Hail To The Thief

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 477 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 477

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DexStud
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Not for everyone, including pop fans. But those who do give this album a try will be greatly rewarded with an awesome, original sounding album.
  2. BrianG
    May 23, 2003
    10
    Hail to the Thief strikes me in much the same was as U2's All That You Can't Leave Behind did--a return to a more song-oriented form, with audible nods to each era of the bands' careers. HTTT obviously has its share of buzzes and bleeps, which many critics seem to just automatically associate with the "Kid A/mnesiac" period, but in fact Radiohead has been experimenting with Hail to the Thief strikes me in much the same was as U2's All That You Can't Leave Behind did--a return to a more song-oriented form, with audible nods to each era of the bands' careers. HTTT obviously has its share of buzzes and bleeps, which many critics seem to just automatically associate with the "Kid A/mnesiac" period, but in fact Radiohead has been experimenting with odd little sounds ever since that accidental iconic riff found its way onto "Creep." HTTT can't be fairly defined as just being some recipe of different phases of their career--ala, mix one part Kid A electronica with the songwriting of The Bends, tossed together with a loose theme to lend cohesion as on OK Computer--it stands on its own as an expression of hopelessness in the face of powerful forces that have taken over without our permission--whether governments, terrorists, or fears of harm to our children or being put into a box. It's interesting, and a sign of the power of this album, that certain songs are perceived as terrible by some and great by others. Each track stands on its own power, and yet they all work together to express the gloaming, the darkening of the world. There is a newfound maturity on this album, perhaps most visible in songs like I Will and Wolf At The Door, but it resides somewhere in the overall feel of this album--there's no preaching, no real ranting and raving anti-government, anti-establishment messages, no maudlin gloom. Altogether a remarkably authentic expression of modern feelings in this post 9/11 world, all the more powerful because it avoids the trite and heavy-handed politicization and preaching of other post-9/11 albums like The Rising. This one may not rawk quite like OK Computer, but it seems more real and more relevant, with plenty of rawk and roil. After all, it's not 1997 any more, and this album just proves it to yourself, just you, you and no one else... Expand
  3. MarkP
    Jun 8, 2003
    9
    Whilst Hail to the Thief may lack the 'shock' value of hearing OK Computer or Kid A for the first time, Rdaiohead have refined their art sublimely here, never as indulgent as they can be (a la treefingers) yet still forward thinking and unique. Standout track is the closer, A Wolf At The Door, mixing minimalism with their old lyrical finesse and some beautiful vocals, yet tinged Whilst Hail to the Thief may lack the 'shock' value of hearing OK Computer or Kid A for the first time, Rdaiohead have refined their art sublimely here, never as indulgent as they can be (a la treefingers) yet still forward thinking and unique. Standout track is the closer, A Wolf At The Door, mixing minimalism with their old lyrical finesse and some beautiful vocals, yet tinged with real anger and urgency. Expand
  4. thomasR
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    While not as immediately striking and original as their previous albums after repeated listenings the vernacular of the words and music begins to sink in and reveal itself as pure brilliance. Radiohead have continued to expand the limits of popular music while simultaneously bringing some much needed warmth and accesibility to the avant-garde. radiohead, once again, creates a microcosmic, While not as immediately striking and original as their previous albums after repeated listenings the vernacular of the words and music begins to sink in and reveal itself as pure brilliance. Radiohead have continued to expand the limits of popular music while simultaneously bringing some much needed warmth and accesibility to the avant-garde. radiohead, once again, creates a microcosmic, self-contained world of sound equally strange and familiar, frightening yet soothing. Expand
  5. GugaA
    Jun 10, 2003
    9
    I really think its great. If you like radiohead, you'll like it. But it won't change your mind if you don't like them. It sounds different and thats awesome to say.
  6. ThiagoR
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    One word: perfect!!!
  7. PilotE
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    Beautiful, varied, emotionally involving
  8. PaulW
    Jul 21, 2003
    9
    Not quite O.K., but as close as you will find. Again it takes a few listens to get the substance, but the songs do stand alone. Well worth the price of admission..and the amount of time enjoying it.
  9. ErnestoG
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    It's great. I think it's an album where they took together a lot of elements from the bends, ok computer and kid a/amnesiac, and its simply a masterpiece. Its 14 beautiful songs in a perfect order and well, its great. I think the best songs are 2+2=5, a punchup at a wedding and a wolf at the door, but in the whole, the album is great itself, and not because some songs.
  10. CB
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    Very good album. People should stop pondering about how Radiohead is progressing, or what this means for the future. Its music and ood. Nothing else. The only thing it says is that Radiohead is still putting out quality music. By the way 'Jim M' what does 'commercial monster' mean? It certainly is not any comment of substance because it as nothing to do with the music.
  11. lindenb
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    i think this album is really cool man. i think 2+2=5 turned out pretty cool. i thought that giving alternate names was pretty cool. oh, and the coolest part was when thom says "the raindrops" 50 times. That was waaay cool and "there there" wasnt just cool, it was dope!! and that one single"we suck young blood", well, that one sucked!
  12. NickC
    May 18, 2003
    8
    It's a grower for sure - the songs aren't that immediate and is a natural extension of Kid A.....but it's still a fantastic record - many great moments like 2=2=5
  13. AndréG
    Aug 3, 2003
    9
    We should just be happy that Radiohead released another album. Nobody can't deny it's another great collection of tunes and it's different from The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A or Amnesiac.
  14. Jonne
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    It is a grower, perhaps even more than the last two albums. It is scatter, yes, but it doesn't matter after you're fully in it.
