Hefty Fine

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 133
  2. Negative: 39 out of 133

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HerschelR
    Dec 8, 2005
    3
    Prior to this album, The Bloodhound Gang had occupied a pretty unique niche in humor. Now that pop culture has been stripmined of its nostalgia by VH1 "I Love the X0s" shows, and been subjected to the superior musings of TV shows like Family Guy, Jimmy Pop may have - like a man with superglue in his urethra - needed to try a bit harder on this release. Sonically, the songs are Prior to this album, The Bloodhound Gang had occupied a pretty unique niche in humor. Now that pop culture has been stripmined of its nostalgia by VH1 "I Love the X0s" shows, and been subjected to the superior musings of TV shows like Family Guy, Jimmy Pop may have - like a man with superglue in his urethra - needed to try a bit harder on this release. Sonically, the songs are overproduced ProTools slop and are totally unremarkable in terms of musicianship: a quality which spans their whole back catalog, of course, but is always eclipsed by the high-quality humor content. This album, however, presents itself in a different way: the guys seem to be trying to legitimize their 30-something music careers by turning down the "silly" and cranking up the bravado and misogyny on a handful of their new tracks - even more so than on "Hooray for Boobies". As a result of this, and also including the not-worth-mentioning filler tracks, there is such a dearth of good material on this album that it feels like an EP, packaged at full-length prices. BHG fans want one-liners to share with their friends, not FrootyLoops techno a decade too late to be impressive, or a relevant parody of itself. You know, a decade ago, if the Bloodhound Gang wrote a song entitled "Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss", it would have been about a mentally retarded guy trying to say "And this, and this, and this" when he's choosing shiny keys to stare at, not about drum kicks and hi-hat claps. As a fan since "One Fierce Beer Coaster", it's difficult to see any of the qualities in the new Bloodhound Gang release that endeared them to me in the first place. Yes, the song "Ralph Wiggum" is alright, but "alright" is not acceptable from a band that sees zero competition in its genre. These guys are the only luge team in the Special Olympics, and they even botched that. Perhaps Jimmy Pop will use the next half-decade to refine and update his ebbing wit. These years of groupie-groping seem to have dulled his perspective. With this release, it seems as though he's going to have to take a necessary, if not willing, sabbatical from both. And he should also check the fiber in his diet. Expand
  2. DonaldT
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    This is the reason I don't believe in god.
  3. utmost
    Mar 22, 2006
    1
    It's as good/funny as the cover would suggest.
  4. DjH(KouroutaRulez)Heki
    Apr 19, 2006
    0
    oh my god...I really did not know that there is something that sounds so bad like this album.i thought that things like that could never be released by any label...this is the punishment of god...i never really thought that there was an album in this world in which i would give a:0,zero,nothing...it is the first time that after listening to an album,i was starring at my room with my mouth oh my god...I really did not know that there is something that sounds so bad like this album.i thought that things like that could never be released by any label...this is the punishment of god...i never really thought that there was an album in this world in which i would give a:0,zero,nothing...it is the first time that after listening to an album,i was starring at my room with my mouth wide open,because a really could not believe what i was hearing...this is bad,really bad Expand
  5. MikeZ
    May 9, 2006
    0
    If you've ever seen John Waters' "Pink Flamingos," I'm sure you remember that infamous last scene. For those of you who (for whatever reason) haven't experienced it yet, I'm going to spoil the surprise ending: Divine (that big drag queen) eats fresh dog feces. Personally, I'd take the dog shit over this album--or anything else by the Bloodhound Gang. If you've ever seen John Waters' "Pink Flamingos," I'm sure you remember that infamous last scene. For those of you who (for whatever reason) haven't experienced it yet, I'm going to spoil the surprise ending: Divine (that big drag queen) eats fresh dog feces. Personally, I'd take the dog shit over this album--or anything else by the Bloodhound Gang. Painfully unfunny. Expand
  6. ZedI
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    no power in their chords; no smart humor in their lyrics...the garbage starts with the ill-designed cover and never ends. One big, looping mess o'shit.
  7. I.Lynch
    Jul 30, 2006
    0
    I'm guessing jimmy pop and Ryan T are typical BHG fans swear at people dont share they're crappy sense of humour. Really, this is a terrible and annoying album. If you want humour, get Tnacious D.
  8. AndrewC.
    Sep 18, 2006
    1
    Some fool gave it a 10 and even admitted he "hadn't personally listened to it yet". I think this sums up the whole thing. The End.
  9. bloodhoundgangareshit
    Jun 7, 2007
    0
    If you like the Bloodhound Gang then you are as thick as pig shit. That's not a pejorative insult...it's true
  10. BendikD
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Jesus, Marie and Joseph, what is this crap?! Can someone just make a loaw that forbids The Bloodhound Gang to make music? That would make me and the rest of the world with good taste in music very happy.
  11. slavy
    Dec 1, 2005
    1
    worthless
  12. Jeff
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    A depressing reminder that world may end soon.
  13. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    Dude, who actually rates this album? It's like doing a review for a Weird Al album. Got to say, Foxtrot made me laugh pretty hard when I saw that video. Anyone who drives a Oscar Mayer Weinermobile into a tunnel while singing about fucking has a pretty good sense of humor if you ask me.
