Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    The Scots post-rockers who will outlast them all. [March 2011, p. 100]
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    60
    Its (mostly) gimmick-free, clear-eyed dreamer propulsion will buoy you. But if, like me, you're looking for something a little deeper in an instrumental rock record and you don't unrestrainedly sanctify this band, you may want to hold out till the next Do Make Say Think album.
  3. Feb 16, 2011
    60
    They aren't working out new muscles so much as they're toning and flexing the ones they have. That doesn't make these songs bad, or even boilerplate. Mogwai is good enough at what they do to keep it fresh enough, but when they're not exploring as much on record, we get less to listen for in the bargain.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    60
    Hardcore... may be their most consistent album for a while but any of its tracks would have fitted perfectly on its predecessors Mr Beast or The Hawk is Howling.
  5. Feb 14, 2011
    40
    It's not that it's post-rock-by-numbers, although at times it really is, but more so that it doesn't even sound like there are painters behind the palette.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 13, 2011
    9
    Although it's nothing ENTIRELY new the band has come out with their most consistent and tight record. I love this album to pieces. "Letters toAlthough it's nothing ENTIRELY new the band has come out with their most consistent and tight record. I love this album to pieces. "Letters to the Metro" "Rano Pano" and "Death Rays" are the best and even make it into their top 15 career tracks. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Im quite a Postrock Fan, but i've never listened to Mogwai before i bought this album. And it really suprised me, because i can understand nowIm quite a Postrock Fan, but i've never listened to Mogwai before i bought this album. And it really suprised me, because i can understand now why this band is an Inspiration for almost every other Postrock band. for me, this album is perfect in every detail. Thanks, Mogwai. Full Review »
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    Ranks up there with Come On Die Young, Ten Rapid, and Mr. Beast in the Mogwai's best album category....might even satisfy some of those stillRanks up there with Come On Die Young, Ten Rapid, and Mr. Beast in the Mogwai's best album category....might even satisfy some of those still obssessed with Young Team. This is the album they tried to make with The Hawk is Howling and sounds very refreshing for this band. Only song I didn't care for was the last one. Full Review »