  15. MarkM
    Jun 8, 2003
    10
    This album is truly amazing, and seems to me to be a breath of fresh air after the previous two albums. Kid A was stunning - it sounded different and interesting and beautiful, unlike anything I'd ever heard - but Amnesiac didn't sit as well with me, just because it didn't flow as smoothly and it seemed to rehash everything that Kid A had already accomplished (it even This album is truly amazing, and seems to me to be a breath of fresh air after the previous two albums. Kid A was stunning - it sounded different and interesting and beautiful, unlike anything I'd ever heard - but Amnesiac didn't sit as well with me, just because it didn't flow as smoothly and it seemed to rehash everything that Kid A had already accomplished (it even recycled one of the same songs! ... yawn). Where Kid A was refreshing, Amnesiac was redundant. I was really worried that HTTT was going to be Amnesiac's twin brother, but it really surprised me with its freshness and newness. Yes, all the same electronic tricks from the previous two albums are there - all of the old blips and squeeks - but there's something new here (or old, depending on how you look at it). Johnny finally went through his closet and found his old guitar and Thom finally mustered up enough strength to command a song with his voice, instead of murmuring somewhere in the background. And I can actually understand most of his words! It's been about 6 years since the last time I could actually say that! This album just feels good. It feels better than Amnesiac, and it might even feel better than Kid A. Well done, Radiohead, I had a smile on my face through the entire album instead of the confused grimace that I'd started to wear through parts of Kid A and most of Amnesiac. Say what you want about Radiohead's trip into the world of wacky music. For me, no other artist out there right now is making music this interesting and beautiful. Expand
  16. TonyR
    Jun 8, 2003
    10
    Pure Genius
  17. sss
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    Best Song: Sail to the mon
  18. ErwinK
    May 26, 2003
    10
    Best of both worlds. It has the Kid A aesthetic while returning to the guitar driven sounds of The Bends. I also have the downloaded leak (I assure you I will buy it), and what I have heard is mind-blowing, a bit depressing at times, but distinctly better than all the piles of musical crap out there in music land. And they are not being 10-track snobs this time, including 15 tracks. I Best of both worlds. It has the Kid A aesthetic while returning to the guitar driven sounds of The Bends. I also have the downloaded leak (I assure you I will buy it), and what I have heard is mind-blowing, a bit depressing at times, but distinctly better than all the piles of musical crap out there in music land. And they are not being 10-track snobs this time, including 15 tracks. I never understood why they always have so many good b-sides that they never bother to beef up their albums with. Expand
  19. peterg
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    second best radiohead album....can't put it down...nearly perfect...just behind ok computer...may be even more accessable than that one.
  20. thekinkiest
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    i don't know if it's better than ok computer but is very very good.
  21. BrianJ
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    This is truly an album of the times...and those of you who have not read the lyrics are missing out on this. The record requires multiple listens and that is what I have always loved about Radiohead. Everybody needs to shut up about their use of electronics and just enjoy the music. It's legendary and reflective of this messed up world that we live in. Despite Thom's denial that This is truly an album of the times...and those of you who have not read the lyrics are missing out on this. The record requires multiple listens and that is what I have always loved about Radiohead. Everybody needs to shut up about their use of electronics and just enjoy the music. It's legendary and reflective of this messed up world that we live in. Despite Thom's denial that it's not a political record, it really is, just like OK Computer was a reflection of the paranoia and inhumanity of technology in these modern times. I know it was so much more than that... but having said that, this record is just as relevant and important as OK Computer. It's not a sequel, and the critics that want one need to get over it. Evolve. Evolution. Expand
  22. TimW
    Jun 17, 2003
    9
    The album starts out with a amp cord being plugged in and a dialogue between Thom and Jonny on the amazing 2+2=5. Although less experimental than Kid A and Amnesiac it still satisfies the eager legions of Radiohead devotees. Standout Tracks: 2+2=5, Sit Down?Stand Up, Myxamatosis.
  23. Bruno
    May 20, 2003
    10
    That's it. Their best.
  24. eprparadox
    May 20, 2003
    7
    just like the second matrix, the second (or third if you count amnesiac) dose of KidA just isnt that novel or good. there are glimpses of brilliance, which for a brilliant band of musicians should be impossible to avoid, but on the whole the allure of this record alludes me. ive had an advance copy for a few weeks now and i find myself going back to KidA the bends and ok computer to once just like the second matrix, the second (or third if you count amnesiac) dose of KidA just isnt that novel or good. there are glimpses of brilliance, which for a brilliant band of musicians should be impossible to avoid, but on the whole the allure of this record alludes me. ive had an advance copy for a few weeks now and i find myself going back to KidA the bends and ok computer to once again experience the greatness of my favorite band. the standout songs are in my opinion the first 5 tracks, backdrifting being very good at combinging the KidA direction with OkComputer lyricism, while myxomatosis is perhaps one of the worst radiohead songs to be included on any album. Expand
  25. MaxG
    Jul 8, 2003
    9
    And once again it kicks ass! the best of the bends/ok computer, of Kid A / Amnesiac, and we have a LP which can be considered as a compilation of what we enjoy the most from Radiohead. Without being a great revolution, it's an evolution in the continuity. "BRAVO!".
  26. JoshT
    May 22, 2003
    10
    I've had a downloaded copy of this ever since it initially leaked, and, to be perfectly honest, I was, at first, a little underwhelmed. Wait, that's not true. At first, I was blown away by the blistering brilliance with which the band rocks out on the opener, 2 + 2 = 5 , one of Hail to the Thief's finest moments and Radiohead's most rawking track since at least My Iron I've had a downloaded copy of this ever since it initially leaked, and, to be perfectly honest, I was, at first, a little underwhelmed. Wait, that's not true. At first, I was blown away by the blistering brilliance with which the band rocks out on the opener, 2 + 2 = 5 , one of Hail to the Thief's finest moments and Radiohead's most rawking track since at least My Iron Lung. Then, listening to what followed, most of which was neither as startling as 2 + 2 = 5 nor as immediately amazing as Kid/Amnesiac, that's when a slight sense of disappointment began to set in. As a huge fan and unflagging champion of that preceding duo (though, all elements considered, OK Computer still cakes the cake for me), Hail to the Thief struck me as lacking the mesmerizing cohesiveness of those masterworks, and only about half of the songs fulfilled their promise upon my first listen. The more I listened to the album, however, the more I came to both immensely enjoy and admire what I heard. Songs such as Where I End and You Begin (which calls to mind Kid A's Optimistic with its line "dinosaurs roam the earth") , A Punch-Up at a Wedding, A Wolf at the Door (in which THOM YORKE RAPS...sort of), and the beautiful piano ballads Sail to the Moon and I Will are easily in the same league with the best of the Radiohead catalogue. The band's Big Step Forward here is their expert integration of the avant-electronic-based experimentation that has defined their most recent work (and redifined Radiohead as artists) into the more song-oriented format of The Bends and OK Computer. It's yet another supreme work of art from The Band From Whom Nothing Less Can Be Expected. Expand
  27. theultimaterater
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    you cant go wrong with radiohead. OK comp, amnesiac, and hail to the thief are now my official favourites. Theres nothing really new as predicted but they are still great songs. "sit down stand up" always gives me a rise. "punch up at a wedding" makes me want to F@#ck, and "myxamatosis" is like a hit of acid. the rest fall into place accordingly. anyway, buy the record, you wont regret it.
  28. BenCozoniWam
    Jun 9, 2003
    9
    Whats with that sudden electronic part in sit down stand up - it was going well up to there!-oh well perhaps it'll grow on me. There There and 2+2=5 are obviously fantastic and Go to Sleep is also really good (when the guitars kick in with the drums it is a magnificant sound). Backdrifts sounds different but I sort of like it. There is good music throughout the album but it still Whats with that sudden electronic part in sit down stand up - it was going well up to there!-oh well perhaps it'll grow on me. There There and 2+2=5 are obviously fantastic and Go to Sleep is also really good (when the guitars kick in with the drums it is a magnificant sound). Backdrifts sounds different but I sort of like it. There is good music throughout the album but it still doesnt have an epic feel like previous albums - feels more like a collection of songs. I think Radiohead will drop the emphasize on electronics in the next album though. It won't last forever. In some ways Ok Computer can be described as having an electronic element (Airbag). That album perfected the fusion of guitars and machines - so quite simply that is still the best. Really interesting album then and you really should buy it so a good band will be at the top of the charts for once. Expand
  29. benm
    Jul 14, 2003
    9
    Guitar, piano, beatbox, it all seems to work. There are a couple songs that could have been left off. Punch-up at a Wedding doesn't go anywhere, it just deteriorates. The Gloaming and Go to Sleep don't really do it for me either. Radiohead doesn't owe the public anything. Personally, I can't believe that anyone would expect them to "return to rock." It sounds like Guitar, piano, beatbox, it all seems to work. There are a couple songs that could have been left off. Punch-up at a Wedding doesn't go anywhere, it just deteriorates. The Gloaming and Go to Sleep don't really do it for me either. Radiohead doesn't owe the public anything. Personally, I can't believe that anyone would expect them to "return to rock." It sounds like something the Stones would do, or any other band that can't age gracefully. I like this record for what it is, not what it was supposed to be. Expand
  30. jons
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Of course it's a great album. Radiohead albums always are..yes it's true. Damn True.
  31. darrenfinlayson
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    there isnt anyone on this earth today making anything in the same league as radiohead as far as im concerned. if you beg to differ, i will listen, but everything i have listened to on reccomendation has disapointed me greatly.
  32. AbomnèsP
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    Chef d'oeuvre.
  33. comicbookguy
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    best RH album ever.
  34. Maximquaye
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    I think people should stop this obssessive behaviour of analysing to death every Radiohead album and especially this nonsense of comparing to OK Computer etc.. Or did they evolved blah,blah,blah. It's not only boring,but ridiculous. No other acts gets the same level of scrutinity and pressure. I've been listening to this record non-stop and to my heart content it contains some I think people should stop this obssessive behaviour of analysing to death every Radiohead album and especially this nonsense of comparing to OK Computer etc.. Or did they evolved blah,blah,blah. It's not only boring,but ridiculous. No other acts gets the same level of scrutinity and pressure. I've been listening to this record non-stop and to my heart content it contains some of the most beautiful lyrics and melodies I"ve heard in a long time. THere are a few misses,but overall it is an amazing piece of work on its own. Hail To Radiohead Expand
  35. thePenman
    Jun 10, 2003
    7
    The vast majority of this album smells badly of a missed opportunity. When it peaks ("The raindrops..", the climaxes of Wolf At the Door and There There) it's as breathtaking as Radiohead have ever been, if not moreso. Unfortunately, when it drags, it really, really drags. I almost failed to notice The Gloaming the first time (which, incidentally, makes Treefingers sound positively The vast majority of this album smells badly of a missed opportunity. When it peaks ("The raindrops..", the climaxes of Wolf At the Door and There There) it's as breathtaking as Radiohead have ever been, if not moreso. Unfortunately, when it drags, it really, really drags. I almost failed to notice The Gloaming the first time (which, incidentally, makes Treefingers sound positively climactic), and We Suck Young Blood...well, it sucks. Especially the jazz interlude, which is done with none of the style or subtlety that I associate with Radiohead, especially the Radiohead of late. And I don't know about Ed, but Thom's voice resolutely failed to blow me away, as promised. Hit and miss. It certainly won't win them any new fans, unlike, say, Kid A... Expand
  36. darrenfinlayson
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    there isnt anyone on this earth today making anything in the same league as radiohead as far as im concerned. if you beg to differ, i will listen, but everything i have listened to on reccomendation has disapointed me greatly.
  37. RobertB
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    Once in a while an artist comes along that can not be rated, like Dahli, Gaudi, Lennon, Hendrix... You just have to accept their contributions as pure art that others will one day be compared to, but in their own age cannot be accurately judged. Radiohead have proven to be unclassifiable, and instead of judging their albums, just sit back and enjoy the experience, we are lucky to have them.
  38. AW
    Jun 12, 2003
    8
    People do make the mistake of comparing HTTT to Radiohead's other artsy, and "experimental" accomplishments. Don't do that. Radiohead is out there to experiment with their music. And, with HTTT, only the people that have already bowed down to worship Radiohead will LOVE the album. People with musical ears with appreciate it. And, people not familiar with Radiohead aren't People do make the mistake of comparing HTTT to Radiohead's other artsy, and "experimental" accomplishments. Don't do that. Radiohead is out there to experiment with their music. And, with HTTT, only the people that have already bowed down to worship Radiohead will LOVE the album. People with musical ears with appreciate it. And, people not familiar with Radiohead aren't going to listen to HTTT and instantly be hooked enough to dig up their old albums. That's just how Radiohead is. We've just got some talent on our hands, that's all. It's happened before and will happen again. Expand
  39. [Anonymous]
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    If you think they've lost it you're not listening hard enough.
  40. ClarkV
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    Extremely dark but highly addictive CD that gets better with each listen.
  41. thomasr
    May 25, 2003
    9
    makes more sense and becomes more perfect with each listen.
  42. JasonS
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    While it is not a return to the rock of OKC, it would be a shame if it was, its astouding the way it is.
  43. jamesg
    May 16, 2003
    8
    Merges the best elements of the past 4 albums together, and the result is great. There is so much variation, yet the album still flows. Radiohead have even taken new direction via A Wolf at the Door, and Mxyamotosis.
  44. alecL
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    Shows they are still the best band in the world
  45. sirazhtabukov
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    no comments
  46. timwilson
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    NEARLY PERFECT
  47. Gus
    Jun 6, 2003
    7
    Okay. I dont want to be too harsh. I am without doubt, one of the biggest radiohead fans of all time. I have every b-side. I can play half their songs on the guitar. I saw them twice on their Pablo Honey tour and have been loyal ever since. And with every new album, their sound seemed to grow...change....evolve. There was always something new. And the music was always solid. Kid A was Okay. I dont want to be too harsh. I am without doubt, one of the biggest radiohead fans of all time. I have every b-side. I can play half their songs on the guitar. I saw them twice on their Pablo Honey tour and have been loyal ever since. And with every new album, their sound seemed to grow...change....evolve. There was always something new. And the music was always solid. Kid A was absolute genious. There is no contesting that. Amnesiac....eh.... Considering it was basically the leftovers from Kid A....it was pretty good. It still left me with a little bit of a feeling like I had just been robbed tho. BUT I put that aside because they came out so close together....and I knew they were recorded at the same time. That brings me to HTTT. The first song is great. Nothing evolutionary there....but its solid. It kicks you in the face. Its a great song. The next one....its okay. I guess there is a statement in there somewhere....but....its just kinda boring..... and thats the basic feel of the whole CD. I mean.... they dont do anything new. Myamatosis is brilliant....and innovative....and orignal..... but there are only like 2 or 3 songs on the CD that are up to par with their previous work. Everything is dull and repetitive. The lryics are pretty good.... and its probably the best "produced" CD I have ever heard....AMAZING sound quality. but. its just.... I dont know. I just dont like it that much. The songs seem so uninspired. Maybe its because they are rich and famous now and there is no suffering in their lives to draw from so they just take the attitude of "well, we are radiohead...we can do whatever we want..." but. I dont know. i am "let down". I am sure I will still go see them in concert. And I am sure that eventually I will have all the new songs memorized..... but. Its just not the same radiohead. Maybe some people will really love what they have become. To me.... its just weaker. There are some really nice lullabyes on the new CD....Sail to the moon.... and I will.... and We Suck Young Blood is a freakin scary song. but. I just dont find myself wanting to listen to it over and over the way I did with previous releases. The last track on the CD sounds so much like Beck that is angers me. But. I guess in that industry...everyone draws from everyone. I guess thats it. I just feel like Radiohead used to be a band that raised the bar. ...a band that created something NEW.... nowadays it seems like they just borrow things from others and they cnt reach the bar anymore. But. I still love them. I will just be happy that there is more Radiohead music out there. Even though I will probably reach for my B-sides compilation CDs before I reach for HTTT any time soon. Expand
  48. TheSox
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    Awesome
  49. rachelh
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    first of all, try playing "i will" backwards...it's "spinning plates!!" anyways, httt is definitely a wonderful effort by a great band. while they may have not gone all out onto a new experimental branch this time, they certainly have developed on what they started in previous releases. The band seems to have found a new love for the harmonic minor scale with its dissonant augmented first of all, try playing "i will" backwards...it's "spinning plates!!" anyways, httt is definitely a wonderful effort by a great band. while they may have not gone all out onto a new experimental branch this time, they certainly have developed on what they started in previous releases. The band seems to have found a new love for the harmonic minor scale with its dissonant augmented second that permeates several songs, including "2+2=5" and "sit down stand up." i think httt is a great album and is certainly more accessible to the masses than amnesiac and certainly kid a. Expand
  50. ChrisB
    Jun 17, 2003
    9
    Although I admit I wasn't a huge fan of "Kid A," Radiohead's new album "Hail to the Thief" shows a maturation of the experimental direction they've taken the past few years. The piano adds a haunting, mysterious quality to their music and the vocals are masterfully interwoven within the textured melodies. I recommend this album to anyone with a taste for the ethereal. A few Although I admit I wasn't a huge fan of "Kid A," Radiohead's new album "Hail to the Thief" shows a maturation of the experimental direction they've taken the past few years. The piano adds a haunting, mysterious quality to their music and the vocals are masterfully interwoven within the textured melodies. I recommend this album to anyone with a taste for the ethereal. A few listenings and you'll be hooked...Trust me. Expand
  51. ClingingOntoBottles
    May 23, 2003
    8
    Well let's see...six albums and Radiohead has arguably had five separate incarnations, gone in five distinct directions, Amnesiac being the only album that was really just a continuation of its predecessor. HTTT gives us a Radiohead that's tougher and more cohesive, they've learned some lessons from Kid A and Amnesiac but they've outgrown that art-for-art's-sake Well let's see...six albums and Radiohead has arguably had five separate incarnations, gone in five distinct directions, Amnesiac being the only album that was really just a continuation of its predecessor. HTTT gives us a Radiohead that's tougher and more cohesive, they've learned some lessons from Kid A and Amnesiac but they've outgrown that art-for-art's-sake sense of experimentalism that led to some of their more out-there tracks like "Pulk" or "Like Spinning Plates." The focus is definitely on the songs here, and Thom's lyrics are more front and center than they have been in a while, which is a definite bonus because they're some of his strongest ever, pretty evenly split between venomous political barbs and very personal meditations on love and family (ahh, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy to see our alt-rock heroes settling down...oh yeah, and old, it makes me feel very old). My only complaint with the album is that at times it seems like the band is coasting and falling back on things that worked in the past, now that they seem more focused on making a cohesive statement rather than simply continuing to push the envelope. Songs like "Go To Sleep" and "We Suck Young Blood" could have benefitted from a little more tweaking in the studio because these versions sound a little flat (and yes I do have the final mastered versions). But that's just a quibble when you consider songs like "2+2=5," one of the 5 best RH songs of all-time, not to mention flawless instant classics like "Keep the Wolf at the Door" "Where I End and You Begin" "Scatterbrain" and "There There." Expand
  52. LukeS
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    Brilliant! I don't know how Radiohead could top this album, but the amazing thing is I would expect them to with their next release. There aren't many bands around that have such consistently high standards.
