Folker - Paul Westerberg
Folker Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No, it's not a folk album, but Westerberg does handle all of the instruments himself on this latest solo release. (We suppose that it's hard to find replacements for The Replacements.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. The album is Westerberg at his extremes. [#7]
  2. Rough-and-tumble folk rock with a winning--if self-conscious--DIY approach. [17 Sep 2004, p.76]
  3. 60
    Sounds sometimes Dylan and most of the time Starbucks. [#12, p.102]
  4. 60
    It only reveals its strengths after a dozen or more plays. [Nov 2004, p.112]
  5. It's hard not to walk away with the feeling he's capable of better than this.
  6. 10
    A poorly-recorded collection of lazily-written songs recorded by an artist whose muse deserted him long ago. [Oct 2004, p.131]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. MaureenO
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    Once again, Paul Westerberg has created a masterpiece. He has given the music world what it has lacked for too long; honest-to-goodness music. Westerberg's whimsical and thought-provoking lyrics never let up on this album. Expand
  2. DavidL
    Oct 4, 2004
    9
    The lowfi approach is not for everyone, but if you accept, you are in for a meaningful experience.
  3. dudeflym
    Nov 3, 2004
    9
    how sweet would it be to get to hang out in your basement and put out great records. i knew studying too much would never get me anywhere.
  4. JackI
    Sep 19, 2004
    8
    Some gems, some throw-aways. The gems (Gun Shy, My Dad) are pure & true.
  5. LesHectic
    Sep 22, 2004
    8
    This album is a grower, to some maybe like a wart. But that is its charm, warts & all. One listen, it's a 5, but after a few listens (and skipping '$100 groom') it truly is a heartfelt worthwhile collection of basement taped songs. Those looking for commercial polish go elsewhere. Those looking for an artist geniunely expressing himself see 'now i wonder', 'my dad', 'lookin up in heaven', and 'folk star'. Expand
  6. JohnO
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    I would give Stereo/Mono and Come Feel Me Tremble each a 10. Having said that, Folker has some gems and some filler, where the previous two records are end-to-end marvels. Gun Shy and My Dad are my favs. If you're just getting to know Paul, I wouldn't suggest this as your first purchase. With regards to the DIY stuff getting old (from a prior post), get used to it - he's not going back to the old way. Expand
  7. MikaelB
    Sep 7, 2004
    4
    Wanted this to be good. First track is enough for to abandon one of my favorite rockers of all time.... trying to be tongue and cheek? how about a refund? Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews