Gold Dust - Tori Amos
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2013
    3
    Fail. Gold Dust is a completely unnecessary record. Chock full of pretty strings, layers of emotionless vocals and as much autotune as a Britney Spears record, these "re-workings" don't hold a candle to the originals.
  2. Apr 19, 2014
    4
    I truly love some of these songs in their original form... but she hasn't added anything too new to the tracks. The vocals are much worse (bad production, not bad Tori-voice) and it's just not a dynamic sounding record. It sounds like she wanted to record her old songs again just like she did a decade ago with similarly boring results. Where's the life?
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    3
    I really do not see the point of this album. Had she made it a live orchestral album, it would be fine. Had she chosen some more instrumentally diverse songs, songs that didn't already feature piano and strings, from her vast catalogue, it would be fine. But this? Other than Flavor, Yes Anastasia and Precious Things, you can barely tell the difference from the originals. Actually, the only difference noticeable is her weaker, aging voice, which wouldn't be noticed if there were bigger changes to the songs themselves, and which ultimately ruins the songs for me. The idea behind this album is great, but the song choice is definetly wrong. Moreover, the only song she really improved was Flavor, while the other aforementioned two still pale in comparison to their majestic original versions. Flavor is the only reason this album gets a 3 instead of a 0. Also, Tori decided not to include any material from The Beekeeper and To Venus and Back, the two albums that have songs that would benefit the most from the orchestral changes, and she chooses songs like Girl Disappearing and Jackie's Strength (both with strings and piano), while the albums these songs are featured on have a large number of more experimental songs. All in all, a very unnecessary and forgettable release. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    3
    I'm sorry, but you've got to be kidding me. When I first listened to this album, I thought there was some mistake. The songs sound exactly like the original versions. After putting on headphones and trying again, I can hear that they are new recordings, but barely. Sure, there's orchestration and it's pretty, but I would absolutely not call these "re-workings." If you played these for random people and had them listen to the old versions, they would be hard pressed to tell you what is different. I'm a huge Tori Amos fan, but there has just been something terrible happening with her music with everything after American Doll Posse. I'm sure plenty of people will think this album is great, but I really thought I was going to get "new" versions of the songs with completely different feelings. It just feels lazy to me. If you want to buy it, I highly suggest you listen to some samples first to make sure you know what you're getting. Collapse
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The tunes sound lustrous but Amos, the singer and writer, sounds richer. [No. 93, p.53]
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The orchestral setting tempers the mannered vocal tics of some originals and proves transformative. [Dec 2012, p.96]
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    40
    Often the orchestra feels under-used on what, for the most part, are some disappointingly inert reinterpretations. [Nov 2012, p.89]