  53. KidA
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Perfect. It truly is perfect. Every note, every word blends together to form a truly classic album. Their best work and it is definitely one of this year's top five albums.
  54. Flawedbeing
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    Hail To The Thief is at least on par with any of Radiohead?s work, which is an incredibly big statement since OK Computer was probably the most acclaimed album of the ?90s and its follow-ups some of the most controversial hate/love affairs of the early ?00s. Where to start, then, in describing an album as expansive, as mind-blowingly incredible as Hail To The Thief? Some history, Hail To The Thief is at least on par with any of Radiohead?s work, which is an incredibly big statement since OK Computer was probably the most acclaimed album of the ?90s and its follow-ups some of the most controversial hate/love affairs of the early ?00s. Where to start, then, in describing an album as expansive, as mind-blowingly incredible as Hail To The Thief? Some history, probably, would be good. After getting unanimous praise for the progressive rock on OK Computer, Radiohead apparently decided that nothing less than a 180 degree turn in their musical style was in order. Kid A was the sound of a band dodging the all-too-easy fate of getting painted into a corner; the album took cues from the experimental electronica born from the womb of Aphex Twin and Autechre, nurturing it in the rock shell of OK Computer. The result was brilliant enough to spawn two albums from the same recording session: Amnesiac was slightly less avant garde, retaining basic strong structure but still remaining rooted in the splintered electronica of Kid A. With the announcement of Hail To The Thief, popular rumour held that the band would be returning to the more universally appealing style of OK Computer. Instead, Radiohead have done something even more unbelievable. On Hail To The Thief, they build a cohesive, meticulously arranged bridge between the disparate styles of OK Computer and Kid A, filling a gap many thought irreconciliable. On ?2 + 2 = 5? and ?There There,? Radiohead plumb the OK Computer side of their natures, to wonderful, loud, emotive effect that is nothing short of amazing. On the other hand, ?Backdrifts? and ?The Gloaming? would fit perfectly on Kid A, and ?Myxomatosis? may just be too far-out even for the latter. Lyrically and in terms of its message, Hail To The Thief is also a bridge, embracing neither the obsessive-compulsive apocalypticism of Kid A nor the Orwellian futurism of OK Computer. Instead, Hail To The Thief is a work of paranoia, of cornered desperation both anchored in the here and now (look no further than the title and the opener ?2 + 2 = 5? to reveal fear of the political landscape in the world) and in the future, a future singer Yorke fears may be spoiled for future generations (the lyrics of ?I Will? and ?A Wolf At The Door?). Stylistically, Hail To The Thief is too kinetic to be branded post-rock, but piano-driven ballads like ?Sail to the Moon? are unquestionably not experimental electronica. Indeed, this album is an amalgamation of all of Radiohead?s diverse elements, all of the strengths that each individual pulls from the band and admires in part. Yet Hail To The Thief is so much more than simply a mix of styles and voices. Everything here is so immaculately made, so perfectly integrated into the whole of the album that one can only listen in open-jawed admiration. When the album goes rock-electronic-rock-piano and then goes into the harshly kinetic/glitchtronic ?Backdrifts,? the shift is perfectly natural, the sound of a band that, quite simply, can pull off absolutely anything and does on this album. Thom Yorke has said that this is the last album Radiohead will make in their current vein, that Hail To The Thief is Radiohead?s ?pop? album and the band will be unrecognizable in two years. He seems to have a very unnatural view of pop. If only pop were this good, the music industry would be in an entirely different place. Hail To The Thief is only ?pop? in the sense that it is a retracing of what Radiohead has done so far, already in the public?s view. But, again, there is absolutely nothing dated on this album. ?2 + 2 = 5? is frenzied, paranoid, and skittering, but it sounds like nothing on OK Computer did. The rest of the tracks also carry an incredibly fresh sound. Hail To The Thief is all about the new, not the old. It is an embrace of different styles rather than a temperate mediation. The closest Radiohead come to retracing their steps is the first single, ?There There,? strangely chosen for the role as it is best listened to in the context of the album- ?There There? acts as the emotional climax before songs 10-14 bring the action down to a dark, brooding finish. Words don?t describe how absolutely brilliant all of this is. On Hail To The Thief Radiohead have taken an ever-so-brief pause to show us that the jagged edges of Kid A and the island of perfected prog-rock that was OK Computer, the eclectic freewheel of Amnesiac and the prefiguration of The Bends were not the isolated tinkerings of a band searching for a single musical home. Instead, it is now proven that Radiohead don?t need a single musical home. They can take all of it, all of their influences and styles and themes and thoughts, put it all together, and come up with an genius conglomeration of purpose and art. The result is a glorious triumph of musical achievement, an album where A Silver Mt. Zion-style operatic backdrop on aggressive baseline (?Where I End and You Begin?) is completely in place amid delusionary quasi-spoken word (the brilliantly original ?A Wolf At The Door?) and catchy alt-rock melodics (?A Punch-Up At A Wedding?). If Yorke is to be believed, this is a culmination, an end to Radiohead?s current ?track?- one that most people consider less of a track than a random jumping- before the band moves into a new one. If so, there could be nothing better for the role than Hail To The Thief, the best album of this half of 2003. To understand what Radiohead have been doing for the last decade as a whole, to understand what all the disparate genres of modern music have been pushing at but falling short of achieving, to hear the worlds of electronic music and rock brought to their absolute zenith of achievement before the defining band of our generation moves on to something new, you must listen to Hail To The Thief. It defines the term ?essential record.? It isn?t new, it isn?t a musical revolution, but it is divine. And you don?t really need any other album this year if you have this one. Seeing as Hail To The Thief takes about ten listens to appreciate and probably at least 700 before it gets old, that isn?t a problem. Expand
  55. AmandaF.
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this album. It's the best they've made since OK Computer and my definite pick for album of the year. I can't get it out of my cd player, much less out of my head!
