Folklore

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MK
    Dec 15, 2003
    0
    Die, unholy beast!!!!
  2. GeraldW
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    I am angry at all the ignorant and hysterical reveiws this album has been receiving. Critics in magazines and newspapers all seem to be "stuffed shirts" who have no dyversity in terms of music they like. They make stupid comments about Nelly's new album not staking up to last years, or it being too random. But to me it is a great album, I have listened to it since I bought it on its I am angry at all the ignorant and hysterical reveiws this album has been receiving. Critics in magazines and newspapers all seem to be "stuffed shirts" who have no dyversity in terms of music they like. They make stupid comments about Nelly's new album not staking up to last years, or it being too random. But to me it is a great album, I have listened to it since I bought it on its release date and I it's an album that makes you feel good as well as well as making you fell good about being alive. So all in all, quit hatin' on Nelly...'cause if you don't like her something is wrong with you!!! Expand
  3. NickW
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    This album contains such a solid set of songs. I enjoyed it thoroughly and would really urge you to get it. It has something for everyone.
  4. Mark
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    Really wonderful. She's really taking risks here and most of them pay off quite nicely. Highlights are "Forca", "Powerless", "Grass is Greener" and "Build You Up". Sure, a couple of songs fall flat. But what a relief to have a young artist willing to take risks like this.
  5. markyj
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Best cd of 2003 period!!!!!!!!!
  6. MarcoG
    Dec 27, 2003
    10
    Wonderful mixture of different styles of music. The final song of this album is truly a gem.
  7. ChristinaG
    Dec 23, 2003
    8
    This album is great but its not what I expected. I expected a lot more of the fun goofy things like before...but it shows how great of a voice she really has. And EXPLODE ROCKS.
  8. RudyC
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    This album is like a breath of fresh air. A party that keeps you dancing.
  9. AndrewC
    Jan 29, 2004
    9
    An innovative, joyful, and most of all refreshing album. It solidifies the feelings of unexplainable and probably weird happiness all of us feel sometimes.
  10. DarkBas
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Only when there are more bands/ singers making music like Nelly it's time to get critical.
  11. ParkerW
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    I love this album, its different, Nelly deserves credit for not making a carbon copy of her debut.
  12. DesmondC
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    In my opinion, this album can be rated only after repeated listens. There are really unique songs on it but it takes time to appreciate them to their full potential. At first, I wanted some of the songs to go faster but later on I learned to let the songs breathe. The lyrics are absolutely awesome as well.
  13. WalterR
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    This artist is not afraid of expressing herself. Of all female singers out there she is the only one with a soul. She is puting her soul out there not her body or looks, although she is physically beautiful too.!! Great JOB.
  14. AndrewD
    Feb 1, 2004
    8
    Whoa Nelly could almost be described as an instant classic, well at least for Nelly Furtado, each and every song has value, making it a great debut album! Folklore isn't quite at that level, but is is still a strong second effort. Proving she is far from a one album wonder, and continuing to show off her great talent. Her first single, Powerless (say what you want), shows she Whoa Nelly could almost be described as an instant classic, well at least for Nelly Furtado, each and every song has value, making it a great debut album! Folklore isn't quite at that level, but is is still a strong second effort. Proving she is far from a one album wonder, and continuing to show off her great talent. Her first single, Powerless (say what you want), shows she isn't phased by the fact she is not another Britney or Christina by how she looks. That is what makes her who she is, not stooping to those levels by how she looks or how she sounds. Expand
  15. EricF
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    i love this cd just because it has a portuguese background. i love nelly furtado because she is beautiful, portuguese and she has a awesome distinct voice.
  16. ItaloM
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    This is the best cd ever!
  17. JulietaD
    Dec 15, 2003
    2
    This CD is really poor. I expected much more from this girl
  18. PaulG
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    One of the most powerful albums of the last several years -- inventive, unapologetically political, and wonderfully unique.
  19. TorikH
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    This album was my favourite for 2003-2004. Stand out tracks are Powerless, Explode (my fav), Picture Perfect and Island Of Wonder
  20. guilhermev
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    the reviews were... i dont know. You must have a heart to feel this album as ideal...
