Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 80
    There's even hit-single potential--'Feathers' is unabashed radio-rock--that could make this weird bunch into the biggest cult band in the world. [Dec 2007, p.109]
  2. The New Yorkers' fourth album is grounded in frontman Claudio Sanchez's personal life, making it accessible and hugely appealing. [Nov 2007, p.137]
  3. No World For Tomorrow is Coheed doing what they do best; writing an excellent album, where the songs combine for a bigger effect together than they do individually.
  4. Based on the music alone, No World For Tomorrow, like all their work, is a phenomenal accomplishment and remarkable introduction of Progressive Rock into the mainstream cannon.
  5. Coheed and Cambria's first three outings were smart, adventurous affairs that didn't eschew accessibility and No World for Tomorrow proves no exception.
  6. C&C infuse their expansive music with enough grit and melody that you don't give a hoot what, say, 'The Hound (Of Blood And Rank)' is about. [26 Oct 2007, p.67]
  7. 70
    Coheed have found their sweet spot.
  8. the album is simple ear candy for those who haven't studied the band's previous releases, and sweet resolution for those who can spot the references to older songs (specifically 'Blood Red Summer') and former riffs ('The Crowing').
  9. Coheed and Cambria are almost too smart and ambitious for their own good--not enough, however, to cancel out the instrumental highs and car-radio-chorus charge of the best songs on their fourth album.
  10. Tomorrow isn't a shoddy version of what Coheed has always done, but at this point, it could have been far more inspired.
  11. Coheed have picked up more prog nuances so it fits that this, the last in the sequence, is their most ambitious yet, best embodied in the eight-minute 'The End Complete.'
  12. Coheed's fourth album simply doesn't deliver on the suspense that's been loaded into it. [Nov 2007, p.155]
  13. The aggression is still there, now tempered with lighter numbers like Feathers, but the whole thing still reeks of comic nerd sci-fi awesomeness.
  14. The disc sticks reliably to the formula that found them their rotation on radio, trading fluid and flashy runs from guitarist Travis Stever with Claudio Sanchez’s contagious storyteller swoon.
  15. 40
    No World For Tomorrow should ensure that 21-year-old dudes in women's jeans will gooble up reissues of "2112" for years to come. [Nov 2007, p.116]
  16. Overall, the songs are weaker than before--too many feel cheesy, bland, half-baked.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 65
  2. Negative: 20 out of 65
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    It proves how much a band can evolve when you are on your 4th album and it sounds nothing like your previous works. While the new sound does benifit the band in some ways, There are simply not enough good tracks to make this album good Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    Absolutely amazing. Claudio's vocals are just incredible, and Mic and Travis do great on bass and guitar. Taylor Hawkins does great as a fill-in for Chris Pennie. Songs mix radio rock like Feathers with hardcore like The Hound. A fine album, and the second best they've made in my opinion. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    I think the new sound definitely helps and there are certainly more good tracks than their previous album. A few bad ones but as a whole, It's certainly better then the first Burning Star album and I easily find myself listening to it again and again. Full Review »