• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fuse Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio release for the country-pop singer and American Idol judge features guest appearances from Miranda Lambert and Eric Church.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Keith promised that Fuse would change things up, and he delivered.
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    For all the up-to-the-minute production talent--including Stargate and Mike Elizondo--this often sounds like an Eighties record, all big, clipped drums and guitar-face soloing.... Still, the best tracks are the most country.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    For all the piecemeal recording, technological obsession and sheer ambition on the Fuse, Urban manages to fashion it all into a (mostly) working whole and maintain his identity as a contemporary country artist, even as he reaches for the mainstream pop fences.
  4. 67
    The result is sonically exploratory (if overproduced), but Urban's breezy, flirty lyrics are so dreadfully derivative that they undo his attempt at diversity. [13 Sep 2013, p.71]
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    The words are working hard here, and the music is, too, but Mr. Urban is gliding through, barely quaking at all.
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    50
    Fuse sounds basically like all of the past few albums but with less guitar fireworks, more drum machines, more “oh oh oh” backing vocals, slightly more generic choruses and verses, and less moments where I’m surprised by something within the song.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    With his new album "Fuse", Keith urban has brought the effigy of country rocker to a whole new level with the amalgam of drum loops, synth,With his new album "Fuse", Keith urban has brought the effigy of country rocker to a whole new level with the amalgam of drum loops, synth, phenomenal guitar licks, a silky smooth voice, and a slew of writers and producers that would make your head spin! Taking on this type of complex project seems daunting but Keith makes it look like no big deal. The elements he has fused together for his latest album certainly makes it a piece de resistance! If you don't already own the album then you should definitely make it a point to go out and purchase it! From fantastic duets with Miranda Lambert (We Were Us) and Eric Church (Raise 'Em Up) to the soulful Come Back To Me and the "get you on your feet dancing" Good Thing, Keith's 8th studio album is one of his best efforts to date. Good on ya, mate! Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Love this album! Keith hit it out of the park with this one! Fuse is so different from Keith's previous albums but it works! The songs getLove this album! Keith hit it out of the park with this one! Fuse is so different from Keith's previous albums but it works! The songs get stuck in your head and you find yourself singing along. That's the mark of a winner! Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Fuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already aFuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already a ground-breaker with his hybrid rock/pop country style--but he still manages to outdo his own originality and created a more expansive, exciting sound. The result is an eclectic collection of songs that have Urban's identifying elements(distinctively textured vocals and expert guitar work.) without losing any sense of honesty and storytelling. Make sure you buy the deluxe version, you don't want to miss a track. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Fuse is a work of a true artist, who's not afraid to expand his horizon and be outside of his box. Its fresh and innovative fusion ofFuse is a work of a true artist, who's not afraid to expand his horizon and be outside of his box. Its fresh and innovative fusion of different styles anchored in a Country genre. It hits a perfect balance of country with a little pop and rock and everything in between but successfully remains "Keith Urban" trademark. Every song managed to be different even with a common subject. Love it from track 1 to 16. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of Keith's finest albums, if not the finest. He challenged himself to do something new and fresh and still keep it country andThis is one of Keith's finest albums, if not the finest. He challenged himself to do something new and fresh and still keep it country and yet Keith Urban (known for his rock/pop edge). He accomplishes this beautifully. I love the energy, his new voice range (thanks to successful surgery), and those ever-present awesome guitar riffs. There are several songs on this album that easily could become another #1 hit. I have never seen him release an album that has had so many potential #1 singles. And the two duets, one with Miranda Lambert, and the other with Eric Church, are both brilliant and and and a master stroke on Keith Urban's part to record and include them on this awesome album. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I love this new album. Keith kept the promises to his fans. New energy, new songs, and our same Keith shinning thru loud and clear.I love this new album. Keith kept the promises to his fans. New energy, new songs, and our same Keith shinning thru loud and clear.

    When I listen to music I just want to be entertained. Who else is better than Keith Urban to do just that !

    You did it again Keith, in a stellar way! It is awesome.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    I listened to the free steam on iTunes and was glad I did before I spent the money. I don't know what got into Keith to put this album out.I listened to the free steam on iTunes and was glad I did before I spent the money. I don't know what got into Keith to put this album out. He is an excellent singer songwriter and musician as evidenced in Golden Road and Be Here. His shows are beyond compare and I've been to over 100. I have been a fan for 20 years since the Ranch days. It seems to me that he is trying to be all things to all people. There is no consistency to this album and no definite story throughout. I think if Keith would stick to being true to himself and his heart he would be back to putting out quality music like he did in 2002. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews