally Famous boasts enough bouncy beats and catchy hooks that he should have no problem landing a follow up on the charts. Still, the album falls short of establishing him as an artist of a magnitude to match his name.
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Finally Famous is a choice summertime rap recĀ­ord, complete with bright, breezy synth beats and cameos from Chris Brown and Mr. West himself. Prom King or not, Sean's clearly the life of the party.
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    61
    Ultimately, Sean's a likable character.
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    52
    It is his fourth record to be titled Finally Famous, which is preposterous for a lot of reasons, the largest of which being that he is still not famous.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    35
    Sweet Christ, in no universe will Big Sean be greater than Notorious B.I.G. or Big Pun, and at the rate he's going he'll be lucky to end up a better rapper than Sean Combs, let alone Sean Carter.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    OMG, I loved this album!!! Big sean is great!!! The songs are so catchy and his voice is amazing. He is definitely not just a cute face. I'm officially a Big Sean fan. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This is album is a great debut album for this young emcee, it has lyricism (Much More), wordplay (I Do It), mainstream songs (My Last), Party Songs (Marvin Gaye & Chardonnay) and surreal songs (Memories). This album is definitely for the summer and he was nowhere to go but up Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    This album is definitely a mainstream success fit for summer. The overall mood is very happy and thankfull. I think the greatest thing about Big Sean is how humble he is, he truly loves his fans as much as they love him and on this album he basks in the moment. Not a perfect debut, very feature heavy, on many songs the mixing/mastering is off, and lyrically this is just average for Sean compared to his mixtapes, but you can't deny the fun and happiness this album creates. And hey that's what life is about right? Collapse
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Big Sean definitely started his career on the right note with this album. It may not be the best ever made, but it definitely put everyone on alert and made us realize this guy's for real! Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    I do really like this album don't get me wrong, I gave it a 6 only because I like his mixtapes better. But I do it, Marvin & Chardonnay, and Dance (A$$) are the sh*t!!! Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    Imma big fan Of Big Sean. But this debut really wasnt good only good songs were, I Do It, 100 Keys, & High. His finally famous mixtapes are better than this album. If Big Sean wants to be up top as one of the greatest Rappers then he should hit the studio and write the lyrics as if it was a mixtape Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    Genre: Rap
    I'm not exactly a fan of this music genre but I can appreciate certain artists. Finally Famous however is just a terrible album
    and features possibly the worst song I've ever had the misfortune to listen to in Dance A$$ (not only is it painful to listen to but the lyrics are simply embarrassing).

    If this is what rap scene is offering nowadays then I'll pass thank you.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews