• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 127
  2. Negative: 37 out of 127

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnP
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    Bloodhound gang rule. Nearly every song kicks ass. Still listing to it nearly 3 years on and it still rules.
  2. blahhhblahh
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    The comeback of the year! Good party record
  3. kennethj
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    This.album.rocks!!
  4. ShawnC.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    I will be a fan of BHG until the day either of us are no more. This album is in my heavy regular rotation
  5. saywhatever
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    best shit ever
  6. dAnA
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    I dont see how you can slate this album? id rather listen to something funny then the same old music produced by these indie bands! its something different to the norm! and thats bad?
  7. jasona
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    this is one that the critics would never like... but then normal people could care less what a critics thinks
  8. NeilB.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Jimmy Pop is a genius... Pennsylvania best song i've heard this year ... Maybe only 9 songs but worth every cent ...
  9. JasonZ.
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Totally different from their usual stuff, but this album has a very unique touch to it, it's very creative and catchy, also makes me laugh, my favorite Bloodhound Gang cd, in my opinion, deserves many more good reviews.
  10. Pipo
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    I love it. Don't know what the reviewers have against the cd since musically it's sound. They might not like the message but who cares.
  11. RyanT
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    yeah fuck all you critics out there, bhg is the shit. in the words jimmy-"I won't be around when the world ends, so the only thing that i recycle is your girlfriend"
  12. RichB.
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    You people are crazy! So what that their "schtick" as you call it, is getting tired. There isn't any schtick, you're just too busy searching for one. BHG could care less what you think. And I know that the album rocks. Quit digging for meaning and just listen to the music. Who cares that you dislike poop jokes? Some of us find them amusing. Don't hate an album just because You people are crazy! So what that their "schtick" as you call it, is getting tired. There isn't any schtick, you're just too busy searching for one. BHG could care less what you think. And I know that the album rocks. Quit digging for meaning and just listen to the music. Who cares that you dislike poop jokes? Some of us find them amusing. Don't hate an album just because you dislike the subject matter. Shallow bastards. Expand
  13. bendover
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    the bloodhound gang is just down right funny, granted it's not for kids.
  14. sofakingdom
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    i've been a big fan for the past 10 years
  15. olol
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    ha this is good
  16. JohnnyB
    May 10, 2007
    10
    Maybe better critics are needed for this site, not biased ones, because from what they said they seemed pretty biased to this type of music. Anyway, this might not be their best album, but they had some good songs, like Pennsylvania. I don't like the fact that this band is starting to sound more techno-ish though, I liked their older songs where they just put in some sounds, etc but Maybe better critics are needed for this site, not biased ones, because from what they said they seemed pretty biased to this type of music. Anyway, this might not be their best album, but they had some good songs, like Pennsylvania. I don't like the fact that this band is starting to sound more techno-ish though, I liked their older songs where they just put in some sounds, etc but songs like uhntiss i didn't like that much. Expand
  17. CF
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    "Hefty Fine" is bloodhound gangs new album in 6 years. Some of the songs will be good to you if you are a long time fan (such as i), if not, then this album will certainly turn you off to them.
  18. UlrikG
    Sep 13, 2008
    7
    It's kinda funny but at the same time really stupid. I mean, the drums are out of this world (in a bad way). How can someone produce drums THAT bad... And what's up with all the skids? It would be funny i we had some visuals to go along, but actually listening to a man shitting is a bit to weird. But it pretty much describes the overall level of quality you get on this record. It's kinda funny but at the same time really stupid. I mean, the drums are out of this world (in a bad way). How can someone produce drums THAT bad... And what's up with all the skids? It would be funny i we had some visuals to go along, but actually listening to a man shitting is a bit to weird. But it pretty much describes the overall level of quality you get on this record. It's shit, but kinda funny - especially the simpsons song. But the production... there is no production! It's like if it was made in Garage Band or Ejay. Expand
