• Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Graffiti on the Train is a marvelously realized, tightly played album.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    80
    Everything about the record restores the belief that Stereophonics can remain relevant in a world of troubadours and try-hard indie bands.
  3. Magnet
    Aug 16, 2013
    70
    The LP's slow-building peak moment is "Violins And Tambourines," which is also dramatic and affected, no matter what Jones may actually be singing about. [No. 101, p.60]
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    A few clunkers aside, the songwriting is sensational throughout. And Jones’ voice is more cat purringly perfect than ever.
  5. Uncut
    Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Jones' considerable composing,guitar and vocal strengths are marshalled effectively. [Apr 2013, p.78]
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Graffiti on the Train is clearly the work of a man and an outfit that's done the rock'n'roll thing and is now easing into the next step. This is a solid enough start.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 28, 2017
    9
    One of their most underappreciated records. There's such a haunting archaic and emotional theme to this album. Graffiti on the train (theOne of their most underappreciated records. There's such a haunting archaic and emotional theme to this album. Graffiti on the train (the song) is one of the most beautiful pieces of music I've ever listened to. It alone makes the album worth it. Add to that other amazing haunting songs like In a moment, and violins and tambourines, and you have one heck of an album. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    It has dark atmosphere with brilliant lyrics and incredible music. Maybe it is my type of music, maybe absolutely every song is astounding.It has dark atmosphere with brilliant lyrics and incredible music. Maybe it is my type of music, maybe absolutely every song is astounding. From We Share the Same Sun filled with longing and desire, sorrowful Graffiti on the Train, masterpiece Violins and Tambourines, cheerful-in-Sterophonics-kind-of-way Roll the Dice, hidden treasure Zoe on the iTunes' digital deluxe version (definitely worth of choosing that version for buying), instrumentals on the end of almost every song... Well I could go on and on. I don't want to go in deep analysis of album and motives of Kelly Jones in writing lyrics, I am not enough educated for that. Only objection to album I have is song list, I would arrange it differently. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    My first time listening to Stereophonics album in full and whereas before, I thought they were a middle of the road rock band, they seem toMy first time listening to Stereophonics album in full and whereas before, I thought they were a middle of the road rock band, they seem to have really developed with this album. As I understand, it's more subdued than their previous releases, but in my opinion, it seems to work better for them. I especially love the moody, brooding title track, Graffiti On The Train and Take Me. There's also more upbeat, edgier songs for to please everyone in the form of the likes of Catacomb. There's even a bit of definite country influence with Been Caught Cheating. A good, mature album that has more clout than some of their previous songs. Full Review »