Folker

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Folker Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No, it's not a folk album, but Westerberg does handle all of the instruments himself on this latest solo release. (We suppose that it's hard to find replacements for The Replacements.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Under The Radar
    90
    The album is Westerberg at his extremes. [#7]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Rough-and-tumble folk rock with a winning--if self-conscious--DIY approach. [17 Sep 2004, p.76]
  3. Filter
    60
    Sounds sometimes Dylan and most of the time Starbucks. [#12, p.102]
  4. It's hard not to walk away with the feeling he's capable of better than this.
  5. Pleasant but alternately catchy and bland.
  6. Blender
    10
    A poorly-recorded collection of lazily-written songs recorded by an artist whose muse deserted him long ago. [Oct 2004, p.131]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. MaureenO
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    Once again, Paul Westerberg has created a masterpiece. He has given the music world what it has lacked for too long; honest-to-goodness Once again, Paul Westerberg has created a masterpiece. He has given the music world what it has lacked for too long; honest-to-goodness music. Westerberg's whimsical and thought-provoking lyrics never let up on this album. Expand
  2. JeffB
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    A terrific album, but a slow burner. Let it grow on you.
  3. dudeflym
    Nov 3, 2004
    9
    how sweet would it be to get to hang out in your basement and put out great records. i knew studying too much would never get me anywhere.
  4. LesHectic
    Sep 22, 2004
    8
    This album is a grower, to some maybe like a wart. But that is its charm, warts & all. One listen, it's a 5, but after a few listens This album is a grower, to some maybe like a wart. But that is its charm, warts & all. One listen, it's a 5, but after a few listens (and skipping '$100 groom') it truly is a heartfelt worthwhile collection of basement taped songs. Those looking for commercial polish go elsewhere. Those looking for an artist geniunely expressing himself see 'now i wonder', 'my dad', 'lookin up in heaven', and 'folk star'. Expand
  5. JohnO
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    I would give Stereo/Mono and Come Feel Me Tremble each a 10. Having said that, Folker has some gems and some filler, where the previous two I would give Stereo/Mono and Come Feel Me Tremble each a 10. Having said that, Folker has some gems and some filler, where the previous two records are end-to-end marvels. Gun Shy and My Dad are my favs. If you're just getting to know Paul, I wouldn't suggest this as your first purchase. With regards to the DIY stuff getting old (from a prior post), get used to it - he's not going back to the old way. Expand
  6. StevenC
    Sep 11, 2004
    7
    A solid album; 2 classics on it -- they keep trying to bury the guy -- but he's still good.
  7. MikaelB
    Sep 7, 2004
    4
    Wanted this to be good. First track is enough for to abandon one of my favorite rockers of all time.... trying to be tongue and cheek? how Wanted this to be good. First track is enough for to abandon one of my favorite rockers of all time.... trying to be tongue and cheek? how about a refund? Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews