Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    87
    Re-sculpting many of her best loved songs, the complexity of her musicality emerges from the intensity of the originals-as dynamics are truly sculpted and the songs take on new and often more ominous colors.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The tunes sound lustrous but Amos, the singer and writer, sounds richer. [No. 93, p.53]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The orchestral setting tempers the mannered vocal tics of some originals and proves transformative. [Dec 2012, p.96]
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Amos teams up with the Metropole Orchestra to revisit songs from her '92 debut onward, adding sumptuous, bejewelled dimension to the rich expressive like of "Precious Things" and the conceptual epic "Yes, Anastasia."[Nov 2012, p.69]
  5. 80
    Produced by Amos, this lushly orchestrated set is at times equally compelling and dynamic, plus effectively demonstrates Amos' acumen as a musician, vocalist, and tunesmith (a scarce commodity these days).
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    70
    All things considered, Gold Dust works as an introduction to Tori Amos, though an imperfect one. It should also persuade a few lapsed fans to get reacquainted.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    Gold Dust is another of Amos' dreams realized--to record live with an orchestra--and it is most certainly for her dedicated fans, who will no doubt find elements in these new versions to enjoy.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    3
    I'm sorry, but you've got to be kidding me. When I first listened to this album, I thought there was some mistake. The songs sound exactlyI'm sorry, but you've got to be kidding me. When I first listened to this album, I thought there was some mistake. The songs sound exactly like the original versions. After putting on headphones and trying again, I can hear that they are new recordings, but barely. Sure, there's orchestration and it's pretty, but I would absolutely not call these "re-workings." If you played these for random people and had them listen to the old versions, they would be hard pressed to tell you what is different. I'm a huge Tori Amos fan, but there has just been something terrible happening with her music with everything after American Doll Posse. I'm sure plenty of people will think this album is great, but I really thought I was going to get "new" versions of the songs with completely different feelings. It just feels lazy to me. If you want to buy it, I highly suggest you listen to some samples first to make sure you know what you're getting. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    5
    While these are all great songs, I don't really get the point of the project. Why did Tori chose songs that were almost all already piano andWhile these are all great songs, I don't really get the point of the project. Why did Tori chose songs that were almost all already piano and strings based? They don't feel fresh or reimagined, just rehashed. If only she had chosen some of her rockier tracks and given them the Metropoloe treatment (for example, the amazing version of Spark performed live in 2011? Not terrible, but far from essential. Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    4
    I truly love some of these songs in their original form... but she hasn't added anything too new to the tracks. The vocals are much worse (badI truly love some of these songs in their original form... but she hasn't added anything too new to the tracks. The vocals are much worse (bad production, not bad Tori-voice) and it's just not a dynamic sounding record. It sounds like she wanted to record her old songs again just like she did a decade ago with similarly boring results. Where's the life? Full Review »