Hell Hath No Fury

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. caml
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Ridiculous lyrics that really give you a ripe image of gangster glory in your mind. Pusha-T and Malice are, quite honestly, the most underrated MCs of our time. And the Neptunes' simple, dark and artistic beats provide the perfect backdrop for the themes of the album.
  2. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    almost perfect, hello new world and ride around shining are classics
  3. ErikH
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I purchased the CD and heard masterful minimalist beat after minimalist beat, always spectacular but never trying to over-shadow the MC (as the Neptune's have occasionally tried to do in the past with mixed results) I realized that Clipse have made an album that is one of the year's best, though maybe not the class some have called it. Expand
  4. JMack
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I have heard in years, it renewed my faith in Hip Hop.
  5. ChakaS
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse flow. All in all album is strong, with good songs like Miami Vice, Mr. Me Too, Dirty Money, and Nightmares but not a classic. Expand
  6. petere
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    "So much white you might think your holy christ was near" classic
  7. EvanV
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    clipse keeps it real, even tho most of what they reference to is drugs, they keep it light and only breach the surface of "deep" rap..something i think they would excel in
  8. ShepM.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Rap Album of 2006.... The beats are amazing and it is as spontaneus as Lord 'Willin. The crack/drug life of Clipse can get somewhat annoying, but they are the best writers out right now..VA! They are re-inventing hip hop
  9. life247
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    this album is crazy!! i can't stop listening to it!! wow..clipse really brought the heat with this one
  10. OuasM
    Nov 30, 2006
    8
    I kinda agree with Gary E, now this cd is good and it will be on some album of the year list but a 91 on the critic side come on now. I don't know what got into this critics they must of got paid to give this a good rating. Don't get me wrong I feel the clipse but I can't take this one over The Roots, Ghostface, Black Ice or Lupe Fiasco Man. F&F and I'm done.
  11. Nick
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my opinion, but Hell Hath No Fury still recieves a very high recommendation from me. Expand
  12. JohnE
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Clipse delievered pound 4 pound the best album of the year...
  13. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    1. ghostface 2. CLIPSE 3. lupe
  14. samb
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    a groundbreaking gangsta-rap album. not since the previous millenia has there been a mainstream hip hop record this good.
  15. MihaiV
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Deserves all the praise it gets.
  16. KeithM
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the dry, hard, evil tone of the cd. For all of you giving this bad scores, actually LISTEN before you judge you fucking idiots. Expand
  17. JosephM
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    So so solid Clipse come back hard. One of the tightest of 06 if you don't buy this CD there's something wrong with you.
  18. TheKing
    Jan 9, 2007
    7
    Great lyrics but the beats aren't that good and pharells rapping on it
  19. RobbyChasingHawk
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This album IS a classic. With only twelve tracks, clocking in at forty-eight minutes, GREAT production, GREAT lyrics, and being cohesive, Clipse have easily made the best Hip-Hop CD of the year, in fact, the best Hip-Hop CD of the past two years, and have made on of the best CD's of 2006. Cop it now, so Clipse can get the money they deserve!
  20. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Funny how this was being made at the same time Nas was rapping about the death of hip-hop. In a world of ridin' dirty and chains hanging low, it's great to finally have guys like Clipse, Nas, and Ghost Face to come back and remind us what hip-hop should really be. Don't underappreciate what's being done here. This is real music.
  21. ryanm
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best albums ive heard in a long time. and is probably one of the best produced rap albums of all time. the clipse really put it to another level with their lyrics. in my opinon they are definately head shoulders above most rest of the rappers right now and all the young ones
  22. WarrenK
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Fire!!!!!! best Album of 2006. Also most slept on album of 2006 Its a shame the dint get much play. Clipse speak the truth in there verses
  23. chadm
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Clipse is only getting started. "Hell Hath No Fury" was an improvement on the great "Lord Willin'" and their next album will be even better than this one. Get it? "Nightmares" and "Ride Around Shining" are hidden gems; while "Wamp Wamp" (with Slim Thug) and "Trill" (with Pharrell) are the star tracks.
  24. MiguelA
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    Now honestly, the first time heard this album I hated it. The beats sucked, the rapppers had no charisma, and I couldn't believe it was getting rated as a "classic". Idk what was wrong with me. Fastfoward 2 years later. I really dont know what happened, but the beats sound WAAYYYYY better. It's like they had to grow onto you, or they were ahead of their time or something. Also Now honestly, the first time heard this album I hated it. The beats sucked, the rapppers had no charisma, and I couldn't believe it was getting rated as a "classic". Idk what was wrong with me. Fastfoward 2 years later. I really dont know what happened, but the beats sound WAAYYYYY better. It's like they had to grow onto you, or they were ahead of their time or something. Also the rappers from The Clipse may still not have much charisma, but both of them are lyrically talented. They're just pure entertainment Even without punchlines. It's crazy. They're just great. I'm not sure wether to recommend this album to everybody though because it took me a long time to like. I''m not really sure what type of Hip Hop-ers this would appeal to. Great album though. Nearly classic. Just about. Expand
  25. DannyK
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Best rap album of the year...second best album overall to the Hold Steady's Boys and Girls in America
  26. NotPushaT
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    I won't dog this album. Overall, I think it's pretty good. But I don't understand why all the critics are falling over themselves to heap praise on it. The wordplay is clever and very good. But the topics? Come on, aren't we tired of crack rap yet? I know I am. But mostly, I'm not crazy about the beats. That said, I think Chinese New Year is fantastic.
  27. samilm
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Hip Hop is waking up
  28. MikeC
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    This is a good hip/hop album, not a classic, not the best of 06, Ghostface a Lupe's albums tear this one up, but it is worth the money. This is the most gangsta mainstream rap album realeased in a while, and I gotta give it props for that
  29. B.Carter
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Holly Crap this is Good ! I'm not even a big hip-hop fan but jeeeez! "Famous Rappers" take note....
  30. ReubenF
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    With the Neptunes providing the laid back, grindin' grooves, the urban poetry of Malice and Pusha-T are centre stage where they belong. Thanks Neptunes for not making them into bubblegum pop.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Blender
    80
    It's ghetto viciousness as literary exercise--an episode of The Wire with a better soundtrack. [Nov 2006, p.142]
  2. The best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. There's a cold efficiency in how the Clipse delivers songs built on street-corner cockiness and billfold bluster. It's all shamelessly amoral, but the Clipse wouldn't be such savvy hustlers if they didn't know how to sling with style.