Fuse - Keith Urban
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Keith promised that Fuse would change things up, and he delivered.
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    For all the piecemeal recording, technological obsession and sheer ambition on the Fuse, Urban manages to fashion it all into a (mostly) working whole and maintain his identity as a contemporary country artist, even as he reaches for the mainstream pop fences.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    For all the up-to-the-minute production talent--including Stargate and Mike Elizondo--this often sounds like an Eighties record, all big, clipped drums and guitar-face soloing.... Still, the best tracks are the most country.
  4. 67
    The result is sonically exploratory (if overproduced), but Urban's breezy, flirty lyrics are so dreadfully derivative that they undo his attempt at diversity. [13 Sep 2013, p.71]
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    50
    Fuse sounds basically like all of the past few albums but with less guitar fireworks, more drum machines, more “oh oh oh” backing vocals, slightly more generic choruses and verses, and less moments where I’m surprised by something within the song.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    The words are working hard here, and the music is, too, but Mr. Urban is gliding through, barely quaking at all.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Fuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already aFuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already a ground-breaker with his hybrid rock/pop country style--but he still manages to outdo his own originality and created a more expansive, exciting sound. The result is an eclectic collection of songs that have Urban's identifying elements(distinctively textured vocals and expert guitar work.) without losing any sense of honesty and storytelling. Make sure you buy the deluxe version, you don't want to miss a track. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure about this album with the first listen, it wasn't what I was used to from Keith and I am a long time fan. But with eachI wasn't sure about this album with the first listen, it wasn't what I was used to from Keith and I am a long time fan. But with each succeeding listen, and I've listened many times now, I'm enjoying it more and more. The songs I thought I might skip I find now that I enjoy. True, Keith added new sounds into his usual mix, but the usual mix is still there, still Keith. I'm loving Come Back To Me and Raise 'Em Up best but runners up would be Cop Car and Black Leather Jacket although the mix of favorites seems to change at times. If you are on the fence about purchasing the album, don't be. Run out and get it NOW. Keith is amazing! Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of Keith Urban's Best CD's yet. The way the music coaxes and climbs and soars and caresses each song. Keith's voice is in tipThis is one of Keith Urban's Best CD's yet. The way the music coaxes and climbs and soars and caresses each song. Keith's voice is in tip top shape and beautiful through out the CD. FUSE is just that mix and collection of different tunes and songs and genre's all in the familiar Keith Urban package, with catchy riffs and lyrics. It has heartfelt ballads and fun get on your feet country line dance type songs. Just a well rounded, fun beautiful CD! FUSE is fantastic! Full Review »