User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 119
  2. Negative: 33 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    7
    I think the new sound definitely helps and there are certainly more good tracks than their previous album. A few bad ones but as a whole, It's certainly better then the first Burning Star album and I easily find myself listening to it again and again.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    5
    It proves how much a band can evolve when you are on your 4th album and it sounds nothing like your previous works. While the new sound does benifit the band in some ways, There are simply not enough good tracks to make this album good
  3. VirgilR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    The people who gave zeros to this album are the only sane people here.
  4. BiffT.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    Like taking a drill to your forehead.
  5. JCL
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    I'm a HUGE coheed fan.. have been since i heard A Favour House Atlantic.. i remember in an interview for Hammer magazine Claudio mentioned how his singles are the songs that he uses to suck people into the rest of the album ... well.. this album has TONS of single-sounding tracks... its too radio friendly.. doesn't compare with IKSOSE or FFTEEOM .. HOWEVER.. "The End Complete" I'm a HUGE coheed fan.. have been since i heard A Favour House Atlantic.. i remember in an interview for Hammer magazine Claudio mentioned how his singles are the songs that he uses to suck people into the rest of the album ... well.. this album has TONS of single-sounding tracks... its too radio friendly.. doesn't compare with IKSOSE or FFTEEOM .. HOWEVER.. "The End Complete" [not the full 5-part series, but part 3 of the series] ... is worth the entire price of the cd on its own. its ridiculously good. encompassing everything great about the band.. other standout tracks are "No World For Tomorrow" and "Mother Superior" ... don't get me wrong, a great album, but it seems like he didn't go all out with this record.. not progressive enough.. not unique enough.. for the most part, not up to Coheed standards Expand
  6. TH.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    After 3 listens, you come to realise this is some of Coheeds' best work. Lots of different influences and generally harder and darker the the previous albums.
  7. AllenB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    One word: Meh...
  8. JackM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    As per all other Coheed albums, amazing. Great storyline of songs.
  9. CurtisR
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great album, probably their best yet
  10. JB
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    A proper 7,5. Currently the definition of a modern rock opera! Not as good as In keeping secrets..., but way better than the first installment of Good Apollo. While in no respect my favourite band, (not even within the prog or indie genres) this is quality.
  11. g
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This is an incredible album that everybody should purchase. their not emo, not punk, not pop, or anything else, but a glorius melting pot of musical diversity. every song on this album has moments that will make you shudder. and this album is indeed epic, close to half of the album practicly dripping with syrupy rock ballads that are so profound you wont now what to do about it. BUY IT This is an incredible album that everybody should purchase. their not emo, not punk, not pop, or anything else, but a glorius melting pot of musical diversity. every song on this album has moments that will make you shudder. and this album is indeed epic, close to half of the album practicly dripping with syrupy rock ballads that are so profound you wont now what to do about it. BUY IT NOW! you wont regret it. Expand
  12. BobJ.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    Everyone that is giving this a 0 is just a huge D-bag. Their favorite band is probably Matchbox 20 or Nickelback.
  13. JoshC.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    The culmination of a grandiose sci-fi story entwined with break-taking atmosphere and ripping guitar riffs.
  14. CedricZ
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Claudio has been copying my voice since the late nineties. It's time he stop writing sci-fi stories that belong on a cereal box, cut the hair and retire. I did like him as Goldberg from The Mighty Ducks though.
  15. GregG.
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    Coheed and Cambria prove once again that they are capable of making some of the best music in today's pantheon of rock n' roll. However, some poor mixing decisions and consciously "poppy" sounding songs keep this from being perfect. However, in all honesty, if a listener is looking to hear some of the most chilling, haunting, and downright epic moments in all of music this Album Coheed and Cambria prove once again that they are capable of making some of the best music in today's pantheon of rock n' roll. However, some poor mixing decisions and consciously "poppy" sounding songs keep this from being perfect. However, in all honesty, if a listener is looking to hear some of the most chilling, haunting, and downright epic moments in all of music this Album is a must listen. Expand
  16. ShaneB.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I dunno why people are s h i t t ing on this album. Honestly Ican't thinnk of one song thats not good. And I can think of plenty that area absolutely excellent- No World for Tomorrow, Mother Superior, Gravemakers and Gunslingers, The End Complete, On the Brink. Keep listening, maybe you'll realise the truth.