  21. TyeN.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This album is one of my favorites of all time. This is a huge thing for me to say, but let me tell you that it takes a keen listener and more than a few listens all the way through before you really start digging into it's many layers. Nelly Furtado is one of the few artists that I look forward too, and this album is why. Her vocals, delivery, writing...this is tops. It's This album is one of my favorites of all time. This is a huge thing for me to say, but let me tell you that it takes a keen listener and more than a few listens all the way through before you really start digging into it's many layers. Nelly Furtado is one of the few artists that I look forward too, and this album is why. Her vocals, delivery, writing...this is tops. It's moodier, darker, more serious..(although there a few fun moments here and there); basically, her heart and soul is in this album and you can feel it. My favorite tracks are "Explode", "Picture Perfect", "Try", "Fresh Off The Boat", "Build You Up", "Saturdays", and "Childhood Dreams". Seriously, do me a favor and give it a chance. You may hate it the first time through, but the best kind of love (or anything for that matter) is the kind you have to work for. Expand
  22. MikeyD
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    Awesome cd!!
  23. CaseyW.
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    The reviews this album received when it was released were very short-sighted; if you read most of the ones above, they essentially criticize Furtado for not putting out a second all-R&B/hip-hop inspired pop album. It's unfortunate when musical critics, who deride Top 40 pop as being "unimaginitive," get to hear a performer demonstrating what she's capable of when given more The reviews this album received when it was released were very short-sighted; if you read most of the ones above, they essentially criticize Furtado for not putting out a second all-R&B/hip-hop inspired pop album. It's unfortunate when musical critics, who deride Top 40 pop as being "unimaginitive," get to hear a performer demonstrating what she's capable of when given more freedom. If your first thought is "where's da party at" when listening to this album, it's not for you. But give it a real listen, and it's a great mix of styles with mature lyrics that don't really suit themselves to a simple party album. Unfortunately, Furtado's handlers seem to regret this layered and rewarding album's lack of radio play and mass appeal, resulting in her new Timbaland-produced Loose album, a step back and in the wrong direction in my opinion. Expand
  24. CesarD.
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    i think this is one of the best albums ever. why? cuz it`s deep, smart and first of all is unique.
  25. JuliaA
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    up off her three albums, this one's my favorite. It has more inner ecletic,exotic feeling, and more honesty in its lyrics.this is a great athnic-groove album,live it up just like its title. whatever the critiques said, it's just a splash of numbers they put there.this album worth more than those numberings.
  26. JoeS
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    This is the best album Nelly Furtado has ever done... it is intensely layered, and you will hear something new everytime.
  27. ZsoltB
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    So beautiful and meaningful.... I love its songs, especially the track Explode!!!
  28. JulioA
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Sooooo good.
  29. SaraM.l
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    I must say that I wholeheartedly disagree with the above reviews. This album is an innovative yet natural progression of Furtado's style and skill as an artist, vocalist, and producer. I was amazed with the genuine emotion of the vocals and ingenuity of the arrangements. It's an album that I can listen to endlessly (as with the first) and still get a new feeling or perspective, I must say that I wholeheartedly disagree with the above reviews. This album is an innovative yet natural progression of Furtado's style and skill as an artist, vocalist, and producer. I was amazed with the genuine emotion of the vocals and ingenuity of the arrangements. It's an album that I can listen to endlessly (as with the first) and still get a new feeling or perspective, like a good book you keep re-reading. The raw energy and life of this music is excitingly contagious and uplifting. Expand
  30. YvesG.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    A good album, with very interesting and different sounds.
  31. Mar 31, 2016
    10
    You ever have one of those rare moments where an album comes along and you love every single song on it? Folklore is it for me. It's my all time favorite album and Nelly Furtado's best work.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    There's clearly imagination here, with strange little sonic tweaks and tics at every turn, but only once does it gel into something satisfying. [Dec 2003, p.141]
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    At times [Folklore] is too self-satisfied, throwing everything available into the mix in what seems like a desperate bid to grab some cred. [Jan 2004, p.114]
  3. A euphoric mix of wild Latin rhythms, electronic surges, soothing acoustic sounds and just about every instrument imaginable.