Guero

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 150

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanR
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    "Girl" is possibly the best song by Beck, even if the chorus is "cyanide girl". I love "Que Onda Guero" 's street sounds. Interesting note, the songs "Go It Alone" and "Farewell Ride" are written in collaboration with the Beastie Boys.
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Parts of this records are brilliant but too much of it sits in a lull. Too many boring tracks that just plod along to rank up with Beck's best work. Some great singles on it though.
  3. Andy
    Aug 20, 2006
    5
    The most disappointing Beck album yet.
  4. DhanMagnificent
    May 25, 2005
    3
    beck is trapped in the past, floundering in sunset nostalgia. your days as the fanciful mad-cap hybrid mesitro are through. this i'm sad to say.
  5. nealh
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    This album is listening from the first track to the last. Beck refines his songs content while maintaining his familiar style.
  6. nashaq
    Feb 4, 2009
    4
    No way as good as Sea Change. Three good songs and the rest some awful hip pop.
  7. KatJ
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable. The album is full of irresistable Beck beats to move you to the very core. Reminds of Odelay only better. I think he's giving people what they've been asking for. How can you have anything but admiration for this kind of creative gift. Guero is another genious venture by Beck that will be an inspiration to all who love his work. Art is great.
  8. StephenW
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    Beck still sits at the table with the kings of pop-culture (Radiohead, Daily Show, etc.), but many of the tracks did sound as if he and the Dust Brothers were trying to introduce a new audience to his previous albums. Good for them. Maybe one day we'll stop treating Paris Hilton and the Olsen twins as zeitgieists and give credit weher credit is due.
  9. MikeK
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Just when I gave up on Beck, he comes out with this great album. Although it seems the 2nd half of the album lags compared to the eclectic and funky 1st half. I think that E-Pro's video outshines the song, but "Girl, Que Onda Guero, Missing & Earthquake Weather" are the gems of this CD.
  10. BrianL
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    Beck continues to rule!
  11. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    A nice return to the free-wheeling Beck, if not as wowing now as it was before.
  12. RodrigoM
    Jul 3, 2005
    7
    Beck's success was based on the creativity and sarcasm of a pretty young genius. Now, 12 years after "Loser", Guero sounds like a struggle between maturity and ahopeless atempt of holding to something that is already gone. Well produced and mixing a vast set of influences, Guero sounds like a decent collage, but fails to deliever the fresh feeling of his early material or the Beck's success was based on the creativity and sarcasm of a pretty young genius. Now, 12 years after "Loser", Guero sounds like a struggle between maturity and ahopeless atempt of holding to something that is already gone. Well produced and mixing a vast set of influences, Guero sounds like a decent collage, but fails to deliever the fresh feeling of his early material or the accomplished mature sound of Sea Change or Mutatuions. Expand
  13. JackC
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Casually brilliant progression from his earlier exercises.
  14. MichaelZ
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    It's an album you can't review after a week on the shelf. The Beck influence looms large. Lets wait a few for the real dope on his new stuff. I dig it now, but it's ultimate re-playability is what has always made Beck the gold standard. I think this album will grow into a tasty biscuit.
  15. JoséR
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Uma sintese de toda a musica de Beck. Muito bom.
  16. TristanL
    Mar 30, 2005
    8
    Pretty good. Like the previous albums it leaps everywhere, especially away from Sea Change. Very good and worth a listen, back to the days of Odelay. Hopefully someday a merge of Sea Change/Mutations melancholy and Odelay/Guero A.D.D. will merge to form something miraculous...
  17. peterm
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    One of his best: blood and pain and collage and funk!
  18. BobyJ
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    Holy crap this album is fantastic! Who makes music like this these days? Friggin NOBODY! He's the best this generation has to offer.