  17. TomLance
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    This album has been very unfortunately gilted from the limelight it so richly deserves! Most reviews against it are merely written by people who don't like their style of music. Which is frankly stupid, if you have something preferential about their music, do not review them. (ie. spin)
  18. RJW
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    The concluding part of the Amory Wars saga delivers what Coheed & Cambria have always done well. It delivers heavy epics that make the hairs on your neck stand up, and provides us with poppy singalongs, often switching between these styles in one song. Sanchez's unique voice and the layered guitar effects aid this experience as significantly as ever, and, although The final suite has The concluding part of the Amory Wars saga delivers what Coheed & Cambria have always done well. It delivers heavy epics that make the hairs on your neck stand up, and provides us with poppy singalongs, often switching between these styles in one song. Sanchez's unique voice and the layered guitar effects aid this experience as significantly as ever, and, although The final suite has its ups and downs, the album as a whole makes for a genuinly thrilling finale worthy of repeated listens. Collapse
  19. Eric
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This is their best album yet. Way better than the last album they put out and even tops SSTB and IKSOSE:3. It took me awhile to really get into the somewhat different feel of the album...but now it's simply amazing. I'd definatly recomend it to anyone.
  20. Patrick
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Give it many listens and time. You'll discover that this is a superb album regardless of your previous Coheed experience.
  21. RobertA.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Loving it. Want more, but every excellent album should leave you wanting more - that's a PLUS, not a negative.
  22. ShawnM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    I'm not a total Coheed and Cambria nerd, so I can at least be somewhat objective. I felt like this album was a fitting conclusion to their saga, with a few bumps along the way ("Justice in Murder," "Fall of the House Atlantic") but overall it was just a great rocker. Some excellent power ballads and incredible solos really round out Claudio Sanchez's excellent songwriting. If I'm not a total Coheed and Cambria nerd, so I can at least be somewhat objective. I felt like this album was a fitting conclusion to their saga, with a few bumps along the way ("Justice in Murder," "Fall of the House Atlantic") but overall it was just a great rocker. Some excellent power ballads and incredible solos really round out Claudio Sanchez's excellent songwriting. If anything, the album could have been a little bit longer. Expand
  23. ScottyT.
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Terrible. Just terrible. How can people listen to this? No soul at all.
  24. ConradL.
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Instrumentally talented, but the rest is pure garbage. This band could be good if they sacked that disease named Claudio. His vocals ruin otherwise decent songs and his epic sci-fi drama is an epic bore. Please break up again, Coheed, if only for the sake of the other more deserving members of the band. Let Claudio go release another solo bomb like Prize Fighter Inferno and ruin himself.
  25. Nino
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    A super-solid album that exceeded my expectations. There's some very unexpected instrumentation here, with great references to previous songs for the astute listener No filler-ish sounding tracks. A great listen end to end!
  26. RyanA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    Lame!
  27. CodyKick
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    This album to me is a throwback to their old albums in several ways. I hear alot of IKS in many of the songs (the end of The Hound is pure IKS), and the layout of the album is similar to second stage, in that the album doesn't so much flow as that each song is different and very good on their own. Feathers is amazing, and MOther Superior is possibly their best song.
  28. ChesterQ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    A bloated emo turd. Just because you're poetic, doesn't forgive your whiny, trying too hard to be edgy ways. Somebody drown that lead singer.
