Good News For People Who Love Bad News Image

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Dennis Herring (Camper Van Beethoven), the latest release from the Seattle-based indie rockers sees a return of guitarist Dann Gallucci (last with the band on Sad Sappy Sucker) and a new drummer (Benjamin Weikel) as well as a guest spot from the Dirty Dozen Brass Band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Ultimately, what makes Good News so successful is that it retains the melancholy mood of past works, while at the same time adding depth and maturity.
  2. A real-life pop record. Well, not pop in the Girls Aloud sense of the word obviously, more in the drop-dead, fuzz-box brilliant 'Here Comes Your Man' sense. [10 Jul 2004, p.48]
  3. The Mouse is back, just as polished and schizo as it ever was.
  4. On the group's fourth proper album, a mightier Mouse refine their weirdness and become a pop band while grasping at dark truths that pop ordinarily denies.
  5. No bad news here, just more headline-making from an innovative, ever-maturing group of musicians.
  6. 40
    There are some pleasantly elaborate, wayward songs here... Forays into funk and Tom Waits' scrapyard are cringe-inducing, though. [Sep 2004, p.110]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 112
  2. Negative: 8 out of 112
  1. CiV
    Jun 27, 2013
    This album may go down as one of the best rock albums of the 21st century. Not one song on this album is below a 9, on top of that, every song sounds unique from one-another. Expand
  2. Lifeisstillsweet
    Jun 11, 2004
    If this was the end of Modest Mouse, their catalog of albums would seem complete to me. At no point in this band's career did they degress. This album is climactic. How could Modest Mouse possibly create a better album. The band must be completely drained of creative energy. I guess I'm just a little worried that nothing will ever sound as good as "good news" to a person who loves bad news. I hope Modest mouse proves me wrong. Expand
  3. Awhina
    Dec 29, 2005
    Modest Mouse at the top of their game. Isaac Brock's songwriting at its very best. Definitely up there with Moon and Antarctica as one of the best Modest Mouse albums ever. I have been listening to it on a regular basis for about 8 months now... that's very impressive for somebody who usually gets sick of an album within a couple of weeks! The View and Float On are definitely highlights of this consistently great album. Expand
  4. davem
    Apr 12, 2004
    demented and uplifting cancerous, halucinogenic, backporch poetry. the skeletons will get up from their coffins, have a few drinks, shoot off their rusty kneecaps, and dance. and that's just the good news. a mouthful of fresh dirt straight from the shovel, chased with an eyeful of cloud laced baby blue sky. no maggots just worms... yum! if you don't absolutely love it you are stupid, insane, and more than likely voting for Bush again in 2004!!! buy it now or die a stupid , helpless, and depraved egomaniacal loser. thank you. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    This is a real favourite of mine. Pure class, Modest Mouses best work by a country mile and one of the albums of the 00's. Not a bad track to be found and several classics here including the brilliant rockers "Float On", "Bury Me With It" and "One Chance" along with the magnificently gentle "Blame It On The Tetons". Modest Mouse and Isaac Brock are unique, so I don't like comparing them to anyone but this record reminds me a lot of the Pixies Doolittle. It may be Brocks crazy sounding vocals reflecting Black Francis in parts, not quite sure. If you like your indie/alternative rock then buy this record - you won't be disappointed. I'd give this a 9.3 but unfortunately rounding to the closest number leaves it with 9. Expand
  6. MaxMoon
    Jul 17, 2004
    As a huge Modest Mouse fan I was disapointed with their new release. It sounds as if their label forced a more radio friendly sound this time around. None of the songs seem to be longer than 4 minutes which doesnt compare to some of the old 8 to 10 minute songs weve known from before. I did still like it but it sounds like there going soft. Expand
  7. darrenp
    Apr 17, 2004
    I like hotdogs. This CD had none. WTF?

See all 112 User Reviews