• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 190
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums I've heard in years - this genre of acoustic pop definitely suits Lavigne's vocal style and songwriting. A refreshing change to listen to real instrumentation and real vocals amongst the current trend of autotuned, techno dance pop. A very personal record for Lavigne, which shows in tracks like Remember When and Goodbye. Can't pick a major flaw really - loveOne of the best pop albums I've heard in years - this genre of acoustic pop definitely suits Lavigne's vocal style and songwriting. A refreshing change to listen to real instrumentation and real vocals amongst the current trend of autotuned, techno dance pop. A very personal record for Lavigne, which shows in tracks like Remember When and Goodbye. Can't pick a major flaw really - love the whole record! Highlights for me are I Love You, Not Enough, Push, Stop Standing There and Smile. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O melhor album dela, maduro e com um vocal perfeito.. o melhor pop da atualidade.. depois de quatro anos de espera ela surpreendeu a mim, e a maioria dos fãs...
    Optimum album of it, mature and with vocal a perfect one. better pop of the present time.
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Good Album, but a little too dull in the middle, anyway it's still a gd album and she finally put her own feelings in the album, well done, Avril!! Keep Going, this is ur best album!!~
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    Avril lavigne has her best album so far! I've been a fan of hers since 2002 and I've always loved all of her albums but this one is simply the best... a MUST buy! you're gonna love it for sure
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    AMAZING album.

    and different to what music is now, she took a risk and we should appreciate that. 'cause she even fight against her record label and they finally release it after 2 years! I really hope she can smash with this album as she has done with her previous ones. 'What the Hell' and 'Smile' are good singles that can fit on today's music but real talent is shown on the rest of
    AMAZING album.

    and different to what music is now, she took a risk and we should appreciate that. 'cause she even fight against her record label and they finally release it after 2 years! I really hope she can smash with this album as she has done with her previous ones.

    'What the Hell' and 'Smile' are good singles that can fit on today's music but real talent is shown on the rest of this album a very deep and good album.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Avril Lavigne is authentic in her album's, and goodbye lullaby is a mature process of her career, she back to her old times with this album, this is not a funny album, is more emotional, deeper, is Avril in the best essence, finally one album where the electropop not appears! Thanks God!
  7. May 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 10.0 A perfect return for Avril.Goodbye Lullaby have a acoustic sound with a power pop and punk genre.Love Everybody Hurt,Smile,Not Enough,Goodbye and Darlin Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    I can't get enough of it, I just kept listen to it and I wish people could see the real feelings in this and see how great artist she is, the vocals in this record are just unbelievable and the songs she wrote on her own are so good, she still got it. It is helpful to know you have 4 records to listen and feel something different with each record.
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Great album! After being quite for some time, Avril comes back with Goodbye Lullaby. It's not that big a departure from her previous albums and style, which is a good thing. Some would expect her to grow up, but they fail to realize one important key aspect of Ms. Lavigne: she's always being herself. She doesn't release music just to appease the current trends, just pours her emotions intoGreat album! After being quite for some time, Avril comes back with Goodbye Lullaby. It's not that big a departure from her previous albums and style, which is a good thing. Some would expect her to grow up, but they fail to realize one important key aspect of Ms. Lavigne: she's always being herself. She doesn't release music just to appease the current trends, just pours her emotions into what she makes. Most of the album are about her personal relationships (most probably her recent divorce) and the anger, frustration, and disappointment that comes after a failed relationship. She speaks to a lot of us, but most of all, to herself. Songs like "What The Hell" resemble her "The Best Damn Thing". It's catchy and fun. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I love this record... It's a very romantic and sweet album, songs like Darlin', Everybody Hurts, Wish You Were Here, I Love You, Push, Not Enough and Smile are so well edited (lyrically, vocally and musically) that made me love this record very very much than her previous works, especially The Best Damn Thing record
  11. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Avril como sempre surpreendeu a todo mundo com uma pegada de soft rock no álbum Goodbye Lullaby, suas letras contém muito amor e percebe-se que ela são muito pessoais e coloca seus próprios sentimentos no disco. Parabéns Avril Lavigne por esse belo trabalho.
  12. Jan 12, 2015
    10
    É o melhor álbum da Avril usou todos estilos possíveis, românticos, pop, triste, calmos, acústicos e com letras sinceras, as músicas não são enjoativas e dá vontade de ouvir mais e mais, é um álbum mais maduro dela, e acho que o mais combina com ela.
  13. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso, letras maravilhosas, músicas maravilhosas, amoo muito ..
    Não sei como esse álbum tem nota amarela .. "Sem or" álbum cheio de músicas maravilhosas..
  14. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    o galero doro esse album mentira nunca ouvi inteiro kk vamo ajuda a Jessinha q nunca saiu do amarelo tour?//////////////???? OKOKKKKOKKOKOKOOKOKOKOKOKOK xx
  15. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    sera q se eu bota 10 sobe hinario injustiçado nossa amo esse album e pra se corta amei esse tem q da 10, da 10 gente ja penem 1 so arrasooo hinario melhor album depois o ums, lg e tbdt ai vem ele o pior é o al mas ok bjs xoxo
  16. Jan 10, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Goodbye Lullaby é um álbum simples, emotivo e que expressa todos os sentimentos de Avril Lavigne, nos mostrando uma ótima musicalidade. Aqui, Avril até produz algumas músicas e as compõe sozinha. As músicas são maravilhosas e o álbum em si também é maravilhoso.