  29. BusterJ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    The guy from Spin magazine is right.
  30. AndrewM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    I think this was a very good effort from Coheed, especially considering all the personal problems they encountered just prior to recording this album. I can't say there's a single song on this album that I don't like, although some of them are slightly less enjoyable than those of previous albums. I also think it's ridiculous that people are giving this a 0. If you I think this was a very good effort from Coheed, especially considering all the personal problems they encountered just prior to recording this album. I can't say there's a single song on this album that I don't like, although some of them are slightly less enjoyable than those of previous albums. I also think it's ridiculous that people are giving this a 0. If you flat out don't like the band, do everyone a favor and don't rate it. That's called a bias, and as you can see from the user rating, it screws up statistics. The critics, you know, guys who are paid to write reviews and know what they're doing, actually gave it decent reviews. Follow their example. Expand
  31. BrettH.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Coheed & Cambria continues to expand on their heavier rock, and all for the best. This album boasts some head-banging numbers such as 'No World For Tomorrow', "Gravemakers & Gunslingers", and "III-The End Complete". The poppy Feathers is a fine ballad, even more steeped in rocky-goodness than Blood Red Summer. Though most reviews never fall to mention the concept in some way, if Coheed & Cambria continues to expand on their heavier rock, and all for the best. This album boasts some head-banging numbers such as 'No World For Tomorrow', "Gravemakers & Gunslingers", and "III-The End Complete". The poppy Feathers is a fine ballad, even more steeped in rocky-goodness than Blood Red Summer. Though most reviews never fall to mention the concept in some way, if you had not studied the story, any of these albums would not be a drop more confusing than any MCR concept. The vocal style is good, and the solos are very less cheesey than any they sneak in on GAI. As for comments on soley instrumental talent, Claudio has a beautiful voice (that can scream in your face too) and is to any true Rush fan (not I) not like Geddy Lee at all. (far more masculine). Rock on. Expand
  32. BobO.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    Utter shite!
  33. ClaudioS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    How this got anywhere above a 30 is beyond me.
  34. TyroneH
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    This album really is good, yet, not for people who may not favour his vocals, but after 3 listens, the album really does captivate you and leaves you no other choice but to love it.
  35. DerekK.
    Oct 29, 2007
    5
    A big disappointment if you're a fan of Coheed's previous albums.
  36. EricC
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    A very solid effort and possibly their best to date. You can really tell how much attention they've given to these songs and the album as a whole. Combining pop and prog is always a difficult affair and they pull it off quite well.
  37. TunakR.
    Oct 30, 2007
    0
    If I wanted a boring sci-fi story, I'd read a book. If I wanted sterile music, I'd have a computer construct a mathematically perfect, yet boring song. With Coheed, you get both in one!
  38. MarkT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Total shite.
  39. MaxN.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums to come out of the prog-rock scene in years. Part sweet, appealing vocals, Part rock and roll, Part power ballad and 100% enjoyment. Taking all that was good from Good Apollo V1 and revamping it to perfection. From the opening riff of 'No World for Tomorrow' to the shredding guitar work in 'Gravemakers and Gunslingers', concluding with the One of the best albums to come out of the prog-rock scene in years. Part sweet, appealing vocals, Part rock and roll, Part power ballad and 100% enjoyment. Taking all that was good from Good Apollo V1 and revamping it to perfection. From the opening riff of 'No World for Tomorrow' to the shredding guitar work in 'Gravemakers and Gunslingers', concluding with the Floyd/Zepplin influenced 'On the Brink', the album producers more than enough to reach a new audience, and deliver all the bands potential has promised to long time fans. Expand
  40. JasonC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Another beautiful, creative, and technically unbelievable entry into Coheed and Cambria's montage of art work. Did Claudio sell his soul to the devil to get his uncanny writing ability and guitar-riffing mastery?
  41. SamH.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Absolutely unbelievable. This is by far the best CD that I own, and is my favorite of them so far. Exciting and intelligent guitar work and the beautiful, yet strange vocals combine to create an incredible album that I would recommend to ANYONE that has even a passing interest in quality music.
  42. ZachP
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    It definitely isn't as engaging as their last two albums, but it has it's moments. There's a lack of clarity that you can hear, and they've entered a commerciality that isn't respectful ("the running free"). Still, i admire coheed for their balls and talent at writing and portraying a story.