  14. austinp
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    This is not a very good album at all, made me shudder
  15. PrometheusF
    Jun 17, 2007
    1
    Its just so painful when a band releases a CD like this. I'd wish they'd taken an extra 5 years coming up with a better album! The only song that seems to come close to any former glory would be Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss but even that seems to fall flat. A sugestion for anyone thinking of buying this; don't.
  16. HarryS
    Nov 20, 2005
    1
    Awful. Awful. AWFUL. How are they still making a living?
  17. TerribleCrap
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    uhn uhn uhn baby uhn uhn uhn
  18. Mack
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    Crap like this should not be allowed to exist. This shouldn't even be a genre. This isn't humor or music. It's pure crap. Anyone who finds any artistic merit to this worthless "album" has a) no taste in music and b) no sense of humor. I can't believe anyone would pay $$ to listen to absolute trash. How do these guys even have a career? The fact that they are still Crap like this should not be allowed to exist. This shouldn't even be a genre. This isn't humor or music. It's pure crap. Anyone who finds any artistic merit to this worthless "album" has a) no taste in music and b) no sense of humor. I can't believe anyone would pay $$ to listen to absolute trash. How do these guys even have a career? The fact that they are still making "albums" is astonishing - they shouldn't have a career. And what is with the first ultra-review? How could you possibly get that much out of this? Expand
  19. Matt
    Dec 7, 2005
    0
    Can't even give it a point for recycling - it might be made into another Bloodhound Gang CD!
  20. drewB
    Mar 21, 2006
    0
    the fact that people liked this proves that there is a hell
  21. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    2
    What happened to the Bloodhound Gang! I own all previous albums and they are all high in my favourites list but this
  22. SatanicMajesty
    Nov 28, 2005
    0
    With albums like this, American Soldiers in Iraq get inspired to Clogg up stuff into innocent people asses... The Bloodhound gang is as bizarre as the playfull Bush's vision on conquering the world through massacre and violence.
  23. genocidalamericanquilt
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    I'm America arrogant!! Terminus verbal curfew murders You either purchase my products or you're worthless, that's my service! Don't look into the oculars of a daylight saver Erase your city head and momument defacer comprising of patriot droids, sent into the void with lead linings Employed by the bureaucrats of automatic twisted rhyme timing You're guaranteed I'm America arrogant!! Terminus verbal curfew murders You either purchase my products or you're worthless, that's my service! Don't look into the oculars of a daylight saver Erase your city head and momument defacer comprising of patriot droids, sent into the void with lead linings Employed by the bureaucrats of automatic twisted rhyme timing You're guaranteed nothing but my fat little finger that lingers one inch off of the big button -- LET'S START THIS! I'm Saran gas, hide in your apartments I'm stealth like a robot hidden in the fat asshole of Cartman And give a crippling fuck like sand sharkskin condom to your apparent vaginal problem - the hottest shit on Soundbombing I'm American til infinite justice measure to Pesticide Cemetary Expand
  24. Aug 18, 2014
    3
    This album is easily their worst. HFB & OFBC were pretty damn good, but this album just sucks. This album saw them go into a more, European electronic-like direction, with their same lyrics. Eh, not my cup of tea. If you want a good BHG album, go buy either their greatest hits or One Fierce Beer Coaster.
  25. May 31, 2015
    0
    This album starts by stating that "Eminem has to cuss to sell records". According to Hefty Fine hard work and talent have nothing to do with success. Let that set the tone for this album and this review. There are fans of Bloodhound Gang out there, but to put it bluntly you have to be a hardcore fan to enjoy this. To start with lyrically the band is trying to make sure that the EnglishThis album starts by stating that "Eminem has to cuss to sell records". According to Hefty Fine hard work and talent have nothing to do with success. Let that set the tone for this album and this review. There are fans of Bloodhound Gang out there, but to put it bluntly you have to be a hardcore fan to enjoy this. To start with lyrically the band is trying to make sure that the English language collapses at the feet of every other form of communication used musically. The music itself is WORSE than the lyrics. There is nothing appealing to the ear with this electronic alt rock mix. The best songs come across as sloppy and uninspired tracks from Blink-182 rip-offs. I can describe the entire album in one word: gratuitous. As in unnecessary, unwanted, unjustified and redundant. Comedically Jimmy Pop is on the same degree as Pauly Shore. Bloodhound Gang are revolutionists trying to expand the possibilities of how one can be unfunny. If you see someone trying to buy this album the least you could do is try to convince them otherwise. It is 40 minutes they will never have again. There is almost something diabolical in how they make their sound so mundane. No hard feelings to Bloodhound Gang fans, but one should be given a hefty fine if one finds their music funny. Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Hefty Fine finds the Bloodhound Gang in a Catch-22 -- they've never wanted to be anything other than a dumb, silly hard rock band, but their shtick is getting tired, yet they're trapped by the confines of what they want to be.
  2. No, kids, it's not that scatological jokes aren't funny, just that these scatological jokes aren't funny.
  3. Blender
    30
    The nu-metal and new wave sendups are too conventional to work as either comedy or music--and the nonstop woman-bashing becomes repugnant fast. [Nov 2005, p.131]