    Pontos Altos: Everybody Hurts, Alice, Push
    Pontos Baixos: Goodbye, Stop Standing There
    Expand
  17. Apr 22, 2016
    10
    Simple, small and emotional, but there's no deep feeling as it seem to have.
    Anyway, it's a great album full of amazing songs. Only it's not her best moment.
  18. Sep 23, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Avril Lavigne simplesmente faz músicas que merecem ser respeitadas! É um álbum maravilhoso com uma melodia calma, e com músicas que possuem letras fortes. Um hino atrás do outro. Expand
  19. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    Is is a good comeback album after 4 years. People may expect a much different approach, it is not. It is a continuity and growth process keeping her soul, emotional and a bit less troubled voice. She is growing. When hearing her, i still feel that she has a lot to be said. She sounds less angry, comes with the age... but continues to sound as mellow as before. Very nicely produced and aIs is a good comeback album after 4 years. People may expect a much different approach, it is not. It is a continuity and growth process keeping her soul, emotional and a bit less troubled voice. She is growing. When hearing her, i still feel that she has a lot to be said. She sounds less angry, comes with the age... but continues to sound as mellow as before. Very nicely produced and a very good sound engineering. Expand
  20. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Simple, small and emotional, but there's no deep feeling as it seem to have.
    Anyway, it's a great album full of amazing songs. Only it's not her best moment.
  21. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    Lavigne's decision to grow up on this record was misunderstood by many. This is a record that, differently form her previous efforts, has its own moments, and it's made of of these moments. She is happy, she is in love, she is sad, she is commercial, she is letting go. This should be called "The Diary of Avril Lavigne", she just gets so sincere and so personal in here, and many peopleLavigne's decision to grow up on this record was misunderstood by many. This is a record that, differently form her previous efforts, has its own moments, and it's made of of these moments. She is happy, she is in love, she is sad, she is commercial, she is letting go. This should be called "The Diary of Avril Lavigne", she just gets so sincere and so personal in here, and many people weren't able to get this. Avril has already opened herself up on another record (Under My Skin ages), but that was an aggressive side of hers, this time, she's just sweeter than ever, showing herself off just like she did on her sophomore effort, but this time, with something called "vulnerability". Avril's tracks on this record sound all acoustic, except for the commercial-intended lead single "What The Hell" and the happiness anthem "Smile", which is, probably, the best track on the album, and this may sound a little strange for older fans, and some track may sound a little mellow, as happened with "I Love You", but some come out as really awesome and emotional songs, like "Wish You Were Here". "Stop Standing There" is an acoustic, fast and funny track that I felt that was missing on this record, it comes as the second best track for me, and "Goodbye" is just a perfect poem that was made into music. Not really amazing as a song, but really interesting on its lyrics. "Not Enough", "Everybody Hurts", "Remember When", "Darlin", "Push" and "4 Real" are nice tracks, but below the level of "Smile", "What The Hell", "Wish You Were Here" and "Stop Standing There". So, enjoy your moments, enjoy the album's moments, and get inside the deepest part of Avril Lavigne. Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Before I start, I need to say that I'm reviewing the 'deluxe version.' I'm not reviewing the 'bonus version' as I haven't listened to that one.

    This is most definitely my favorite album out of all of Avril's albums. In this album, most of the songs have taken to a mellow sound. However, many also include either a 'heartache' feel or Avril's 'goofing about' style. There are also a few
    Before I start, I need to say that I'm reviewing the 'deluxe version.' I'm not reviewing the 'bonus version' as I haven't listened to that one.

    This is most definitely my favorite album out of all of Avril's albums. In this album, most of the songs have taken to a mellow sound. However, many also include either a 'heartache' feel or Avril's 'goofing about' style. There are also a few songs that she sings about being in love which really sweetens the sound of the record. So, there is plenty of variety here!

