Havoc and Bright Lights - Alanis Morissette
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    this is easily one of Alanis Morissette's finest albums, proving that you don't have to be miserable or depressed to be inspired to create art. It's already trite to compare her albums to Jagged Little Pill, so I will just compare this to her previous "happy" album, So-Called Chaos. While SCC struggled to find words, rhythm, and coherence to describe that so-called happiness, the songs of Havoc and Bright Lights show clarity and genuine joy both in lyrics and melody. Lots of potential radio hits here: Receive, Empathy, Spiral, Win and Win, Woman Down. If there's an album that should propel her back to the charts and awards shows this would be it. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    I love the album is cool super coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool, i love alanis morisettte is coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool and i love you
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    This album couldn't better paint Alanis' life at the moment. There are so many fantastic moments in this album that it almost takes the knife out of the four-year-wait-cake. We are served a full album filled with sonically-brilliant moments and true pieces of pop art. As an artist, Alanis never fails to express herself in beautiful ways. Listening to the music offers music ingenuity, but reading the lyrics and truly understanding each song and what it stands for is how you can get the most out of this album. Everything about it clicks. 17 years since Jagged Little Pill, and still on top of her game. Havoc and Bright Lights is easily one of her best works to date. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Not the masterpiece I've been waiting for, but still a good album with a fresh (for Alanis' music), well made and well produced sound, which makes "Havoc and Bright Lights" a good "sequel" of "Flavors of Entanglement".
  5. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Havoc and Bright lights is full of spiritual point of view and meditation about how to watch our life inside each person and not out of the person. I really love this album, based upon the lyrics. Some songs have good music, but others have been so soft if we compare it to what Alanis has recorded before. It is an album that is connected to the person and the environment where the person is. We can't love it if we pretend to listen to it as a normal-simple-common person. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    40
    Mostly, though, Morrisette succumbs to her dual predilections for quasi-spirituality and stultifying sappiness. [Oct 2012, p.84]
  2. 70
    Morissette's poetic discourse of intimately describing her feelings still abounds, but is elegantly emoted here with cool restraint.
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    50
    While it may be a difficult task to get through all 12 psycho-babble-filled tune on havoc, it's not entirely a wash or without merit. Ultimately, if you're not into hearing someone use their artistic expression to vent their frustrations and contemplate fairly uneducated meanderings on the current social state, or you're not struggling with your own identity lacking the mental capacity to understand your surroundings, you need not apply.