Heart of Nowhere

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: May 6, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    Their search for large-scale anthems and keenness to replicate a formula that doesn’t come naturally to them leaves them sounding boxed in, and imbuing Heart of Nowhere with all the grace and flexibility of four concrete pillars.
  2. Mojo
    May 20, 2013
    The ersatz '80s production, lyrical platitudes and soft focus atmospherics stray uncomfortably close to parody. [Jun 2013, p.85]
  3. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    This band aren't about confrontation, and to those attuned, this is exactly their strength. [Jun 2013, p.109]
  4. May 8, 2013
    Fink still seems to be finding the confidence in his voice that when it’s pushed is truly wonderful, but most of time a little dreary and unconscious. That aside, this is a lovely little record for folk fans who like a Seventies scuff.
  5. 60
    When Fink sings, “I think still after all these years, something still burns,” on the chorus, seven tracks in, we’re left feeling less like teens trapped on an island and more like parents who have beaten the odds and stayed together. Similar disruptions that take us away from “teenland” are the records’ main fault, though it’s largely successful as a sunny summer album.
  6. 60
    While it's pleasantly effected for the most part, it's hard to get involved in someone else's nostalgia.
  7. May 2, 2013
    If much of this is catchy, however, you can’t help but miss the Noah And The Whale who could be emotionally devastating.
  8. 60
    Their fourth is a satisfying blend of youth and experience, at its best when raw feelings and twenty20-something anxieties chafe against its smooth, midtempo rock.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. May 10, 2013
    I bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the musicI bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the music inbetween is aimed at 12-15 year old girls. I thought I was listening to the best of Australian Idol. Songs have no depth and are aim at a quick buck!!

    Utter crap and is the worst album of my collection. The only positive is that I also bought the new strokes album which is gold.
    Full Review »