    I'm going to split all of her songs into categories here. These will range from 'mellow', 'goofing about' 'heartache', and 'I love you.' There is also one extra category but this only has one song in it, so I'll just talk about that one song instead of putting it into a category.

    Okay, for 'mellow' there are 'Black Star', 'Wish You Were Here' (this could also go into the 'heartache category but it isn't raw heartache like other ones.) There's also 'Everybody Hurts', '4 Real', and 'Darlin. These five songs all have a very different feel. My personal favorite in this category just has to be 'Everybody Hurts.' It's got some priceless lyrics, it is very relate-able and it is catchy. I really feel that this is where you begin to feel Avril's pain.

    The next category, which is 'goofing about' only has two songs. These consist of 'What the Hell' and 'Smile.' Both of these are very energetic and fun to listen to. They have both got some crazy lyrics. However, 'Smile' which is my favorite isn't as crazy. In the verses Avril is acting all crazy but in the chorus there really is some meaning in there. Singing about why someone you love makes you smile is just beautiful, yet it is still incredibly catchy. So, don't let that put you off!

    The next category which is 'heartache' includes 'Not Enough', 'Remember When' and 'Goodbye'. These three songs, yet all in the same category sound different. My favorite out of this category is probably 'Not Enough' because, well it is very relate-able for me and Avril's vocals just shine here. In this song, you can really hear the pain in her voice. The way she belts out the chorus, yet sings softly on the verses are just beautiful. There is also a very nice use of giving effect in this song where she adds even more pain at the end just by simply humming as the song slowly fades out; beautiful!

    The next category which is 'I love you' consists of 'Push', 'Stop Standing There' and 'I Love You.' These songs are a beautiful mix. All reflecting the same emotion but in different ways. For example, 'Push' doesn't reflect the love that is in 'I Love You as in 'Push' it's about the peaks and troughs in a relationship. In 'I Love You' it's about why the person in the relationship still loves their partner and more importantly why. I can't really name a favorite in this category. So, I will just explain the last one as I have already explained the other two. 'Stop Standing There' is about the person who is in love with someone but doesn't know if the other person feels the same way as the person feels. It's about why does he just stand there. Does he feel the same way the person feels. It's a very beautiful song, so I reckon you will like it. This category is a lovely category, filled with beautiful and meaningful lyrics which will really bring a smile to your face.

    The last category but very small category which is called 'inner strength' is consisted of one song which is called 'Alice.' 'Alice' is a song that Avril made for, you guessed it 'Alice In Wonderland.' This song is basically about the ups and downs of the film but how strong the character is. ''I...I won't cry' is one of the lyrics in the chorus. This song can either be perceived as just for the film or inner strength for you. Maybe you have had a bad day, maybe you have just dealt with a 'heart stabbing' breakup. Whatever it is, it's a nice song to listen to. It's right at the end, so it can be missed if you're not paying attention.

    To wrap my review up, I leave you with my recommendations and of course, my verdict. My score is 9/10 because Avril did an amazing job on this album but what knocked down the score was the very short song 'Black Star' and that's really all that knocked it down. That song didn't really mean anything to me, was it supposed to mean anything? Well, I don't know. Knowing Avril, it probably was but it didn't come off as that for me. It probably did for other people but hey that's just me.

    I highly recommend this album, it has a lovely mix of moods styles. The people I recommend this to are: Avril Lavigne fans, people who love beautiful lyrics or are dealing with a harsh breakup. Last but not least, people who are having a tough time for whatever reason. I believe this album will help you get through your tough time. Why? This album has helped me loads with my struggles and has really cheered me up or made me feel 'I'm not alone here.'

    Thanks for reading and I hope this helped you
    Expand
  23. Sep 8, 2016
    9
    Emotivo e sensível. Bom pra ouvir quando estiver na bad... Smile e What The Hell estragaram o conceito do disco, porem salvaram o album comercialmente.
  24. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    This is by far Avril's most underrated album. Being the completely opposite of her previous effort, this album made me (and a lot of other people) fan again after a disappointing previous album/era. While you won't see her "trademark" aggressive sound, it's a very personal, meaningful album where she opened her heart after struggling in her personal life with a divorce. She also, for theThis is by far Avril's most underrated album. Being the completely opposite of her previous effort, this album made me (and a lot of other people) fan again after a disappointing previous album/era. While you won't see her "trademark" aggressive sound, it's a very personal, meaningful album where she opened her heart after struggling in her personal life with a divorce. She also, for the first time, writes (even produces!) songs by herself, and some of them like Darlin' or Remember When are some of the best ones of her career. I don't give it a 10 because those shoehorned "hit songs" by Max Martin don't really belong, especially the first two singles What The Hell and Smile (the worst songs), which could've been included in her previous album, easily. Too bad that most of general public couldn't enjoy this great album, because its singles didn't represent what it really was and they probably they didn't even bother to listen to the rest of it.

    This album would've been a good transition from Under My Skin without alienating most of her original fan base with The Best Damn Thing. Goodbye Lullaby approaches relationship in a more mature, less angry way than previous albums were, and it shows how good she can be when she doesn't use gimmicks and uses more talent and meaningfulness.
    Expand
  25. Aug 5, 2017
    9
    One thing that I do not understand is that the albums which haven't got the signature songs or chart-topping singles are easily distinguished as an artist's worst album. Goodbye Lullaby is incredibly underrated. The album is perfect in its own way. The album is very different to Lavigne's bratty style, but its a nice change. The Best Damn Thing remains her best album with timeless singlesOne thing that I do not understand is that the albums which haven't got the signature songs or chart-topping singles are easily distinguished as an artist's worst album. Goodbye Lullaby is incredibly underrated. The album is perfect in its own way. The album is very different to Lavigne's bratty style, but its a nice change. The Best Damn Thing remains her best album with timeless singles such as Girlfriend, however PR definitely let Lavigne down on this album. Goodbye Lullaby is amazing and there are certain standout tracks such as I Love You and Goodbye. Definitely deserves a higher rating. Expand
  26. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    To be honest, I was moved on how emotional the tracks on the record. The only problem is "What the Hell" was chosen as the lead single which does not represent the record. I was even happy that it does not sound "What the Hell" because it will just be a repeat of her 2007-hit album. You just can't find if it sounds good or not because its really emotional with her voice, the piano, andTo be honest, I was moved on how emotional the tracks on the record. The only problem is "What the Hell" was chosen as the lead single which does not represent the record. I was even happy that it does not sound "What the Hell" because it will just be a repeat of her 2007-hit album. You just can't find if it sounds good or not because its really emotional with her voice, the piano, and acoustic guitar. It's not boring but it's not just the trend today. Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    As a confession, Goodbye Lullaby, moves us from start to finish, with some exceptions more commercial. The ballads can mess with our inner ears and make us vibrate, perhaps not with the same intensity or I'm With You Nobody's Home, in the general context is a great album, no better than their previous, but good.
  28. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This album has some slow parts but most of it is very beautifully done and the closing track, Goodbye, in particular is beautiful. You can tell that Lavigne put more effort into that one track than any other track if not all her tracks combined. If at the very least you don't like Goodbye, one thing you have to appreciate is the effort that was put into it because the effort wasThis album has some slow parts but most of it is very beautifully done and the closing track, Goodbye, in particular is beautiful. You can tell that Lavigne put more effort into that one track than any other track if not all her tracks combined. If at the very least you don't like Goodbye, one thing you have to appreciate is the effort that was put into it because the effort was extraordinary and in my opinion pays off. Expand
  29. Jul 3, 2016
    8
    Como é possível algumas pessoas dizerem que esse e um álbum ruim ?
    E bem agradável,emocional e tranquilo. E logico que não chega ter a qualidade dos dois primeiros. Mas consegue ser bem melhor que The Best Damn Thing. Apesar dos clichês como em "What the Hell" que parece um Girfriend 2.0 , as demais musicas são lindas. Destaque para "I love you" "Not Enough" "Stop Standing There" e
    Como é possível algumas pessoas dizerem que esse e um álbum ruim ?
    E bem agradável,emocional e tranquilo. E logico que não chega ter a qualidade dos dois primeiros. Mas consegue ser bem melhor que The Best Damn Thing. Apesar dos clichês como em "What the Hell" que parece um Girfriend 2.0 , as demais musicas são lindas. Destaque para "I love you" "Not Enough" "Stop Standing There" e "Remember When".
    Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    Definitely Avril declined sharply with her ​​new album 'Goodbye Lullaby' is nothing more than childish lyrics, simple chords and little variation. But, the great voice of this little girl, makes the album stand at least bearable.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    50
    If you wanna know how NOT to do it, listen to the last five tracks on Goodbye Lullaby. Avril wrote them all herself, and let's just say she's an artist who benefits from collaboration.
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    40
    Faced with competing for "pop" ambitions this "rock" wannabe never really had, she instead strides toward brunette-dom on the new, stalwartly unfun Goodbye Lullaby, which--if you couldn't tell from the piano on the cover-means Vanessa Carlton and Michelle Branch. This is the death of Auto-Tune, moment of silence. Except, you know, for the single.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    60
    An effective, but ultimately generic, pop album.