Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Folklore is about the joy of making something new out of random elements, and few other albums this year have captured that pleasure as well as this one does. [28 Nov 2003, p.123]
  2. A euphoric mix of wild Latin rhythms, electronic surges, soothing acoustic sounds and just about every instrument imaginable.
  3. 75
    While the vocals and arrangements are more ambitious and arguably better, there's less free play, less of the goofiness and kewpie-dancehall scatting that defined her. [Jan 2004, p.98]
  4. Folklore is essentially the sound of an artist taking a risk.
  5. Though few tracks on Folklore stand out, the album hangs together agreeably, thanks to its parade of offbeat influences and guest stars.
  6. At times [Folklore] is too self-satisfied, throwing everything available into the mix in what seems like a desperate bid to grab some cred. [Jan 2004, p.114]
  7. 60
    Her melodies are stirring but the headstrong album only works to a limited degree. [Dec 2003, p.122]
  8. While there are some interesting musical moments on Folklore -- enough to make it worth a listen -- the dogged seriousness and didactic worldview become a bit overbearing not long before the album is a quarter of the way finished, particularly since the fusion of worldbeat and adult alternative pop often seems heavy-handed.
  9. 40
    There's clearly imagination here, with strange little sonic tweaks and tics at every turn, but only once does it gel into something satisfying. [Dec 2003, p.141]
  10. Folklore is a Whoa, Nelly! redux, without a single as good as "I'm Like a Bird."
  11. This album is nowhere near as imaginative or as interesting as its maker thinks it is.
  12. There's nothing on 'Folklore' that comes anywhere near the catchiness of anything off her debut.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. YvesG.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    A good album, with very interesting and different sounds.
  2. SaraM.l
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    I must say that I wholeheartedly disagree with the above reviews. This album is an innovative yet natural progression of Furtado's style I must say that I wholeheartedly disagree with the above reviews. This album is an innovative yet natural progression of Furtado's style and skill as an artist, vocalist, and producer. I was amazed with the genuine emotion of the vocals and ingenuity of the arrangements. It's an album that I can listen to endlessly (as with the first) and still get a new feeling or perspective, like a good book you keep re-reading. The raw energy and life of this music is excitingly contagious and uplifting. Full Review »
  3. JulioA
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Sooooo good.