  56. BrittanyJ
    Jun 11, 2003
    9
    Not as good as ok computer or the bends but its incredibly hard to beat those albums. This cd is absolutely ingenius as with most of Radiohead's work. You people have no clue what you are talking about.
  57. BenS
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    This is terrific. I love every song. Despite a mixture of different types of songs, the album is cohesive. It is all very melodic. I also found this album extremely moving. Thom sounds really desperate (though I think 'We Suck Young Blood' is hilarious.) If you think Thom sounds "whiny" or don't see what he is all worked up about, take a look at the world around you. "You This is terrific. I love every song. Despite a mixture of different types of songs, the album is cohesive. It is all very melodic. I also found this album extremely moving. Thom sounds really desperate (though I think 'We Suck Young Blood' is hilarious.) If you think Thom sounds "whiny" or don't see what he is all worked up about, take a look at the world around you. "You haven't been paying attention!", Thom sings in 2+2=5. Expand
  58. WillS
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    another brilliant effort from the band that can keep reinventing itself. its not perfect. in my opinion, its good to hear them rock again ("2+2=5") and the better songs on the album seem to be the ones more guitar-orientated. like every other radiohead album, this one is very different from the others.
  59. AdamE
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    An album that continues to impress and excite after nearly 3 weeks of constant listening, the poignancy that the album creates is nothing short of heartbreaking.
  60. juanf
    May 21, 2003
    9
    Most likely, "The Bends" will always be Radiohead's number one album, but this one comes close. "Kid A" and "Amnesiac" were decent works, but the songs could not hold up by themselves without the "concept". Hail To The Thief is an album of songs AND ideas and not just a group of interesting abstract thoughts. Highlights include "There There", the first single, "2+2=5", and a Most likely, "The Bends" will always be Radiohead's number one album, but this one comes close. "Kid A" and "Amnesiac" were decent works, but the songs could not hold up by themselves without the "concept". Hail To The Thief is an album of songs AND ideas and not just a group of interesting abstract thoughts. Highlights include "There There", the first single, "2+2=5", and a Bends-like tune and a superb opener. The surprisingly catchy tune "Punch Up At A Wedding" is my personal favorite. If Punch Up isn't a future single, I will be amazed. Do yourself a favor and buy the album, even if you downloaded it. Chances are that you downloaded a very early mix of it anyway. Expand
  61. RickD
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    One word to describe it...beautiful
  62. ElvisB
    May 16, 2003
    10
    "Hail you the Thief" has a little of the best aspects of the four last albums of the band. Attention for "2+2=5", "I Will" and "Go to Sleep". A great record.
  63. andreasr
    May 19, 2003
    9
    it is the best compromise, between ok computer and Kid A , Amnesiac sessions... and at every spin you'll grasp sounds that only radiohead can make so unique...and dreaming.. Brilliant
  64. MichaelK
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    This is not Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, or Amnesiac. This is Hail to the Thief, and like every other Radiohead album (barring PH), it stands in a league of its own. Like every other Radiohead album before it, they craft a definitive mood and unique progression of music that manages to be fresh and inviting at the same time. Rarely ever is the music on this held by the This is not Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, or Amnesiac. This is Hail to the Thief, and like every other Radiohead album (barring PH), it stands in a league of its own. Like every other Radiohead album before it, they craft a definitive mood and unique progression of music that manages to be fresh and inviting at the same time. Rarely ever is the music on this held by the conventions of pop, but that doesn't matter, as there is so much that is accessible and easy to love here. From the beginning wavering guitar strumming of "2 + 2 = 5." to the gorgeous synth pads and harmonious pleas of "Sail to the Moon," to the harsh fuzz of "Myxomatosis," the moods swing wildly between warmth and angst, melody and dischord, often with such dichotomies appearing within a single song. Thom Yorke gives one of the most eclectic, yet strong vocal performances to date, his voice mutating yet again to match the mood of the record. Intense, sly, and focused, he conjures dark and intriguing images of a world gone awry, in danger of having no future. Issues of control, martyrdom, and infection abound throughout the record. Musically, you could say this is Radiohead's "pop" record, if merely for the more live-sounding bent of the music in comparison to some of their recent works. The best way to describe it is a different approach, meant to be more immediate superficially while betraying a deeper, intricate heart. Such complex beauty shouldn't remain hidden in any case. Expand
  65. RyanT
    Jul 3, 2003
    9
    I feel this is there best album since OK Computer. People should not expect another album like OK Computer. Its impossible to top a perfect album. This album is a solid mix of a more rock oriented Radiohead with some of the usual techno also. Highlights include There There, 2+2=5, and Wolf at the Door.
  66. TheSox
    May 5, 2010
    10
    Awesome
  67. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Besides being in my humble opinion a phenomonal record and also in my opinion being tied for third (with The Bends) in Radiohead's discography (behind OK Computer and Kid A), Radiohead diversifies themselves and shows all the Creep lovers and Kid A fanatics that we can all just get along and make a record that has it all. From heavy rock (2+2=5, Myxomytosis), to jazz (Sail to the Moon,Besides being in my humble opinion a phenomonal record and also in my opinion being tied for third (with The Bends) in Radiohead's discography (behind OK Computer and Kid A), Radiohead diversifies themselves and shows all the Creep lovers and Kid A fanatics that we can all just get along and make a record that has it all. From heavy rock (2+2=5, Myxomytosis), to jazz (Sail to the Moon, We Suck Young Blood), to electronic (Sit Down Stand Up, Backdrifts, The Gloaming), to rock funk (Where I End and You Begin, A Punch Up at a Wedding), to Beatles/Rolling Stones-clad rock tunes (Go to Sleep, There There, A Wolf at the Door), to heart felt ballads (I Will, Scatterbrain.) It may be noticed that I have named every song on the album in that list, yet this only furthers my point that this is a record that somehow combines several very different genres to create a very well synced album. Not only that, but lyrically, Radiohead almost undoubtedly writes out their most politically vocal set of songs that exemplifies thier Orwellian and anti-Big Brother views in a way that is while very open, but is also not completely in your face and gives you an opportunaty to enjoy the music while not having to focus in politically. In this album Radiohead in a raw manner redefines their sound (again) and in the process creates a very memorable record. Expand
  68. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    Completely melts my face off. I was confused by it at first, like most of their records, but unlike Kid A, I lost hope in this one for a while. After shelving it for a while I came back to it and was listening to it all the time. It might take effort, but this record will win you over if you let it.
