Gangs

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Kerrang!
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    While this is as trying and testing as it is unique, it's certainly not without its charms. [4 Jun 2011, p.51]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2011
    60
    Monstrously heavy, full of tense, nervous energy. [July 2011, p. 120]
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    40
    Considering that most songs poke past five minutes, they're oddly unmemorable, featuring hooks with infinitesimal life spans, as well as guitars and electronics that all shoulder one another for room with too much hyperactivity to crunch into one song.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 20, 2011
    10
    The best 44' of music in 2011 so far, huge guitar riffs and changes of pace. Forget about math or post rock, just listen to it w/o prejudicesThe best 44' of music in 2011 so far, huge guitar riffs and changes of pace. Forget about math or post rock, just listen to it w/o prejudices of any kind and enjoy: brilliant! Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    7
    A great live band, not sure how well their music transfers across to record. There isn't a single lyric on either this or their self-titledA great live band, not sure how well their music transfers across to record. There isn't a single lyric on either this or their self-titled first record and sometimes this makes the tracks a little repetitive. Most songs are 5 minutes plus of dense guitar **** and while enjoyable, it's not something I personally would listen to very frequently. It's too heavy to be just enjoyed backround music like some instrumental bands. The band have never failed to impress me on a live stage but I think their records would benefit hugely from some vocals/lyrics. Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I didn't think they could make a better album than their first one... and then they did, wow. This album is beyond amazing. I love every single track.