  43. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    A bit shorter than the last one, but a bit more solid overall. So we know the "0s" are coming from real musical integrity when one includes "Creed" in a name. Sorry Creed fan, but this is way beyond the musical skill of a 6 yr old. Thanks but us musical integricists will keep taking Coheed over Creed all day long.
  44. CalvinP.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Frankly i don't understand the people giving this album a 0 if you do not enjoy this music in the slightest i don't think i would listen to ANY music you recommend have fun with your hip hop garbage
  45. ryanp
    Feb 6, 2009
    9
    Great solos, awesome riffs, and catchy melodies what else can i say about the greatest rock band of our era
  46. ReggieV.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Would somebody stop beating that cat? Thank you, The Management
  47. MikeH
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    I think anyone that gets lazy and labels bands they don't like as "emo" is very ignorant. I've been a big fan of Coheed's progressive rock music for years. NWFT is an exceptional album with some innovative songwriting and amazing musicianship. Coheed is one of the bands that I'm actually proud to say is from my generation. I only wish they would've added a little I think anyone that gets lazy and labels bands they don't like as "emo" is very ignorant. I've been a big fan of Coheed's progressive rock music for years. NWFT is an exceptional album with some innovative songwriting and amazing musicianship. Coheed is one of the bands that I'm actually proud to say is from my generation. I only wish they would've added a little more to it by revisiting C&C folklore ( ie:"The Ring In Return/Keeping The Blade" theme in a new way) and making some songs more progressive. I felt the vibe of IKSSE3 but with the musicianship of Good Apollo 1, pretty good combination. I don't feel it deserves a 10, more like an 8 or 9, but I gave it such a grade because of all the ignorant, close-minded people that gave it a zero. I'll admit, C&C's music is definitely an acquired taste and some people aren't cut out for listening to such complicated, all-too-often misunderstood (mainly because of Claudio's vocals, which are also an acquired taste) music. However, it never deserves a zero. It's a great album, with amazing musicianship, fantastic atmosphere, and inspiring progressive rock. Expand
  48. FoxM.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    People who just say they're a crappy emo band don't know what they're talking about. Disregard their ignorant opinions and form your own.
  49. StephenC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Emo crap is emo crap.
  50. AwesomeO.
    Nov 27, 2007
    0
    You guys! You just don't get it, you guys! Too DEEP for you? You guys are so ignorant. I mean, "The End Complete"? That's so profound, you guys. It's like saying it's "the end", but it's really "the end" because it's "complete". Good luck writing deeper lyrics than that, you guys!
  51. ZanderN.
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    What Conrad said is extremely ignorant, and I expected it to come from another listener of that mainstream crap that's "good" these days. Most people judge Coheed because Claudio sings in a high pitch. They can't get over their arrogant selves and judge a different musician who is much more talented than them. Just because Claudio sings high makes Coheed bad? Maybe they can just What Conrad said is extremely ignorant, and I expected it to come from another listener of that mainstream crap that's "good" these days. Most people judge Coheed because Claudio sings in a high pitch. They can't get over their arrogant selves and judge a different musician who is much more talented than them. Just because Claudio sings high makes Coheed bad? Maybe they can just get over themselves and stop thinking so highly of themselves to judge bands based on such shallow proof. He also says that Claudio's story is "an epic bore." There should be absolutely no reason why that should detract from the album in any way. It's not like Claudio's narrating a long and boring novel- to anyone who doesn't actually look into the lyrics, they do not detract from the quality in any way, nor should they. Plus, Claudio writes a lot of the music to Coheed, so without them, I'm not sure if the band would be the same at all. I will admit, however, that this album has a much more produced sound, and is definitely not as strong as their first two albums. It has some very strong points, though, and I actually didn't like it at first. However, after listening to it more, it actually got better and better. Expand
  52. ApolloCreed
    Dec 11, 2007
    0
    Anybody giving this album more than a 4 just doesn't know what good music is.