  69. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    Radiohead's most underrated album, in my opinion. It may lack the unforgettable songs of other efforts but it makes for a damn fine listen. Its being stuck between Kid A/Amnesiac and In Rainbows probably hurts its reputation a bit, but Yorke and Company still deliver.
  70. Oct 5, 2010
    8
    A weaker effort than what they've done since Pablo Honey, but still a good Radiohead album. What really makes it weaker is how uneven the album is. About 2-3 tracks longer than a usual Radiohead album, there are a number of songs ("Backdrifts", "We Suck Young Blood", "Scatterbrain") that shouldn't have made the cut, but somehow managed to. I would sitll highly recommend it, though, becauseA weaker effort than what they've done since Pablo Honey, but still a good Radiohead album. What really makes it weaker is how uneven the album is. About 2-3 tracks longer than a usual Radiohead album, there are a number of songs ("Backdrifts", "We Suck Young Blood", "Scatterbrain") that shouldn't have made the cut, but somehow managed to. I would sitll highly recommend it, though, because it's still several notches above most of the "fridge buzz" out there. Expand
  71. May 6, 2011
    10
    this album is it's own genre."sail to the moon" with it .
    this is a perfect album containing elements of all things radiohead.political but not preachy true collectors item.
  72. May 18, 2011
    10
    This album is one of their best- at least in the parts of the whole sum. the problem with the whole is tracklisting. get rid of 2-4 songs and it really works well. i'd say we suck young blood, and scatterbrain and a few others would have comfortably fit onto a rather good side EP. no two people would agree on which songs to omit- the whole 14 gets lost, but when i have listened to about 11This album is one of their best- at least in the parts of the whole sum. the problem with the whole is tracklisting. get rid of 2-4 songs and it really works well. i'd say we suck young blood, and scatterbrain and a few others would have comfortably fit onto a rather good side EP. no two people would agree on which songs to omit- the whole 14 gets lost, but when i have listened to about 11 and used the skip button-always a different set of songs, but it works and i think this is perhaps the most artistically developed and mature radiohead album in concept, if it is missing some of the more instinctive musical features. these points have never bothered me in the slightest! Expand
  73. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Hail To The Thief for the most part is a great album. The opener "2 + 2 = 5" is one of my favorite Radiohead songs. The only gripe I have about it is that some of the tracks sound like fillers. Not all of them, but just a few. Other than that, Hail To The Thief might be hard getting into if you're becoming a Radiohead fan, but it's a great album that doesn't quite top "Kid A" or "InHail To The Thief for the most part is a great album. The opener "2 + 2 = 5" is one of my favorite Radiohead songs. The only gripe I have about it is that some of the tracks sound like fillers. Not all of them, but just a few. Other than that, Hail To The Thief might be hard getting into if you're becoming a Radiohead fan, but it's a great album that doesn't quite top "Kid A" or "In Rainbows", but still a great jam. B+ Expand
  74. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    This album has some truly spectacular moments - Go to Sleep, 2+2=5, Sit Down Stand Up and A Punchup at a Wedding to name just a few, and is the typical Radiohead excellence. However, I cannot help but feel that a few tracks (such as We Suck Young Blood and I Will) would have been better as B-Sides. They extended the album beyond its lifespan and were not quite as strong. With a few removedThis album has some truly spectacular moments - Go to Sleep, 2+2=5, Sit Down Stand Up and A Punchup at a Wedding to name just a few, and is the typical Radiohead excellence. However, I cannot help but feel that a few tracks (such as We Suck Young Blood and I Will) would have been better as B-Sides. They extended the album beyond its lifespan and were not quite as strong. With a few removed tracks the album would have had such powerful impetus as to be unstoppable. Expand
  75. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    Not quite up with their best work and probably 3 tracks too long but still a great album with some moments of absolute brilliance. After the excitement that came with it's predecessors, this was slightly anti climatic. There is something about the album that just gives it a gloomier than normal feel.It was great to hear Johnny Greenwood's guitar strongly involved for theNot quite up with their best work and probably 3 tracks too long but still a great album with some moments of absolute brilliance. After the excitement that came with it's predecessors, this was slightly anti climatic. There is something about the album that just gives it a gloomier than normal feel.It was great to hear Johnny Greenwood's guitar strongly involved for the majority of the album after it's bitpart on Kid A and Amnesiac. 2+2=5, There There and Myxamatosis were the highlights for me. Expand
  76. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    My favorite Radiohead album. Why? Because in addition to the experimental sound that was developed during the Kid A era, the rock sound is back with it. And these two sounds surprisingly incredible, and go together like vanilla and chocolate ice cream. This is one heck of a treat, for rock listeners and hipsters alike. In ways, I believe this is better than Kid A and OK Computer.
  77. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    Despite being another great album, one feels that something is missing. Possibly it's the lack of a greater beauty in music. But it's still amazing and great to hear it.
  78. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    My first non-immediate album back in the day. There There worked from the first listen, but the rest of the album seemed boring on first hand and my teenage mind didn't expect patience to be rewarded, but through repeated listenings I came to understand what a deep and pertinent yet abstract work of art this is. You'll see imperfections at first, quirks later on, and by the crucial listenMy first non-immediate album back in the day. There There worked from the first listen, but the rest of the album seemed boring on first hand and my teenage mind didn't expect patience to be rewarded, but through repeated listenings I came to understand what a deep and pertinent yet abstract work of art this is. You'll see imperfections at first, quirks later on, and by the crucial listen you will see charisma and strength. Expand
  79. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    Super album. You will find a lot of things. Rock and piano ballads with a slight touch of electronic music. It's a very original sound, and the lyrics are deep and poetic.