  19. Scott
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Surprisingly catchy, and has lasted the test of time. Still finds itself listened to quite a lot.
  20. BillK.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    my only complaint is its too short. every single song on this CD is catchy as hell. i wouldn't listen to these reviews...worth picking up
  21. CloudStrife
    Dec 1, 2005
    7
    This album has some of the funniest lyrics I've ever heard. The Bloodhound Gang is just expecting the audience to 'think' a little bit, but I guess for some that is just asking too much. True, the previous albums were better, but this one isn't the worst I've heard.
  22. AndyR
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Awesome album. Don't know why critics don't like it.
  23. Saschad
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    I guess people are right to say there's lots of stupid jokes, and profanity. I guess I'm just confortable with that, and I feel the wit involved in making the lyrics deserves some recognition.
  24. roman
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    to all the critics... go fuck yourselves. people are sick of this emo, pop punk rock, and solo female artists that arent even adults.. perverts! hefty fine is full of great catchy power chords and to the point lyrics. Jimmy Pop's twisted mind is here to stay and there are people out there that want rock with words that arent "beating around the bush!"
  25. jimmypop
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    this band is the shit. you fuckers have no clue what good music is. bhg for life!!!
  26. PeNis
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    LOL genius
  27. GeorgeG.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    How can you hate this album? I seriously love it, especially, i'm the least you could do and ralph wiggum
  28. brads
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    i don't think this album is worthy of such low reviews, as somebody said it's not their best album, but i wouldn't rank it too far behind hooray for boobies or one fierce beer coaster. it's got some really amazing techno beats and some of the lyrics are catchy and witty. i've seen worse albums rated much higher, you reveiwers just have some sticks up your asses or i don't think this album is worthy of such low reviews, as somebody said it's not their best album, but i wouldn't rank it too far behind hooray for boobies or one fierce beer coaster. it's got some really amazing techno beats and some of the lyrics are catchy and witty. i've seen worse albums rated much higher, you reveiwers just have some sticks up your asses or something. Expand
  29. NickH
    Dec 2, 2008
    7
    I find it brilliant how the majority of votes on this cd seem to be either 10 or 0 with a few inbetweens, it to me shows pure bias on both sides of the spectrum..... anywho, it's not a great album but it's got some good ideas and sounds, standard bhg humour and it just sounds good, sure technically not the best music but i prefer what i enjoy rather than what is perfect or I find it brilliant how the majority of votes on this cd seem to be either 10 or 0 with a few inbetweens, it to me shows pure bias on both sides of the spectrum..... anywho, it's not a great album but it's got some good ideas and sounds, standard bhg humour and it just sounds good, sure technically not the best music but i prefer what i enjoy rather than what is perfect or brilliant musically. Expand
  30. Audiophile8369
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    This has got to be one of the worst albums I own (musically). But, it has to be said definitely, one of the most entertaining albums I own. The more I listen to this album the more annoyed I get because I know that they aren't great musicians, but it's like watching a real gruesome nature program where an antelope is getting massacred alive by a pack of wild dogs you really This has got to be one of the worst albums I own (musically). But, it has to be said definitely, one of the most entertaining albums I own. The more I listen to this album the more annoyed I get because I know that they aren't great musicians, but it's like watching a real gruesome nature program where an antelope is getting massacred alive by a pack of wild dogs you really shouldn't watch but you just have to, the same goes for this album, its so ridiculous its good, damn there i go again... Farting With A Walkman On. Expand
  31. HectorR.
    Apr 13, 2008
    8
    Sure its not going to challenge your belief systems, but tt's not that bad. Lots of catchy stupid songs with at least one or two solid earworms.
  32. Pooch
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I haven't heard the album personally yet, but theres no way that the Bloodhound gang is that horrible, you stupid critics. They were funny then, and Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo is funny too, so they are still the coolest in my book. You all suck.
