Goodbye Lullaby - Avril Lavigne
Goodbye Lullaby Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A divorce and two-year break left Lavigne with plenty to ponder, and her newest album is one of her most personal and introspective albums to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    Goodbye Lullaby seems as much about the singer-songwriter's self-examination - she co-wrote all the tracks and is the sole author on many - as about any outward relationships.
  2. 70
    It's the pop-factory material, not Ms. Lavigne's own presumably more personal songs, that offers details, humor and a sense of letting go. Her grown-up seriousness could use a little more of them.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    Consider it easing into the topic at hand, which turns out to be the songstress' most intimate and soul-baring set to date.
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    Lavigne once again seems to be grappling with emotions just beyond her reach, never articulating her angst or crafting a melancholy melody, making Goodbye Lullaby feel affected, not genuine.
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    Whether Goodbye Lullaby was all a tad over thought, or whether she's just holding back, the finished product falls significantly short of Avril Lavigne's own capabilities.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    If you wanna know how NOT to do it, listen to the last five tracks on Goodbye Lullaby. Avril wrote them all herself, and let's just say she's an artist who benefits from collaboration.
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    Faced with competing for "pop" ambitions this "rock" wannabe never really had, she instead strides toward brunette-dom on the new, stalwartly unfun Goodbye Lullaby, which--if you couldn't tell from the piano on the cover-means Vanessa Carlton and Michelle Branch. This is the death of Auto-Tune, moment of silence. Except, you know, for the single.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    AMAZING album.

    and different to what music is now, she took a risk and we should appreciate that. 'cause she even fight against her record
    label and they finally release it after 2 years! I really hope she can smash with this album as she has done with her previous ones.

    'What the Hell' and 'Smile' are good singles that can fit on today's music but real talent is shown on the rest of this album a very deep and good album.
  2. Mar 12, 2011
    Avril lavigne has her best album so far! I've been a fan of hers since 2002 and I've always loved all of her albums but this one is simply the best... a MUST buy! you're gonna love it for sure Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    Good Album, but a little too dull in the middle, anyway it's still a gd album and she finally put her own feelings in the album, well done, Avril!! Keep Going, this is ur best album!!~ Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    As a confession, Goodbye Lullaby, moves us from start to finish, with some exceptions more commercial. The ballads can mess with our inner ears and make us vibrate, perhaps not with the same intensity or I'm With You Nobody's Home, in the general context is a great album, no better than their previous, but good. Expand
  5. May 11, 2012
    There are a lot of good songs on this album but there aren't any amazing songs; "I Love You" and "Smile" are both very solid pop songs, while "Stop Standing There" approaches Lavigne's usual pop-rock style from a different angle, with "Everybody Hurts" and "Not Enough" taking on the role of the resident emo ballads, but none of these songs match "Complicated" or "My Happy Ending" or "Girlfriend" from Lavigne's previous albums. There are some just plain forgettable songs like "4 Real" and the intro "Black Star", the latter being a tired concept that Lavigne seems to want to squeeze into every project she attempts. It didn't help either that Lavigne's record company (who she has now parted from) were breathing down her neck trying to force her to give us clones of some of her previous hits - we get this in the forms of "What The Hell" and "Wish You Were Here", both very generic, repetitive pop songs that have been released as singles, giving an unfair, innaccurate insight into the album.

    There is however clear musical growth from Lavigne. She produced two tracks herself and wrote half of the album entirely on her own, the rest being co-written with and produced by close friends and previous musical associates. The album isn't trying to be 'upbeat' or 'sad' - it's just trying to convey a bittersweet concept of Lavigne's divorce as well as her new love. This is best shown by the delicate, albeit repetitive, "Goodbye" and the Alanis-like, demanding "Push". Lavigne's solo efforts are musically quite dull but are saved by her raw emotion, her expert knowledge of pop-hooks and her confident vocals, with highlights being the acoustic "Darlin" and the retro "Stop Standing There". Lavigne is still struggling, however, to produce interesting lyrics, although her predictable, juvenile rhymes are a steady improvement compared to her last introspective album, 'Under My Skin'. Still, I can't help thinking that she could stand to be a little more honest with herself and be a little more brutal and analytical regarding the break-down of her marriage, which we only get teasing hints of on "Not Enough".

    It's the pop-factory, Max Martin, material that really livens up 'Goodbye Lullaby', yet at the same time it's what overshadows and belittles the rest of the album and prevents Lavigne progressing and trying anything new. This album seems to be focussed more around the physical songwriting of each song rather than making an enjoyable collection of songs.
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    Avril Lavigne has been able to successfully change her appearance as the years pass as well as project very different feels for each album released but musically and artistically she hasn't GROWN. The main concern I have is that Avril writing hasn't really gotten any better since her debut. She tried releasing her first real mature (and not the faux-mature she claimed her angst-ridden Under My Skin was) album and it kinda didn't deliver. Under pressure from her label there was a few radio friendly pop songs thrown in which kills the over all mood Goodbye Lullaby was supposed to have. It would've been more coherent without those songs (What The Hell, and Smile) but it wouldn't have saved the album. The mediocre childish lyrics of "I Love You" and "4Real" are perfect examples on why this album didn't meet it's potential. The only moment Avril really shines is on "Not Enough." It's a pretty disappointing album from a voice that has so much potential. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    Can't express how bad it is. It is as awful as watching a person falling from a building screaming WHAT THE HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELL. What the hell indeed. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews