• Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Graffiti on the Train is a marvelously realized, tightly played album.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    80
    Everything about the record restores the belief that Stereophonics can remain relevant in a world of troubadours and try-hard indie bands.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    70
    The LP's slow-building peak moment is "Violins And Tambourines," which is also dramatic and affected, no matter what Jones may actually be singing about. [No. 101, p.60]
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    A few clunkers aside, the songwriting is sensational throughout. And Jones’ voice is more cat purringly perfect than ever.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Jones' considerable composing,guitar and vocal strengths are marshalled effectively. [Apr 2013, p.78]
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Graffiti on the Train is clearly the work of a man and an outfit that's done the rock'n'roll thing and is now easing into the next step. This is a solid enough start.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    Graffiti On The Train is a powerful attempt to drop their meat-and-potatoes image. It doesn't always work, but it's to be applauded. [Apr 2013, p.110]
  8. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    Stereophonics seem loath to leave all that they know behind, so Graffiti on the Train remains distinctly earthbound for all its big aspirations.
  9. Mar 7, 2013
    60
    Graffiti on the Train may be a conduit to pastures new, but it's two steps forward, one step back. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  10. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    The band's sound has changed, too--it's less triumphal and more cinematic, although the Krautrock groove of Catacomb sounds genuinely angry.
  11. 60
    While Graffiti on the Train is a significant improvement, it's still something of a patchwork affair.
  12. 50
    Intriguing stuff, but Stereophonics are incapable of shredding the trad rock rule book for an entire album. So the rest of Graffiti is pitched firmly in their beige rock comfort zone. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  13. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    In conclusion, solid record, but it simply does not hit home hard enough.
  14. Mar 4, 2013
    50
    A missed opportunity, then, but also perhaps the beginnings of a creative resurgence.
  15. The deft Tom Petty chug of ‘Indian Summer’ is anthemic enough, but there’s little else to get excited about.
  16. Aug 29, 2013
    30
    The whole album seems content to be half-awake, so much so that even the comparably adventurous tracks sound like they can't be bothered to get off the couch.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    It has dark atmosphere with brilliant lyrics and incredible music. Maybe it is my type of music, maybe absolutely every song is astounding.It has dark atmosphere with brilliant lyrics and incredible music. Maybe it is my type of music, maybe absolutely every song is astounding. From We Share the Same Sun filled with longing and desire, sorrowful Graffiti on the Train, masterpiece Violins and Tambourines, cheerful-in-Sterophonics-kind-of-way Roll the Dice, hidden treasure Zoe on the iTunes' digital deluxe version (definitely worth of choosing that version for buying), instrumentals on the end of almost every song... Well I could go on and on. I don't want to go in deep analysis of album and motives of Kelly Jones in writing lyrics, I am not enough educated for that. Only objection to album I have is song list, I would arrange it differently. Full Review »
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    My first time listening to Stereophonics album in full and whereas before, I thought they were a middle of the road rock band, they seem toMy first time listening to Stereophonics album in full and whereas before, I thought they were a middle of the road rock band, they seem to have really developed with this album. As I understand, it's more subdued than their previous releases, but in my opinion, it seems to work better for them. I especially love the moody, brooding title track, Graffiti On The Train and Take Me. There's also more upbeat, edgier songs for to please everyone in the form of the likes of Catacomb. There's even a bit of definite country influence with Been Caught Cheating. A good, mature album that has more clout than some of their previous songs. Full Review »