  33. MikeS
    Nov 23, 2005
    7
    Earlier in the year I review The Bloodhound Gang's CD Single "Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo". It was definitely a good disc. Thus it was with some enthusiasm that I fired up this album on Rhapsody and gave it a listen. This recently-released (September 27, 2005) album is the latest from the group. It contains the title song of the CD Single I mentioned above as well as a number of Earlier in the year I review The Bloodhound Gang's CD Single "Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo". It was definitely a good disc. Thus it was with some enthusiasm that I fired up this album on Rhapsody and gave it a listen. This recently-released (September 27, 2005) album is the latest from the group. It contains the title song of the CD Single I mentioned above as well as a number of other tracks. Overall it pretty effectively mixes techno sounds with rock and the standard Bloodhound Gang lyrical delivery. The cover of Hefty Fine, as you can see at the right, pictures a very large and apparently naked man inside a cardboard box, along with a warning to parents that the album contains some explicit lyrics (which it does, and which Bloodhound Gang fans expect). The album runs a bit under 40 minutes, about 3 of which are silence, and that feels pretty short for a modern release to me. On the other hand, most of the tracks are quality stuff, so better to have a shorter album with decent music than a longer one full of crap... The album starts with the track "Balls Out" which starts out sounding a little like a dance track, but picks up. The lyrics are delivered in a rap-like format for the most part, but the instrumentals feature a strong bass beat and some very jamming guitars. If you thought the "explicit lyrics" sticker was an exaggeration, this song would convince you otherwise before it's over. I think I heard most of George Carlin's 7 words you can't say on television in here. On a 1-10 scale, I'd rate this one somewhere in the neighborhood of a 6, mostly due to the strength of its instrumentals. The lyrics don't impress me that much, probably because I've grown up enough that it takes more than a stream of 4-letter words in a song for me to get a kick out of it. The second track is "Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo" which I won't go into much because I've covered it in the review of the CD single. This song is definitely a masterpiece from Bloodhoung Gang. It manages to cover every euphemism for male and female anatomy I've ever heard and many more, and do it with a beat and lyrical cleverness that shows how these guys keep getting recording contracts. I'd give it a 9 out of 10. Third comes "I'm the Least You Could Do". The chorus sums up the song's theme when it says "I'm the least you could do. If only life were as easy as you... I would still get screwed... " It's basically a tale of a guy who can't get ahead and can't get anywhere with a girl he wants to be with. The vocals are good, and the instrumentals definitely suit the lyrics. It gets about a 7 from me. Next is "Farting With a Walkman On" isn't an especially exciting track. No really clever turns of phrase or jokes beyond the title. I'll give it a 6. "Diarrhea Runs in the Family" is, to say the least, disgusting but silly. It appears to be, and probably is, someone recording the sounds made by a person who is relieving themselves from an attack of diarrhea. Fortunately, the track is only about 20 seconds long. This allows it to push the envelope of "disgusting" without going into the realm of inducing physical sickness. As a musical track, it gets a 0. As an amusing track, I'll give it about a 4. "Ralph Wiggum" is named after the character in The Simpsons. The lyrics seem like some kind of stream of consciousness thing. For example, "I heard a Frankenstein lives or she's touching my special area...yo banana.. Ralphie, get off... the stage.. sweetheart...oh, say can you rock... I'm a pop sensation..." It's entertaining to a point, but doesn't do much for me. It's geting a 5. "Something Diabolical" is a very fun song to listen to. If you're listening in stereo, every other line is spoken into the opposite ear. The overall song has an eerie feel to it, as you might guess from the title. For my taste, it has some of the best instrumentals on the album, and some of the best vocal performances. I'll give it a 7.5. "Overhead in Wawa Parking Lot" is a four-second track insulting a woman with unpleasant body odor. "Pennsylvania" doesn't make a great deal of sense, but it contains lots of fun phrases in the lyrics like "We are Zima, we are barf, we are cinderblock yard art, we are Baldwin brothers - not the good one but the others, we are Amway..." The instrumentals are catchy and make it easier to forget that the lyrics are nonsensical. One of the better tracks on the album, even. I give it a 7.5. "Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss" sounds like any dance mix song you might hear