  53. JohnnyV.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    How anyone can give this album any less than a 8 i don't know. NWFT i believe is coheed's strongest record yet. Excellent musicianship complimented by superb song writing makes this album a incredible testament to the talent that this band truly does display. Also, i don't find where anyone is getting so much as a taste of emo from their music. Maybe in A Favor House How anyone can give this album any less than a 8 i don't know. NWFT i believe is coheed's strongest record yet. Excellent musicianship complimented by superb song writing makes this album a incredible testament to the talent that this band truly does display. Also, i don't find where anyone is getting so much as a taste of emo from their music. Maybe in A Favor House Atlantic or The Suffering, but even then, a mature listener would find a different genre at work. Besides If you listen to their other released singles, (Welcome Home, The Running Free) if you had even a doubt about "emo" in there music, that would soon be removed completely. Truly an outstanding accomplishment for C&C. They were able to find a more pronounced and articulate edge while still keeping their sound. Expand
  54. SethC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    Just as bad as their other crap. Sterile instrumentation and a singer who sounds like Geddy Lee screwing a chipmunk. Add in an overly pretentious sci-fi storyline, so every geek in Geektown raves about it even more, thus creating a rabid fanbase that'll defend their crap to no end and you've got one of the most over-rated bands in existence.
  55. rolandog.
    Oct 23, 2007
    7
    it doesn't live up to the rest of the albums, but it certainly isn't the worst album they've made.
  56. KevinB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Exactly what you would expect from C&C.
  57. AlC
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Coheed doing what they always have, writing incredible music to go along with highly inspired story-driven lyrics. Their sound has definitely evolved, with "No World For Tomorrow" focusing more on heavy guitar riffs and the occasional solo, and the overall sound seems much heavier. The songs flow well together, and by the time you get to the five songs of The End Complete, you'd have Coheed doing what they always have, writing incredible music to go along with highly inspired story-driven lyrics. Their sound has definitely evolved, with "No World For Tomorrow" focusing more on heavy guitar riffs and the occasional solo, and the overall sound seems much heavier. The songs flow well together, and by the time you get to the five songs of The End Complete, you'd have wished to go back again. The last songs of the album will solidify you opinion, and provide a satisfying conclusion to the album. Definitely a must-but for any C&C fan, and I highly recommend it to those just now getting into the mix. Expand
  58. JohnU.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Honestly, if you don't like the guy's voice, don't listen to it. don't go and give it a bad score when you haven't even listened to it, but just that you know you won't like it because you don't like their other "garbage." I do like coheed, and I do like this album, therefore, I give my score
  59. GaspardA.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    *yawn*
  60. Chris
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    @ Conrad: So just because you're so closed-minded in your musical tastes and refuse to give the vocals a chance, you have to give the album a zero? Are you five years old? Seriously, grow up. This album is musically diverse and the vocals are beyond amazing. This was an excellent finale to the story of Coheed and Cambria and I'll enjoy listening to this in the years to come.
  61. killianr.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    awesome, though some songs could have been better, but still definitely on par with IKSSE3
  62. TitoF.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    Gah, another overrated piece of garbage on Metacritic. Worse than that CD by The Field.
  63. PWaldo
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    Im no die hard C&C fan, i jumped on board for Eyes of Madness and even then, the album took a while to grow on me, but now i love it which oddly i still cant say for the first two albums. No World For Tomorrow is a brilliant fourth album from C&C, heavier, proggier (bear with me) and just downright super listenable. This baby wont be off my playlist for a damn long time.
  64. JasonS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Beautiful album from an intelligent and talented band (both in songwriting and in lyrical mastery). Once again, Coheed & Cambria prove that it is one of a kind.
  65. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Claudio's vocals are just incredible, and Mic and Travis do great on bass and guitar. Taylor Hawkins does great as a fill-in for Chris Pennie. Songs mix radio rock like Feathers with hardcore like The Hound. A fine album, and the second best they've made in my opinion.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Alternative Press
    60
    Coheed's fourth album simply doesn't deliver on the suspense that's been loaded into it. [Nov 2007, p.155]
  2. 70
    Coheed have found their sweet spot.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    C&C infuse their expansive music with enough grit and melody that you don't give a hoot what, say, 'The Hound (Of Blood And Rank)' is about. [26 Oct 2007, p.67]