  19. Joris
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    For me their's only one standout-track here and that's the haunting BROKEN DRUM. Brings back the beauty that Sea Change was. Another favourite is Earthquake Weather. Don't know if it's as funky as Odelay like some reviewers acclaim, but the funky Que onda guero and especially Hell Yes definitely proove the old Beck is back! Overall a good album with catchy tunes like For me their's only one standout-track here and that's the haunting BROKEN DRUM. Brings back the beauty that Sea Change was. Another favourite is Earthquake Weather. Don't know if it's as funky as Odelay like some reviewers acclaim, but the funky Que onda guero and especially Hell Yes definitely proove the old Beck is back! Overall a good album with catchy tunes like Hell Yes, Girl and Rental Car. But mostly fogettavle songs like E-pro, which I can appreciate however, and Scarecrow: Good idea for a song but much too long. They had to cut back that track to 3-4 minutes and it would have been great. A 7! Expand
  20. WilliamM
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Im along with many others the biggest Beck fan in the world, everybody love at least one beck song and with the release of guero everyone has 13 more reasons to love his diverse unusual sound. i'm glad their are few musical geniuses around. Band that are catchy like modest mouse, Frans Ferdinand, Razorlite, and so many other bands that are just coming out of now where, playing music Im along with many others the biggest Beck fan in the world, everybody love at least one beck song and with the release of guero everyone has 13 more reasons to love his diverse unusual sound. i'm glad their are few musical geniuses around. Band that are catchy like modest mouse, Frans Ferdinand, Razorlite, and so many other bands that are just coming out of now where, playing music that requires no talent or thought just pisses me off, anybody can sitdown for one day and come up with much more deep and skillful album. beck is just as refreshing as it gets. one more thing, as soon as i turn of the radio my ears bleed from the dull repetitiveness of the common song that is on a loop to be played every 30 minutes. Expand
  21. ScottH
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Okay, so it's not his best, I still love it and it's so far one of my absolute favs of this year, which i know isn't saying much since I've hated a lot so far this year. this one has stayed in my player ever since i've gotten it and i've hit repeat a awful lot.
  22. KatieS
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This is the best Beck album yet! The first two were my favorite, and this seems like a return to his roots.
  23. KristoferK
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Arguably Becks best album. Most diverse since Odelay
  24. StripedCollar
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Amazing album. A coherent new sounds with hints of old and completely new elements. Absolutely fantastic. Saying Beck is a master would be an understatement.
  25. BryanS
    May 6, 2005
    7
    Beck has always been an extrordinary artist with ridiculous talent. He was invariably one of two prodigal children to emerge from the 90s (the second being Bjork). This album was more or less a disappointment. Not because the music is terrible, but because Mr. Hansen is more than capable of releasing another life-altering record. Guero has it's definite ups and downs. His lyrics are Beck has always been an extrordinary artist with ridiculous talent. He was invariably one of two prodigal children to emerge from the 90s (the second being Bjork). This album was more or less a disappointment. Not because the music is terrible, but because Mr. Hansen is more than capable of releasing another life-altering record. Guero has it's definite ups and downs. His lyrics are more reserved, but still hold firmly to his trademark witticism and irony. The end result of multiple listens is an empty feeling in your soul. An utterly amazing artist, a rather drab record. Expand
  26. DavidHatfieldTheHallowmoniumGuy
    May 8, 2005
    10
    It's good to know that there are still some artists left in music.
  27. KenH
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    Exceeds Odelay in songwriting strength and sonic production. One of the year's 10 best.
  28. VenusS
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    It was just Okay for me dog! A little pitchy in the beginning songs, but you pulled it out at the end, dog. Seriously though, it pains me to say that this album is OK. Its not going to set the world on fire like Sea Change, but can Beck really do anything bad?
  29. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    At the risk of sounding like every rave review on this site, Beck is a genius. His lyrics are probably the best of the 90s-2000s. Hooks galore on this album. And Scarecrow is one insanely great song among many great songs on this album. If you can't find something to love on this album, I have to question your musical judgement.
  30. JonathanC
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    I just love it, it's like all his best stuff. I don't care whether it's "groundbreaking" or not, I just enjoy it, and it's definitely better than 90% of the stuff you hear on most of the radio stations these days.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. The New York Times
    80
    Where his previous albums have seesawed between comedy and despair, "Guero" comes closer than ever to merging them. [21 Mar 2005]
  2. While it lacks the churn or drama of his earlier work or the dour intensity of Sea Change, it’s an album remarkable in its consistent, pleasant above-averageness, punctuated by bursts of true genius.
  3. Too often tracks drag us down below the high standard an artist like Beck Hanson has set himself. Red Hot Chili Peppers outtakes with some harmonica and vocoder balanced incongruously on top are frankly not good enough.