  80. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I put this album as Radiohead's 4th best album and it is excellent. It has tons of songs which is rare on a Radiohead album. This is their darkest album in terms of tone and lyrics. It can get borderline uncomfortable on tracks like "Suck Young Blood", "Wolf at the Door", "Myxamatosis" but like all Radiohead albums, more and more listens offer revelations and satisfaction. HTTT hasI put this album as Radiohead's 4th best album and it is excellent. It has tons of songs which is rare on a Radiohead album. This is their darkest album in terms of tone and lyrics. It can get borderline uncomfortable on tracks like "Suck Young Blood", "Wolf at the Door", "Myxamatosis" but like all Radiohead albums, more and more listens offer revelations and satisfaction. HTTT has classic songs Go To Sleep, There There, 2 2 5, Sit Down. Stand Up) and true to form there is one absolute dud (Gloaming). This album isn't warm and inviting like earlier efforts and thats the point. Like the metal band Tool said once, "finding beauty in the dissonance". Expand
  81. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    a great album of variations, is an miz of Kid A and OK Computer, but only one, agreat album of pure rock, and melodies full of feelings, recomedated for everyone
  82. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Here is my track by track, but first; this album is all the things that make Radiohead loveable channeled into one cohesive body of work, with great songs and a sound that is distinctly theirs. It would be one of their best, but the 56-minute runtime is not supported with enough variety to carry it through. It's still nice to see them so in their own, and though it may be a littleHere is my track by track, but first; this album is all the things that make Radiohead loveable channeled into one cohesive body of work, with great songs and a sound that is distinctly theirs. It would be one of their best, but the 56-minute runtime is not supported with enough variety to carry it through. It's still nice to see them so in their own, and though it may be a little self-indulgent for them, I can't help but love it. A significant chapter in their career. (Note: All track-by-track ratings are in context to the album; a 5 here might be a 4 elsewhere or vice versa.)
    2+2=5 (5/5)
    One of Radiohead's best openers to date, then slow-moving jazz-influenced number evolves into a paranoid punk rock anthem, then screeches to a halt.
    Sit Down, Stand Up (5/5)
    A haunting yet beautiful melody exhibits Thom Yorke's political paranoia; the instrumentation builds until the song is drowned out in a roar of white noise. Radiohead in their essence.
    Sail To The Moon (5/5)
    Another win for HTTT! the third in a masterful opening sequence this drifts along with the ease of a 50's ballad. The classical picking adds to the daydream effect, and it serves as the calm after the storm!
    Back Drifts (4/5)
    Though a little over-extended this song has killer bass, and the beat keeps the pulse of the song moving, even when it's broke the 4-minute mark. A little more variety would have been nice though...
    Go To Sleep (3.5/5)
    While it's rock feel fits well in the midst of an electronic wasteland, it's easily forgettable, and lacks the characteristics of the other songs. Not a disappointment just not a jackpot either!
    Where I End (4.5/5)
    A pick-me-up, this song represents the album's sound quite nicely. While not quite as spectacular as the opening three it's very pop, though quite dark, and it keeps the album moving.
    We Suck Young Blood (2.5/5)
    If Where I End kept the album moving, then this was a major road block, tripping it up with a ridiculously slow tempo, and a slightly repetitive structure. Elements of it have potential but as it's whole it's a bore.
    The Gloaming (5/5)
    I don't know why I like this song so much- it's the waterfall drip maybe, or it's the fact that it breathes life into the album after "WSYB". Though I may be over-rating it it flows well and it's a good side opener.
    There There (3.5/5)
    Often regarded as the album's best track I disagree, but believe it's a good catchy song. Not quite a 5, because I rarely feel the urge to play it, and it's a little too slow, but far from filler.
    I Will (4/5)
    I Will on it's own is far from a massive accomplishment. But when viewed as the intro to Drunken Punch-Up, as there is no break in between, it's brilliant and contributes to the album in mood and variety.
    Drunken Punch-up (5/5)
    And they're back. The album's building up steam before it ends and this jazz fusion pop-fest is no exception. It manages to be dark, complex and fun all at the same time.
    Myxomatosis (5/5)
    Also rocks. the album's over all slow tempo is sped up a little in a catchy and vibrant jam comparable to a track off THE BENDS, or Bodysnatchers off IN RAINBOWS.
    Scatterbrain (3/5)
    It's beautiful, and the lick would be heart-breaking, but it meanders, and the album would be just fine without it. WSYB & this could be removed to make an amazing and way shorter album.
    Wolf At The Door (5/5)
    Radiohead always have the best closers. Always. The abstract poetic lyrics, incredibly melodic chorus and almost hip-hop influenced verse serves to make a total masterstroke!
    Expand
  83. May 16, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Radiohead's sixth record is sort of a return to form. A work in which guitars, bass, drums and a overall "normal-hearing" rock sound returns.. with of course the same unique tunes and originality typical of the british band. Thom Yorke gave the album a very heavy political feel, with songs like 2 + 2 = 5 that refer to George Orwell's 1984 or Knives Out. It's a good LP with some killer tracks like the 2 mentioned before or There There. I believe the only problem it has is that aside from few great gems, there aren't that many incredbile songs as other records like Ok Computer, The Bends or Kid A. It's a good album, but it feels like Radioheads did not gave 100% of their talent.. a feeling that instead is totally absent in the later and more mature work, In Rainbows. Expand
  84. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    My favourite album from my favourite band, I still can't understand the crtizims that it gets. I really think there is not one single song that is not great in Hail To The Thief, they all work great by themself but work so much better alltogether. I strongly recomend the Collectors Edition which includes "Where bluebirds fly" one of their best songs. I also think the best artwork done byMy favourite album from my favourite band, I still can't understand the crtizims that it gets. I really think there is not one single song that is not great in Hail To The Thief, they all work great by themself but work so much better alltogether. I strongly recomend the Collectors Edition which includes "Where bluebirds fly" one of their best songs. I also think the best artwork done by Stanley Donwood is the one used in this album. Expand
  85. Jul 15, 2015
    9
    For my first review on albums, I picked one of my favourites: Hail To The Thief, by Radiohead. Its got some pretty good hits on there, one of my personal favourites being There There. A must-listen for rockers everywhere.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. As admirable as Radiohead's quest ongoing quest to ignore expectations, tear up the manual and proudly rebel against the limitations of 4/4 time seems, some of Hail To The Thief comes dangerously close to being all experimentalism and precious little substance. [Jul 2003, p.98]
  2. Of course it's political, and of course it continues to merge electronic experimentation with more familiar rock structures; but it employs all those debate-igniting props simply to further the band's more pressing agenda: to tirelessly explore beauty's terrible fragility.
  3. Hail to the Thief is overloaded with miraculous sounds.