at a disco. The instrumentals are reminiscent of those in Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo. The lyrics sound at first like a stream of consciousness thing, but if you pay close attention, there is a basic story. The singer is wanting to score with a woman and thinks his music will help him get her ("all you need is my 'Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss"). You could probably play this at a club and people would dance to it without thinking twice. I'd give it a 7 out of 10. "No Hard Feelings" might be the most "rocking" song on the album. It talks about a relationship being over, with the singer telling his ex "Maybe you got screwed, but I dumped you because you ain't nothin' but trash. I put up despite the fact that you're like a Hawaiian Punch moustache... right under my nose, thinking I'm so Colonel Klink oblivious. But how could I not see you got off scot free 'cause I know this means it ain't my job to f-ck you on your birthday....anymore." This one is probably my second-favorite song on the album. It gets a 9 out of 10. After the end of "No Hard Feelings" there is a long stretch of silence, followed by a short one-liner from the band that is pretty lame to have to wait about 3 minutes for. I should dock them a half-point in the overall album rating for it, but I won't. If we average out the tracks on this album (excluding the two small tracks that aren't music), we get (6+9+7+6+5+7.5+7+9=56.5, 56.5 / 8) a 7.0 rating overall for the album. I don't think I'll argue with that as an overall rating for the album. There are a couple of great tracks here, a couple not-so-great ones, and some I didn't care for that much. If you're a Bloodhound Gang fan, it's a must-buy. If you're marginal about them, this might be one you decide to skip. Expand
  34. Mel
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    You're crazy if you don't like this.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    awesome
  36. bent
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    brilliant album, great songs and the new stuff is brilliantj
  37. chrism
    Dec 3, 2005
    8
    While not as good as their other cd's this one has some great songs on worth the buy or download haha
  38. Russia_Max
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    This album is CATCHY i dont understand critics!
  39. TeenB
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    I love the BHG. This album rox! Anyone who writes a song for Ralph Wiggum can do no wrong in my eyes. It a funny album. It's not like they are trying to be the greatest, most influential band on Earth, they're just having some fun... shouldn't we all.
  40. Mauro
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    The only band that does not have to take itself serious. It's not sophisticated but who cares? They're awesome.
  41. ZackW
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    an awesome album. I dont get all the negative reviews.
  42. CharlieO
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    I Whear a Helmit
  43. DavidH
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    This album contains many clever songs. Lyrically Something Diabolical and I'm the least you could do are very well done and it has some really good trance and techno beats in i'm the least you could do and uhn tiss uhn tiss uhn tiss. Witty lyrics in many songs too (not unlike The bloodhound Gang)
  44. Kev
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    C'mon, man... Second-worst ever? I think not. It clearly isn't Bloodhound Gang's best work, but it's not the second-worst ever. How about all of those Idol rejects (and even the winners) who've released albums. Almost by definition, those albums are worse than this one. I gave it a 10 as a neutralizer. I think it's actually about a 6.5 or 7. I can think of a C'mon, man... Second-worst ever? I think not. It clearly isn't Bloodhound Gang's best work, but it's not the second-worst ever. How about all of those Idol rejects (and even the winners) who've released albums. Almost by definition, those albums are worse than this one. I gave it a 10 as a neutralizer. I think it's actually about a 6.5 or 7. I can think of a whole lot of pop artists who've released albums. Expand
  45. RyanB
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    great CD
  46. adrianm
    Nov 12, 2006
    9
    I cannot believe the churlish poh faced rubbish coming from these nerdy twerp reviewers. Get a life. This album is the best of the BHG lot, even better than Falco, Chasey Lane or the discovery chanel (that bad smell). I'm going to their only UK gig in March 2007 unless I'm trapped by the confines of something or other.
  47. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    An album nearly forgotten. Released in 2005 by the Bloodhound Gang a band that made a big impact with their hit songs: The Bad Touch, Uhm Tiss Uhm Tiss and Fire Water Burn. This is an alto-rock-punk band that like to fill their lyrics with silly jokes and play with words. It's basically a bit childish, but guess what? They did it right this time. A short review:

    Strictly for the
    An album nearly forgotten. Released in 2005 by the Bloodhound Gang a band that made a big impact with their hit songs: The Bad Touch, Uhm Tiss Uhm Tiss and Fire Water Burn. This is an alto-rock-punk band that like to fill their lyrics with silly jokes and play with words. It's basically a bit childish, but guess what? They did it right this time. A short review:

    Strictly for the Tardcore:
    A joke about Eminem and Will Smith, and laughing with Jimmy Pop. Descent, but should've been placed later in the album. "That don't rhyme"
    3/5

    Balls Out:
    What a great way to open an album. Great pacing and -wicked sick- but simple powerchord riffs. Cool intro and funny speed-building bridges. Great for bashing peoples faces in at metal concerts or a chillout at the pool. "This dick don't hit the bottom but i **** the sides up."
    5/5

    Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo:
    A great single by the bloodhound gang. The Whole song is basically trying to say F-ck in many, and sometimes humorous ways. Great song with a soft 15 note rythym and a simple powerchord chorus. "In lieu of the innuendo in the end know my intent though."
    5/5

    I'm the least you can do:
    Great song. If you get the funny lyrics you might even get a big laugh out of this. Simple eurotrance beat on the background but Lupus Thunder's beats will kick in and give a great chorus. The combination of music and lyrics make this song really worthy listening to.
    "I'm the least you could do, If only life was as easy as you."
    4/5

    Farting with the walkman on:
    Really dissapointing song. Rather boring music and not so-funny lyrics. The guitar kicks in on the right moment but it doesn't save the day. They can do better than this.
    "You might as well be farting with the walkman on"
    2/5

    Diarrhea runs in the family:
    Pretty amusing break from the tracks.
    4/5

    Ralph Wiggum:
    Best song of the album. Period. The whole song is even more special for those Americans and other folks that used to watch the Enlgish version of the Simpsons. The lyrics are Ralph Wiggum, the song is by Jimmy Pop. Great Combination. Cool break after the chorus and a really funny part with the reversed singing. "Ivan eht nioj"
    5/5

    Something Diabolical:
    Might remind you of 'Boom' or maybe 'Mope' only very dark horror-ish. Kinda cool if you can understand the lyrics. Not the usual Gang though, but it's great to know they can do this too. Jimmy Pop and his DJ perform.
    4/5

    Pennsylvania:
    The Gang tried to make a Anthem for the american state Pennsylvania. It didn't work out with the government, however it works really good as a song. With one of the best chorusses the Gang has delivered in years. Palm muted power chords make the build up and get loud when the song speeds up. Might be a bit difficult if you're not from the USA. "You are the heart dotted "i" in the word apologise"
    5/5

    Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss:
    This might be the song that got you into the Bloodhound Gang. For me, it wasn't. Although this is one of their hits, I find this one of their lesser songs. They should have Lupus Thunder kick in some crazy guitar riff to make it a little less bland.
    2/5

    Jackass:
    Really fun fast paced songs with a great amount of amusing lyrics. Slow chorus, but still really great. This would be used as the soundtrack for the original Jackass series, because of connections with Bam Margera, but another song was chosen.

    "If the Crocodile Hunter smoked weed Steve Irwin burnin' herb in his Jeep Thinks the kangaroos are laughin' at his haircut Used a bowl for that too but "
    4/5

    No Hard Feelings Hefty Fine: Pretty funny song of about Jimmy Pop singing about his girlfriend. Crazy techno riff on the background in between lyrics, and followed up by a cool 4 power chord piece. Lots of alternative breaks and such and lots of fun when you listen to it with attention. After a 4 minute wait after the song you get BamBam Margera saying 'Hidden Track Sh-t Dicks Out' Not really worth the wait, but hey, It's Bam Margera! Great way to end an album. "I've i wanted to be repeatedly sh-t on i'll go make Dutch porn." 4/5 Overall 8.2 /10, can't wait till their next album.
    Expand
  48. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This album is different from the others, but I like the direction they're going in. Obviously Jimmy Pop is being more influenced from the techno/electronic scene in Europe and given he's always been a Depeche Mode fan, we should've seen this coming. Love all their songs and albums, but this one is one of my favorites. They are by far the laziest band in the world. Hooray for GroupiesThis album is different from the others, but I like the direction they're going in. Obviously Jimmy Pop is being more influenced from the techno/electronic scene in Europe and given he's always been a Depeche Mode fan, we should've seen this coming. Love all their songs and albums, but this one is one of my favorites. They are by far the laziest band in the world. Hooray for Groupies probably won't be out for another 5 years and it'll be another 10 before we see a new album lol. But true BHG fans will wait it out. The lyrics are genius and hilarious, the music is great and for those that think it sucks, obviously you don't have a sense of humor. Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Hefty Fine finds the Bloodhound Gang in a Catch-22 -- they've never wanted to be anything other than a dumb, silly hard rock band, but their shtick is getting tired, yet they're trapped by the confines of what they want to be.
  2. No, kids, it's not that scatological jokes aren't funny, just that these scatological jokes aren't funny.
  3. 30
    The nu-metal and new wave sendups are too conventional to work as either comedy or music--and the nonstop woman-bashing becomes repugnant fast. [Nov 2005, p.131]