Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Volume Two: No World For Tomorrow Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The album features Taylor Hawkins on drums after Josh Eppard left the band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Based on the music alone, No World For Tomorrow, like all their work, is a phenomenal accomplishment and remarkable introduction of Progressive Rock into the mainstream cannon.
  2. Coheed and Cambria's first three outings were smart, adventurous affairs that didn't eschew accessibility and No World for Tomorrow proves no exception.
  3. No World For Tomorrow is Coheed doing what they do best; writing an excellent album, where the songs combine for a bigger effect together than they do individually.
  4. the album is simple ear candy for those who haven't studied the band's previous releases, and sweet resolution for those who can spot the references to older songs (specifically 'Blood Red Summer') and former riffs ('The Crowing').
  5. Coheed's fourth album simply doesn't deliver on the suspense that's been loaded into it. [Nov 2007, p.155]
  6. The disc sticks reliably to the formula that found them their rotation on radio, trading fluid and flashy runs from guitarist Travis Stever with Claudio Sanchez’s contagious storyteller swoon.
  7. Overall, the songs are weaker than before--too many feel cheesy, bland, half-baked.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 65
  2. Negative: 20 out of 65
  1. Nino
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    A super-solid album that exceeded my expectations. There's some very unexpected instrumentation here, with great references to previous A super-solid album that exceeded my expectations. There's some very unexpected instrumentation here, with great references to previous songs for the astute listener No filler-ish sounding tracks. A great listen end to end! Expand
  2. JasonC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Another beautiful, creative, and technically unbelievable entry into Coheed and Cambria's montage of art work. Did Claudio sell his soul Another beautiful, creative, and technically unbelievable entry into Coheed and Cambria's montage of art work. Did Claudio sell his soul to the devil to get his uncanny writing ability and guitar-riffing mastery? Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Claudio's vocals are just incredible, and Mic and Travis do great on bass and guitar. Taylor Hawkins does great as aAbsolutely amazing. Claudio's vocals are just incredible, and Mic and Travis do great on bass and guitar. Taylor Hawkins does great as a fill-in for Chris Pennie. Songs mix radio rock like Feathers with hardcore like The Hound. A fine album, and the second best they've made in my opinion. Collapse
  4. RobertA.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Loving it. Want more, but every excellent album should leave you wanting more - that's a PLUS, not a negative.
  5. JCL
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    I'm a HUGE coheed fan.. have been since i heard A Favour House Atlantic.. i remember in an interview for Hammer magazine Claudio I'm a HUGE coheed fan.. have been since i heard A Favour House Atlantic.. i remember in an interview for Hammer magazine Claudio mentioned how his singles are the songs that he uses to suck people into the rest of the album ... well.. this album has TONS of single-sounding tracks... its too radio friendly.. doesn't compare with IKSOSE or FFTEEOM .. HOWEVER.. "The End Complete" [not the full 5-part series, but part 3 of the series] ... is worth the entire price of the cd on its own. its ridiculously good. encompassing everything great about the band.. other standout tracks are "No World For Tomorrow" and "Mother Superior" ... don't get me wrong, a great album, but it seems like he didn't go all out with this record.. not progressive enough.. not unique enough.. for the most part, not up to Coheed standards Expand
  6. SethC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    Just as bad as their other crap. Sterile instrumentation and a singer who sounds like Geddy Lee screwing a chipmunk. Add in an overly Just as bad as their other crap. Sterile instrumentation and a singer who sounds like Geddy Lee screwing a chipmunk. Add in an overly pretentious sci-fi storyline, so every geek in Geektown raves about it even more, thus creating a rabid fanbase that'll defend their crap to no end and you've got one of the most over-rated bands in existence. Expand
  7. ReggieV.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Would somebody stop beating that cat? Thank you, The Management

See all 65 User Reviews